For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-16 of 16 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Shome the Shogun
 from CA,  Oct 25, 2012

Best deal that I could find on the internet. Had to wait a little bit for them to restock but it was worth it

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Masterpiece at a master price !
 from Chapin, South Carolina,  May 25, 2012

The quality of this DVD set is better than the original TV series. Sharp, clear images with excellent sound. I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of this masterpiece. And the price was nearly half of what I had found at other sites. I highly recommend this purchase to anyone and look forward to enjoying mine for years to come !

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of these Dvds is supurb.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Shogun(complete mini-series) (DVD)
 from Arvada, Colorado,  Jan 4, 2012

I was well satidfied about the description, sales process and delievery. It was painless. I would recommend the services of Overstock.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? very well
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? true in all regards
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. it was brand new in the box
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
17th Century Japan = Awesome
 from Taos, NM,  Sep 8, 2011

This is the mini-series from 1980 that showed on television (admittedly before I was born). I have read that there are some scenes that were not included in this DVD set that had been originally aired back in the day. I don't believe these would have detracted from the story. The whole experience is addictive and phenomenal. I watched all nine and a half hours in two days. While the story is based on a novel of fiction, many of the events and basic information was taken from real life history of William Adams (Anjin-san) who was the inspiration for John Blackthorne (also called Anjin-san). Yes, he was actually the first and possibly the only white Samurai to serve in the old system of Japan before Samurai class was abolished. The story itself, however, is still an interesting show and highly recommended!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Shogun
 from Topeka, KS,  Jun 6, 2008

I watched this mini-series as a kid, when my dad was watching it, and loved it. It is based on the classic James Clavell Novel of the same name. Shogun is a great introduction to old Japanese Culture.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worth watching again and again
 from Denver, CO,  Jan 21, 2008

This made for TV mini-series lends an excellent insight into Japanese culture and is so well done, it's worth watching year after year.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
SHOGUN
 from Shawnee,Oklahoma,  Jan 13, 2008

This series does without a dought put you into the movie it also takes you on a ride that is unforgetable.NO SHORTCUTS enjoyable pace.When the last seen plays you WILL WANT MORE !!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Shogun (Complete Mini-Series) (DVD)
 from Largo, Florida,  Dec 18, 2007

I was having trouble finding this item but found it on overstock.com. Shipping time and convience was excellent. Gave item to husband for anniversary. He loved it and it was exactily the one he wanted. Detailed in english with no subtitles and in full screen as described. I will definitely shop overstock.com again in the future.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
excellent
 Nov 30, 2007

a very good mini series and was pleased with the background comments by orson welles. delivery was quick and timely.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
As Good as expected
 from East Coast Florida,  Jul 16, 2007

DVD is good quality. No problems. Clear and complete series with production information. .Item was Shipped quickly . Great history as well as good story.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Shogun
 from Somewhere in CA,  Jun 23, 2007

Just finished watching it today with my dad (we haven't had much time to watch it until this week) and it was great. Even though you can "tell it's old," as my dad put it, and though it timed in at a whopping nine hours and seven minutes, it was really very well made (especially for 1980), the story was great, it dealt with the historical and cultural aspects nicely, and it has Richard Chamberlain along with a whole slew of recognizable faces, Japanese and otherwise. For those who love Japanese period dramas, and who are willing to put up with the rather accurately expressed views of the non-Japanese people of that era as well (racism was quite rampant, even between all the Europeans), this is certainly worth looking into.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Shogun a Classic that never dies!
 from Dallas,  Jun 4, 2007

I am always asstounded by this movie! It shows a side of the japenese culture that is rearly looked upon by outsiders!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Billings/MT/USA,  Jan 30, 2006

Terrific, Picture Quality Better Than I Remember The Original TV Series.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from HAYWARD, CA. USA,  Jan 30, 2006

Great made for TV movie. Stayed with the book, for the most part.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from San Francisco California USA,  Jan 30, 2006

Overstock.com is the best place to buy movies and dvd's. I am really satisfied with the quality and price of my purchase. Thank you overstock.com !!!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Naples, FL,  Jan 30, 2006

This is one of the great mini-series to appear on TV. It's a great historical event and very entertaining.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-16 of 16 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top