Ray Charles - Modern Sounds in Country and Western Music, Vol. 1 & 2

Today: $19.67
Out of stock
ITEM# 12015216

    Enter your e-mail address, we will notify you if it comes back in stock.


ITEM#: 12015216

Personnel: Ray Charles (vocals, piano). Liner Note Author: Bill Dahl. This single-disc collection includes Vol. 1 and Vol. 2 of Ray Charles' 1962 landmark Modern Sounds in Country and Western Music in their entireties. A veritable treasure trove of soulful country that featured future Charles standards like "I Love You So Much It Hurts," "I Can't Stop Loving You," "You Are My Sunshine," and "Take These Chains from My Heart," it's hard to argue against any of these 24 tracks being called anything but classics. ~ James Christopher Monger


UPC 888072313378
Type Performer
Genre R&B
Sub Genre Soul
Label Concord Records
Producer Chris Clough (Reissue)
Number of Discs 1
Track Listing Disc 1
  • 1. Bye Bye Love
  • 2. You Don't Know Me
  • 3. Half as Much
  • 4. I Love You So Much It Hurts
  • 5. Just a Little Lovin'
  • 6. Born to Lose
  • 7. Worried Mind
  • 8. It Makes No Difference Now
  • 9. You Win Again
  • 10. Careless Love
  • 11. I Can't Stop Loving You
  • 12. Hey, Good Lookin'
  • 13. You Are My Sunshine - (featuring Margie Hendrix)
  • 14. No Letter Today - (featuring Margie Hendrix)
  • 15. Someday (You'll Want Me to Want You) - (featuring Margie Hendrix)
  • 16. Don't Tell Me Your Troubles - (featuring Margie Hendrix)
  • 17. Midnight - (featuring Margie Hendrix)
  • 18. Oh, Lonesome Me - (featuring Margie Hendrix)
  • 19. Take These Chains from My Heart
  • 20. Your Cheating Heart
  • 21. I'll Never Stand in Your Way
  • 22. Making Believe
  • 23. Teardrops in My Heart
  • 24. Hang Your Head in Shame
Format Compact Disc
Spars Coding n/a
Artists Charles, Ray

Product Reviews

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars
  • Ray Charles-Modern Sounds in Country and Western M

    This is a great album(disc). Ray has probably crossed over the lines many times, but this is my favorite. He is good at any type of music that he performs, which has his touch and flavor, which is the best. His other discs are also way up on my charts. His characterization of interpretations of any song that he sings, gives it depth, that no other artist can do it, in a very special and unique way.

    Read More

Questions & Answers

Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.
Get your product questions answered right here.

Shopping Tips & Inspiration

Shipping & Returns

Standard Return Policy:

Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

* For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.