Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
When in ROME...
 from San Francisco,  Sep 16, 2006

...do as the Romans do! This is HBO's best series ever. Period. Every single aspect of the production and acting is excellent. At times, it's hard to believe you're not watching reality. If you want to go on a cinematic vacation, this is it. Buy it now!! (Note: NOT for children.)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Rome
 from Antelope, Calif.,  Feb 16, 2008

A series that is put together in a way that makes you feel your there, with the people of Rome. it expresses a period in Romes history with heart and soul. Your part of the period in which Julius Caesar rises to lead the empire of Rome. You then watch how he is cut down by Brutus and his allies, to end his reign. This movie is marvelous, it rivals or surpases the old "Caligula" series from Masterpiece Theatre of the late 70's. You never get tired of the story, it is brutal period, but it shows all the emotions known to men and women today. Love, hate, jealousy, adultery, piety, loyalty, and betrayel. The "Rome" series will take your mind back a thousand plus years, your there part of the Family. Roma Victa Danmaster

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great collection
 from Atlanta,  Jan 1, 2008

My sister-in-law recommended we watch this series! Excellent! Very intriguing...but, not a family series - not for young kids at all! Great for the adults - we watched the entire series over one long weekend.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent
 from Pensacola, FL,  Jul 20, 2007

The story will suck you and if you are not careful you¿ll be watching a ROME marathon. I had to make a conscious effort to make it last and not just play one CD after the other---and still I viewed the entire season¿s worth of shows in a week. Well written and well acted, but not a family show. There is full nudity and violence.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great series, packaging flaws
 from South Carolina,  Jul 11, 2007

The series itself is wonderful, it deserves 5 stars, I've watched it every day since I've gotten it, but I must say that I was disappointed in the fact that when I opened up the DVD itself, one of the tabs holding a disc in place was broken off (now the disc will not stay in place and will probably scratch since it's constantly sliding around), plus the cover to the box is starting to split at the side (the box was also kind of beat up at some of the corners)...I figure that's what I get for an "on sale" product, but still...that's why I gave it 4 stars...

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Series
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Apr 30, 2007

I was not sure if I was going to enjoy this series, but I was pleasantly surprised. I only let myself watch one episode a week and can't wait for the next weekend. It is very enjoyable but not for children. I don't want to see it end!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
rome
 from savannah ga,  Apr 17, 2007

pretty historically accurate, and it plays like a combination of "the sopranos", and "peyton place". great series....

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Rome: the Complete First Season
 from Los Angeles,  Apr 13, 2007

This is a fantastic series, although I would NOT recommend it for children. It's a historical drama that takes place in the time of the Caesars, Antony and Cleopatra, etc. Filled with colorful characters, costumes, romances and intrigues, I highly recommend it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Powerful and addicting
 from San Antonio, TX,  Mar 30, 2007

I caught on to this series at the end of the first season. I quickly rented what I had missed and watched the second season faithfully. It's such a great series with so many twists and plots and affords truly great acting. You will have several favorite characters and you really don't want each episode to end. It's a shame there will only be two seasons to enjoy. It is such a well done period drama series bringing to life ancient historical characters that we can find interest even today. Try not to analyze historical fact with the fictional drama part of the series and just appreciate a different presentation of history based around fact. This is what makes it so good. There are many actors you will look forward to seeing in other work because they gave spot on performances with their Rome characters. I can't wait for the second season to come out on DVD.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Kitkit75
 from Temecula, CA,  Sep 17, 2006

This was a great mini-series....I was sorry to see it end. The costumes are great...Caution---do not let young children see this. A lot of nudity.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top