Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 23 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
The Original "The Secret"
 from Fargo, ND,  Nov 25, 2007

I read this book in Spanish, but I don't think the translation to English is too far off. This book has sold more copies than most books ever. Yes, including Harry Potter. This book was a sensation, translated (obviously) into many other languages. It's a story set back in time about a boy who wanted travel and adventure. He became a shepherd. He meets many people and begins to open his heart to learning what life's purpose is. The book emphasizes the connectivity among all living things and how love can transform anyone and anything. I promise it's not as cheesy as I'm making it sound. This is not a mushy love story at all. This is a guy who gets a lot of tough breaks and works hard to keep moving on to the next thing he thinks he should do. I think "The Secret" borrows and doesn't even quite capture many of the ideas shown in this book. It is very spiritual, although the concept of God is universal- the same God, different names for different religions. There is plenty of danger and suspense. It made me question how I make my decisions and live my life. It demonstrates the importance to "tuning in" to what's around you- the clues that tell you how to continue your personal destiny, legend, and journey. It says if you're not open to the signs of what you should do, you will never fulfill your dreams and your life's purpose. You do choose your dreams to some extent, but the book discusses how the universe (or God) knows your true dreams and will conspire with everything to give you opportunities to fulfill your dreams. Those who ignore the opportunities for so long don't get a second chance, so it's a wake-up call. I loved it. There's a lot to analyze on a literary level, if you enjoy doing so, even with just the names. Every name has some deep meaning in an old language like Latin. This is a very universal story, so you can personalize it well if you can handle that it's set in old times. It took a little time for me to get into it, but it might have been different if I had read it in English so there was no question about any word meanings. Knowing how much is hidden deep within the story, it would be more pleasurable to read a second time.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Allow Your Greatness to Unfold
 from Chicago, IL,  Sep 8, 2007

Life altering story that's a must read for all ages. There's so much wisdom packed into a little book.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great condition and reasonably priced
 from Clearwater, FL,  Aug 4, 2012

Having not found this book at the library (wait times varied from 3 to 6 weeks) I went to Overstock.com and of course found it immediately. It was in excellent condition, the price was great and the delivery was fast.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It was identical
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Paperback book in perfect condition
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
a little too moralistic
 from memphis, tn,  Dec 30, 2011

Your 14 year old might enjoy it; at 61 it didn't work for me.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? so so
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? ok
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. not the world's best literature
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT STORY
 from mt pleasant, mi,  Aug 11, 2011

I LOVE THIS BOOK. DEFINATELY WILL BE READING A LOT MORE FROM THIS AUTHOR.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? GREAT
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? GREAT
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. GREAT
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Book
 from Vancouver Washington,  Jul 23, 2010

Everyone should read this book. Follow your dreams and your heart will be right by your side.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Alchemist - Awesome Gift!
 from San Diego,  Dec 24, 2009

Arrived fast and made a great gift - awesome book for anyone!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Book!
 from Seattle, WA,  Nov 18, 2009

I went to overstock to load up on copies for christmas presents to all of my friends.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
IT CHANGED MY LIFE
 from HOUSTON, TEXAS,  Aug 23, 2009

Because of this book, i quite my job and decided to follow my dream. The road has not been easy, but I am glad I am in control of my destiny. I have never experience such peace. just like the book says and I believe on it, the universe will conspire to help achive what I want and dreamed of. Please read this book. IT IS BEYOND AMAZING.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Alchemist is a must read!
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Apr 11, 2008

The Alchemist is my favorite book of all times. It was first recommended to me by a friend. I enjoyed the valuable lessons it thought me about myself. After shopping around on the internet, Overstock turned out to be the most affordable that I was able to purchase 4 more copies; 1 for my boyfriend, 1 each for my two closest girlfriends, and 1 for my brother. This book is a must read, heck it should be a part of your personal library. I guarantee you will love it, and your family and friends will love it too.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive, all around good book
 from North Georgia,  Mar 29, 2008

Short read with lasting affect. Entertaining and enlightening story. I was not able to put this book down; it is great for traveling or anytime. A very discriptive and vivid journey. An inspiring book that I will pass on to many friends.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Loved this book!!!!
 from Upstate, NY,  Jan 28, 2008

What a great read - I couldn't put it down. A must read for the book lover.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
fantastic
 from hickory, nc,  Jan 7, 2008

I think this book is amazing. I feel everyone should own a copy. I have ordered it for all my close friends and family. Depending on where you may be in your life when you read this book will have a huge impact on what you take away from the story. I have read it twice with in a year and have received two different messages.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great book Great condition
 from New York, NY,  Jan 1, 2008

besides it being a great book the book came quickly and in perfect condition. i would like it to be cheaper but it was the best price i could find.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Fable
 from Denver,  Nov 18, 2007

Written in a fable style, very spiritual content. Nice to read. Messages that are not hidden at all. Light on the surface, with much deeper meaning on how to live your life fully. Quick and short. Could be read when down to uplift ones spirits.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not my cup of tea.
 from New Orleans, LA,  Nov 4, 2007

Didn't realize it is a fable for adults. I'm too old for fables. Wasn't that impressed or inspired.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Alchemist
 from Florida,  Oct 29, 2007

Good adventure, builds well and culminates into an interesting story.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Could Read It Again and Again
 from Seattle, WA,  Oct 26, 2007

My Mom suggested this book to me and I am so glad she did. It is a vivid and colorful journey that was both insightful and inspirational. I have read it twice already and have gotten something new out of it both times. Paulo Coelho writes with an easy elegance that is captivating and speaks to the soul of the human experience. A constant page turner that is hard to put down.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Alchemist
 from Herriman, UT,  Oct 24, 2007

Wonderful book, altho it is more a parable than a novel. Great message, very enjoyable reading.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent read
 from Daytona Beach, FL,  Oct 18, 2007

This book was an excellent read, though very "deep" subject matter. Really makes you think!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 23 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Harry Potter Boxed Set (Hardcover)
Today $105.95
Compare $138.65
Save 24%
(127)
Back to top