Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Excellent Movie
 from Saratoga, NY,  Aug 20, 2013

I am a paid firefighter and also a licensed funeral director in NY. I attended a funeral directors convention this past week. During these conventions, we can sit in on lectures to give us education credits. After reading the days events, I had one more class I could take out of 3 left. I chose to sit in on one called Taking Chance. I was not really sure what it was going to be about. I found out that the speaker is the Chief of Mortuary Operations on Dover Air Force Base. He was also the Technical adviser for the movie Takin Chance ( and also the person using the vacuum to remove the water from the ice inside the shipping container). He said on a couple of occasions he stopped the filming to correct the way things were being done. ie: Gently placing the ice with the remains not just tossing it in. He wanted the story of how our men and woman are cared for to be shown in the correct manor. I was very impressed with the way things are done. During the 2 hr lecture, we watched this 1.5 hr movie.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Taking Chance
 from Kittery Point, Maine,  Oct 30, 2012

This movie, I think was done with that I call detailed. I think that more movies like this should be made. The Fallen Men and Women of our Military. need to have more said about them As I'm one of the Many PEASE GREETERS. that meet each and every flight either going overseas or coming home. I know that the Fallen Heroes need more said about them. For you that so not know what Pease Greeters are... go to www.peasegreeters.org. Pease was a SAC AIR FORCE BASE up until a few years ago. Now it is Pease International Trade Port, Portsmouth, NH. I have already lent this movie out to my friends.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on target
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I think it was one of the best
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Accurate
 from Londondery, NH,  Nov 20, 2011

My wife had been looking for this movie for a while now and I was able to find it on Overstock and at a good price. Just the fact that it put a smile on my wifes face when she got it was all I needed to know I did good....lol.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The product arrived is excellent condition
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A must-see movie!
 from Atlanta, GA,  Dec 6, 2010

To anyone who is looking at this DVD and wondering whether or not you should buy it, let me save you some time - PLEASE buy this movie! My friends, both male and female, who have seen "Taking Chance" have been deeply moved by it and thank me for recommending it. I watched it twice on HBO, but it's one for my movie collection so I bought it, and it will be watched again and again. God bless our troops!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Been There
 from TEXAS,  Nov 7, 2010

I loved this movie..My brother was a marine and was killed in a traning mission in CA and as I watched this movie I saw what my family went threw lokkin from the otside in. It fits almost perfect to my family situation. The young man in the movie was killed when he was 20 and on his day off his family was notified on sat. And for my family my brother was 19 when he was killed and on the day he was supposed to be off and they informed us on sat night. We went to the air port to pick his body up and threre were people suluting him. they are very respectfuff and as we drove through our home town the streets we lined with friends and family members holding candels and AMERICAN and TEXAS flags. It was amazing to see the respect and honor, my brother would have been so proud!!!!!!! any questions my email is ...******

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Taking Chance DVD
 from Rockford, Michigan,  Nov 11, 2009

I have seen the dvd before and it was excellent. It makes you proud to be an American and grateful for the men and woman that lose their lives for our freedom. I bought these copies for Christmas gifts.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Touching
 from AZ,  Oct 24, 2009

The movie was depicted well and the attention to detail was excellent. Being retired military, I have seen/been in the same situation. I enjoyed watching the support and respect given to the military throughout the movie.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
taking chance
 from lexington, KY,  Sep 20, 2009

Excellent movie, made by HBO. Based upon true story. My son has signed up for the Marines and a co-worker suggested I watch this movie. Would recommend this highly. It shows how the Marines is still caring for their own, even when they die. After watching the movie, I continue to support my son in his decision.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Taking Chance
 from Beautiful Pacific Northwest,  Aug 5, 2009

This is a must see movie. A tribute to our men and women in the military. Wonderful, thoughtful, dignified....

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Movie
 from Lighthouse Point, Florida,  Jul 3, 2009

The DVD came very quickly and in great condition. This was a fathers Day gift for my Dad who is a former Marine.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
taking Chance
 from Tx,  Jun 26, 2009

This movie was really great! It reminds everyone what sacrafices other people are making for our freedom and the freedom of our children!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Movie
 from jacksonville,nc,  Jun 24, 2009

its a good movie,sad, but good. My husband is a LCPL in the marine corp and is currently deployed, might be why I cried so much watching it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
When one falls, another brings him home
 from London,  Jun 22, 2009

As i said that i would recommend this movie to my friend ,it's because of the fabulous action of Kevin Bacon . I think it's one of his best films i ever witnessed. Getting into the plot it is based on a true story,about the col.Mike Strobl who works as a escort officer in Iraq in 2004 is accompanied by the remains of the young Phelps who was killed at 19.In his journey to bring the remains in coffin to Phelps Wyoming , every one he comes through pays a rich tribute to him through small gifts for bringing him to home.In this journey the escort officer discover what he is.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Taking Chance
 from fort myers, FL,  Jun 21, 2009

I did not know what to expect when I watched Taking Chance, but I was very impressed by this movied. I was also vey touched emotionally by the plot and Kevin bacon's moving performance. Playing a character of few words, he was able to communicate a host of emotions that the character was feeling as he escorted the casket of the deceased soldier home. As a parent myself, I could identify with the feeling of the family that was waiting for their son to come home to them to be buried. Thankfully, I have not experienced that, but I know it is a parent'w worst nightmare. I think that this movie will hold your attention if you watch it, even if dramas are not your cup of tea. I was struck by the way that Taking Chance home united the various people that Bacon's character encountered in route. The reason I only gave this movie three stars for suitabiity for all ages is because the plot could be a little overwhelming for young children. If you are worried the movie will be depressing, don't be -- it is more heartwarming.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Tear Jerker
 Jun 17, 2009

This was an excellent movie. It's a tear jerker though especially being a military wife. I don't know if it would be suitable for very young children only because of the topic of death. There isn't any graphic images that I can recall just the subject matter of the movie I believe is more for an adult audience. This movie really makes you think about what happens in the war and how precious life is. One minute everything is fine and the next a life is lost. What's most suprising is that an officer esccorts Chances body back home. That's something you don't see everyday. I got the impression that the reason he did this was because he himself hadn't deployed to a combat zone and wanted to do something to be a part of it. No matter what the reasons behind it this is definately a move to see.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
McQ (DVD)
Today $9.46
(1)
Camelot (DVD)
Today $10.32
Hang Em High (DVD)
Today $10.60
Back to top