Ray Stevens - Box Set

Select an option before changing warranty
Earn 2% in Rewards on this order
FREE with Club O Silver.




2% Rewards

Keep shopping on Overstock

Exclusive Offers

Straight to your inbox

5% Dining Rewards

Get paid to go out tonight



5% Rewards

Earn even faster

Exclusive Offers

Straight to your inbox

5% Dining Rewards

Get paid to go out tonight

Free Shipping

Never pay extra

Exclusive Rewards

Save big-- up to 40%

Today: $16.75
Free Shipping*
ITEM# 10019341
  • Delivery Estimate

    Select a Product Option to view shipping

    • Product Alerts

      Stay in the know! Choose which alerts you’d like to receive on this product.

    Ray Stevens - Box Set
    • Wishlists
    • Save for Later


    ITEM#: 10019341

    The eclectic career of gospel/country/comedy artist Ray Stevens creates a big challenge for anyone attempting to make a representational "best-of" album. He jumped from genre to genre as often as he switched labels, leaving compilers with mountains of unrelated song subjects and complicated licensing issues. When the 2005 Box Set was announced, Stevens' fans had high hopes for a comprehensive, career-spanning collection -- and it was -- kind of. After a successful television-only campaign, Curb Records released the set in 2006 and sales proved that the Stevens' market was still strong in the U.S.. Faithful fan support does not necessarily guarantee that a collection is good though. The Box Set is a sprawling three-disc affair (providing more than an ample amount of time to give the man plenty of room to show all of his facets), but the collection is plagued with glaring omissions and seemingly random sequencing. Stevens' strongest suit has always been his versatility -- blessed with a lovely voice, great musical talent, and uncanny comedic sense, Ray Stevens could (and did) successfully tackle anything that interested him. So why is so much of that good stuff missing here? Sure, there are the expected hits (both comedic and serious) like "It's Me Again Margaret," "Everything Is Beautiful," "Ahab the Arab," "The Streak," "Misty," "The Mississippi Squirrel Revival," "Nashville," and (one of his earliest outings) "Jeremiah Peabody's Polyunsaturated Quick-Dissolving Fast-Acting Pleasant Tasting Green and Purple Pills," but the majority of the Box Set focuses on lesser-known album cuts that would be obscure even for dedicated fans. Although it's not touted as "complete," the Box Set still suffers from the omission of some of Stevens' strongest material. His brilliant readings of the Coasters' "Along Came Jones" and Kris Kristofferson's "Sunday Morning Coming Down" aren't here, and neither are the moody "Mr. Businessman," the sublime "Unwind," or the hilarious "Santa Claus Is Watching You." The Box Set really only excels as a complementary collection for fans who have a hits compilation already and are looking to delve a little deeper. For fans looking for a more compact (and representationally sound) overview, Capitol's Classic Masters or Rhino's Best of Ray Stevens do the job more succinctly, and with more reverence. ~ J. Scott McClintock


    Dimensions 5.4x4.8x0.4
    UPC 715187888920
    Runtime 181 min.
    Type Boxed Set
    Genre Comedy
    Label Curb Records
    Number of Discs 3
    Track Listing Disc 1
    • 1. It's Me Again Margaret
    • 2. Too Drunk to Fish
    • 3. Misty
    • 4. Freudian Slip
    • 5. Sittin' up With the Dead
    • 6. Everything Is Beautiful
    • 7. Power Tools
    • 8. Drivers Education
    • 9. Hang up and Drive
    • 10. Ahab the Arab
    • 11. Ballad of the Blue Cyclone, The (The Beginning)
    • 12. Blue Angel
    • 13. Ballad of the Blue Cyclone, The (The End)
    • 14. Pledging My Love
    • 15. Boogie Woogie
    • 16. Love Will Beat Your Brains Out
    • 17. Haircut Song, The
    Disc 2
    • 1. Streak, The
    • 2. Mississippi Squirrel Revival, The
    • 3. Family Funeral Fight
    • 4. Deerslayer
    • 5. Safe at Home
    • 6. Boogie Woogie
    • 7. Virgil and the Moonshot
    • 8. Hustler, The
    • 9. Osama Yo' Mama
    • 10. Hello Mama
    • 11. Let's Roll
    • 12. We're Havin' a Baby
    • 13. When the Kids Are Gone
    • 14. Turn Your Radio On
    • 15. Kitty Cat's Revenge
    • 16. Juanita and the Kids
    • 17. Thank You
    Disc 3
    • 1. Shriner's Convention
    • 2. Nashville
    • 3. Erik the Awful
    • 4. Dog Song, The
    • 5. Cat Song, The
    • 6. When I Get Over You
    • 7. Pirate Song, The
    • 8. Come on Home to Baseball
    • 9. Gitarzan
    • 10. Bridget the Midget
    • 11. Bon Temps Roulette
    • 12. Fredie Feelgood (And His Funky Little Five Piece Band)
    • 13. Gone For Good
    • 14. Stand Up
    • 15. King of Christmas, The
    • 16. Be Your Own Best Friend
    • 17. Jeremiah Peabody's Polyunsaturated Quick-Dissolving Fast-Acting Pleasant Tasting Green and Purple Pills
    Format Compact Disc
    Spars Coding n/a
    Artists Stevens, Ray

    Product Reviews

    5 Stars
    4 Stars
    3 Stars
    2 Stars
    1 Stars


      Read More

    Questions & Answers

    Get your product questions answered right here.
    • Why did you choose this product?


    Shopping Tips & Inspiration

    Shipping & Returns


    This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

    Standard Return Policy:

    Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

    FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

    For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

    ** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.

    You May Also Like