Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 23 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Sense and Sensibility
 from Virginia,  Dec 11, 2007

This movie is a great classic love story and one of my all time favorites. Overstock has great prices and the shipping is affordable and I get my orders very quickly. Thanks, Overstock!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gentle goodness and sweet suspense
 from Denver, CO,  Oct 19, 2007

Austen had a way of developing her characters (especially matriarchal figures) that is humorous for one's ability to relate to such. Even knowing where things will ultimately head, one "enjoys the ride" to the conclusion. Hugh Laurie, Emma Thompson, and Hugh Grant shine in this understated, controlled version of a true literary classic.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sense and Sensability
 from north Alabama,  Sep 7, 2007

I love all Jane Austen stories. This film is enjoyable, even though Emma Thompson was at least a decade too old to play this lead role. And Hugh Grant? Ugh! The rest of the cast -- especially Kate Winslet -- were excellent which makes it well worth owning.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This is one I like to watch over and over. However, Eleonore (in the book) was only 17 and Emma Thompson is not.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love It
 from San Diego, CA,  Dec 10, 2011

A movie I've always loved, classic and great to watch with the girls and a big bowl of popcorn.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
English Ladies
 from Knoxville, Teneessee,  Apr 14, 2008

I went to school in England. Everynight we watched these movies in the basement of our dorm, a former abbey (no ghosts) and fell in love with the stories. You will too. I watch these on nights when TV gets too gruesome, dark or silly.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This is not a fast-paced rock 'em, sock 'em movie that my husband enjoys (he fell asleep half way through the movie), but I thoroughly enjoyed it. It's a good movie for a girl's night.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Adaptation from the novel
 from Houston, TX,  Nov 15, 2007

Very well made movie. Beware that it's an adaptation from the novel, not matching the novel EXACTLY.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Austen Fan!
 from So Cal,  Oct 7, 2007

Awesome price on a DVD I could not find in stores! Thanks overstock for another happy purchase!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great!
 from Los Angeles,  Jul 17, 2007

It was delivered in a flash and was exactly what I had hoped for.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sense and Sensibility
 from Minnesota,  Jun 12, 2007

I love this movie. The old VHS tape had worn out...so ordered the DVD. Hollywood does a good job telling Jane Austen's story of 2 sisters with very different personalities. They learn through life experiences that balance is good.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sense & Sensibility
 from Jacksonville, FL,  Apr 16, 2007

Great storyline . . . removes us from all the 'garbage' out today . . . teaches our children about 'Honor" . . . highly recommend.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
What a Lovely Story
 from Amarillo, TX, USA,  Apr 3, 2007

Prompt delivery, perfect condition. Thanks, Overstock! This movie is based on a Jane Austen novel, the screenplay is by the very talented Emma Thompson, the cast is all-star, and the director is Ang Lee; there's no way this movie wouldn't be great. With Alan Rickman as Colonel Brandon--well, he's the icing on the cake.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sense and Sensibility
 from Calif,  Sep 7, 2006

I love this movie. It is a wonderful story about a family of sisters in England. Emma Thompson does an ourstanding job as the oldest sister. It is a beautiful love story and well worth watching.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Florida,  Jan 30, 2006

This is a great movie that the whole family can enjoy. It is both well written and acted and is appropriate for everyone in the family.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Salt Lake City, Utah, USA,  Jan 30, 2006

I really enjoyed the movie. I thought it was excellent.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Texas,  Jan 30, 2006

Great movie, at the best price!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Portland, OR USA,  Jan 30, 2006

Great movie, quick delivery.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from York, PA,  Jan 30, 2006

This adaptation of "Sense and Sensiblity" in glorious widescreen is thee perfect adaptation of the Jane Austin novel. It could not be more perfect, engaging, or enduring.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Lakewood/CA/US,  Jan 30, 2006

I loved the movie! especially because it was in many different languages and i can share it with people who don't speak english like my mother. The movie was in very good condition and i am considering buying more movies from overstock.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 23 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought