Sam Cooke - The Rhythm and The Blues

Select an option before changing warranty
The Rewards Program that Pays for Itself
  • EARN 5 to 40%
    Earn 5% in Club O Rewards on every order & up to 40% on select items.
  • FREE SHIPPING Every Order, Every Day*
    No matter how big or small, your order always ships for free.
    Dedicated customer service and early access to exclusive deals.
    Club O pays for itself, or we make up the difference
Today: $5.68
ITEM# 12935386
  • Delivery Estimate

    Select a Product Option to view shipping

    • Product Alerts

      Stay in the know! Choose which alerts you’d like to receive on this product.

    Sam Cooke - The Rhythm and The Blues
    • Wishlists
    • Save for Later


    ITEM#: 12935386

    Personnel includes: Sam Cooke (vocals); Horace Ott, Sammy Lowe (conductors); Rene Hall (conductor, guitar); Clifton "Clif" White, Barney Kessel (guitar); Raymond Johnson (piano); Billy Preston (organ); Clifford Hils (bass); Edward "Sharky" Hall, Hal Blaine (drums). Compilation producer: Paul Williams. Recorded between May 19, 1961 and February 25, 1963. Includes liner notes by Cliff White. All tracks have been digitally remastered. It has been said that Sam Cooke never sang a false note. Though the statement is probably only popular myth, there is no evidence of misstep on any recording he left behind. THE RHYTHM AND THE BLUES collects many of the singer's lesser known forays in the smooth, dark hues of R&B. Fans of Cooke's gospel beginnings or his pop breakthroughs will undoubtedly treasure this collection of late night crooners. Whatever he sang, Cooke's execution was one of smooth control, masterful diction and immaculate phrasing. The seductive "Fool's Paradise," "Please Don't Drive Me Away," and "Baby Won't You Please Come Home" illuminate the fact that Cooke's skills as an interpreter were equal to his own songwriting prowess. Culling tracks from various blues albums Cooke recorded in the early '60s, this collection benefits greatly from careful mastering. By muting the whitewashed string sections that often marred his albums, Cooke's mellifluous voice is allowed the slip through without competition.


    Dimensions 6.0x4.0x0.5
    UPC 886976961824
    Runtime 58 min.
    Type Performer
    Genre R&B
    Sub Genre Soul
    Label Sony Custom Marketing Group
    Number of Discs 1
    Track Listing Disc 1
    • 1. Get Yourself Another Fool
    • 2. Driftin' Blues
    • 3. Fool's Paradise
    • 4. Smoke Rings
    • 5. Baby Won't You Please Come Home
    • 6. Please Don't Drive Me Away
    • 7. Nothing Can Change This Love
    • 8. But Not For Me
    • 9. Don't Get Around Much Any More
    • 10. Trouble In Mind
    • 11. Little Girl Blue
    • 12. I Lost Everything
    • 13. Chains of Love
    • 14. Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out
    • 15. Since I Met You Baby
    • 16. Cry Me a River
    • 17. Trouble Blues
    • 18. Little Red Rooster
    • 19. Out In the Cold Again
    • 20. One More Time
    Format Compact Disc
    Spars Coding n/a
    Artists Cooke, Sam

    Product Reviews

    5 Stars
    4 Stars
    3 Stars
    2 Stars
    1 Stars
    • positive

      i bought this for my mother @ she has bbeen playing it every since the mail man drop it off she loves it @ when it told her were i bought it from she said no way i am goning to be shopping alot up there but i truly do love overstock .com i feel like family already .

      Read More

    Questions & Answers

    Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.
    Get your product questions answered right here.

    Shopping Tips & Inspiration

    Shipping & Returns


    This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

    Standard Return Policy:

    Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

    FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

    * For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

    ** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.