Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin (Hardcover)

Earn 2% in Rewards on this order
FREE with Club O Silver.




2% Rewards

Keep shopping on Overstock

Exclusive Offers

Straight to your inbox

5% Dining Rewards

Get paid to go out tonight



5% Rewards

Earn even faster

Exclusive Offers

Straight to your inbox

5% Dining Rewards

Get paid to go out tonight

Free Shipping

Never pay extra

Exclusive Rewards

Save big-- up to 40%

Today: $14.04
Free Shipping*
ITEM# 14370055
  • Delivery Estimate

    Select a Product Option to view shipping

    • Product Alerts

      Stay in the know! Choose which alerts you’d like to receive on this product.

    Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin (Hardcover)
    • Wishlists
    • Save for Later


    ITEM#: 14370055

    Liesl Shurtliff was born and raised in Salt Lake City, Utah, with the mountains for her playground. Just like Rump, Liesl was shy about her name, growing up. Not only did it rhyme with weasel, she could never find it on any of those personalized key chains in gift shops. But over the years she’s grown to love having an unusual name—and today she wouldn’t change it for the world!
    Before she became a writer, Liesl graduated from Brigham Young University with a degree in music, dance, and theater. She now lives in Chicago with her husband and three young children, where she still dreams of the mountains. Rump is her first novel.

    Visit Liesl online at
    This funny fractured fairy tale goes behind the scenes of Rumpelstiltskin. "A most magical feat," writes Newbery Honor-winner Kirby Larson, "Liesl Shurtliff spins words into gold."

    In a magic kingdom where your name is your destiny, 12-year-old Rump is the butt of everyone's joke. But when he finds an old spinning wheel, his luck seems to change. Rump discovers he has a gift for spinning straw into gold. His best friend, Red Riding Hood, warns him that magic is dangerous, and she’s right. With each thread he spins, he weaves himself deeper into a curse.

    To break the spell, Rump must go on a perilous quest, fighting off pixies, trolls, poison apples, and a wickedly foolish queen. The odds are against him, but with courage and friendship—and a cheeky sense of humor—he just might triumph in the end.

    A Texas Bluebonnet Master List Selection, Rump is perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine'sElla Enchanted or Adam Gidwitz's A Tale Dark and Grimm.

    "Lighthearted and inventive, Rump amusingly expands a classic tale." —Brandon Mull, #1New York Times bestselling author of Fablehaven.


    ISBN 9780307977939
    Genre JUVENILE FICTION / Fairy Tales & Folklore / Adaptations
    Genre Detail Juvenile Grades 4-6 Ages 9-11
    Format Hardcover
    Pages 264
    Publisher Date 2013-04-09 00:00:00.0
    Publisher Alfred a Knopf Inc
    Copyright Year 2013
    Height 8.75 in
    Wdth 6.0 in
    Thickness 1.0 in
    Unit weight 0.85 lb
    Language English
    Subtitle The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin
    Audience Children/juvenile
    Authors Shurtliff, Liesl

    Product Reviews

    Questions & Answers

    Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.
    Get your product questions answered right here.

    Shopping Tips & Inspiration

    Shipping & Returns


    This product has not been released by the Publisher. Preorder today, and we will ship it to you upon its release. *

    Standard Return Policy:

    Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

    FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

    For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

    ** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.

    You May Also Like