Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
healing and forgiveness
 from Las Vegas NV,  Aug 11, 2013

Sandie has done it again. This book is amazing from the first page. No matter what you have been through you will find a character you can relate to. Sandie gets to the heart and keeps you going to the end. Once you start you wont want to stop, so grab a box a tissue your favorite drink and a few hours and enjoy. THIS is a MUST READ

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Great Book
 from Odessa, TX,  Jun 13, 2014

Sandra D. Bricker is known for her humor and I was curious to see how that would work in a book about ovarian cancer. She did a wonderful job. It was a touching story about a serious subject, but the humor was also there. I fell in love with the characters and I thought the way she had entries from the mother's diary to her daughter was a great way to get to know that character. It made me laugh. It made me cry. It was a great book.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Simply AMAZING...
 from Clinton, IA,  Sep 6, 2013

Never has a book moved me so much. I cried through the whole book. I especially loved the journal entries from Jenna to Sadie. I am honored to have gotten to know Sandie Bricker over the last few months. She captivated me with the Always a Baker Never Bride series and I have loved every book she has written but Raw Edges really hit home for me as a 7 year uterine cancer survivor it really touched my heart. I love how Sandie ties in the real life support group Ovacome. Sandie has a wonderful way of drawing you in to a story and captivating you. Raw Edges is a touching story of a mother’s love and a father and daughter’s healing. I highly recommend this book for anyone touched by cancer. I am truly blessed to have received and advance electronic copy of this book for my honest unpaid review. This review is 100% my honest opinion of the book. You will not be disappointed. Be prepared to laugh and cry while reading this book. It really is a moving experience.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Loved it!
 from Eustis, FL,  Sep 2, 2013

This is such a touching and heartwarming story about love, loss, and finding love again when you least expect it. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a sweet story, but be warned: you will need tissues! Also, be prepared to have a serious pizza craving once you're finished reading :)

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brilliant
 from Loreauville, LA,  Sep 2, 2013

Raw Edges, Quilts of Love Series by Sandra D. Bricker A brilliant story about the loss cancer causes. In preparation of her final days Jenna McDonough writes a journal for her daughter Sadie. This treasure is full of words to give peace, inspiration and love, a keepsake that will be treasured forever. Her husband Gary faithfully reads it to her. After the passing of her mother, Sadie and her father receive an invitation to attend an ovarian cancer support group meeting. Gary goes with her because he knows it may help. There they meet a great group of ladies preparing to make a memory quilt. By attending, Gary got more than he could have imagined. There he meets Annabelle Curtis, a cancer survivor, organizing the memory quilt project for the Ovacome support group. Somehow she gets both him and Sadie involved in the project. This story gives hope to the grieving. The author Sandra Bricker will have you laughing out loud, crying and smiling throughout the whole book. I especially loved the journal and the scripture it had, I thought this was a wonderful gift to leave behind for our loved ones. The death of a loved one is hard enough, but to me is even harder when you leave behind young children. This book touches on many painful and joyful things we experience with loss, feelings of grief, raising children as a single parent, moving on in life, and dating. As cancer touches many of our lives this book will give hope and inspiration to the hurting. I highly recommend this book. Sandra D. Bricker touched some tough subjects with sensitivity, grace and integrity. To think a book on such a hard subject could have a blessedly happy ending. I would like to thank the author and publisher for writing and bringing good clean Christian books to readers like me.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome Heartwarming Great Read!
 from Atlanta, GA,  Sep 2, 2013

In short, AMAZING AWESOMENESS that will make you laugh, cry, build an outdoor pizza oven, and stay up late to finish this heartwarming funny read! The book goes beyond an engaging well-written story. It also raises awareness of ovarian cancer and the support systems available to both the patient and the family. It also gives a realistic view of surviving the diagnosis, treatment, triumph and loss that occurs with a cancer diagnosis. Don't let the fact that a central factor of the book is cancer! The book has a match making daughter, a series of life lessons/motherly advice, a new craft, and even hair advice. In all fairness, I feel the need to warn that after reading this book you may want to run a 5K, make a quilt, cook beef stew. Sandra D. Bricker has done it again...caused me to read a book in 1 sitting AND add the book to my rotation of re-reads. (At the time of this review the book has been read in full twice and bits & pieces several times). Get a copy today with no regrets!!! I was lucky to receive an advance copy of Sandra D. Bricker's Raw Edges: Quilts of Love Series in exchange for a true and honest review.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I love to quilt
 from Bloomingburg, NY,  Sep 1, 2013

I am Blessed to have received an advance copy of Raw Edges by Sandra Bricker. I love to quilt so it’s only natural that Sandra Bricker’s new “Quilts of Love” book would grab my attention. I couldn’t wait to see how she would intertwine quilts with humor and love around such a serious topic as Ovarian Cancer. With her unique writing style she spins a story that pulls her reader in in the opening pages and keeps your attention until the final one. You will fall in love with Grayson, Annabelle and all the other characters intertwined in this believable story. We all have “raw edges” when we face loss and love and God loves us through it all, right where we’re at. Read “Raw Edges” by Sandra Bricker, You won’t be disappointed.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Heartwarming, heartfelt and so inspiring!
 from Pennsylvania,  Aug 29, 2013

Rarely does a book capture my attention before I've finished reading the prologue! Most often it takes at least the second chapter or more before I'm really hooked. My heart swelled with emotion for the characters and I felt like I had a personal involvement. And in a way I do...we all do, as each one of us knows or knows of someone that has fought or is fighting a battle with cancer. I was especially touched with the journal that Jenna left behind for her daughter Sadie. Each night Grayson reads to their daughter an entry from the journal, each one ending with a special Bible scripture to go along with whatever wisdom she wanted to impart. I love how each chapter of this wonderfully written book is dedicated to one of the journal entries! One of my favorite journal entries to Sadie, Jenna writes "But after some time has passed, I don’t want you and Daddy doing the sad thing anymore. I want you to get out there in the world and meet new people, do new things, and make some new memories. It doesn’t mean I won’t be in your hearts anymore. It just means that you haven’t surrendered to the sadness." If you're a quilter or just love quilts, you're going to love this book even more! If you've been wanting to learn, then don't be surprised if you "catch the fever!" Every handmade quilt always has a story to tell and in this book, the quilt celebrates the lives of those who have lost, are still fighting, or have won the battle against ovarian cancer and how a real life group called Ovacome, dedicated to saving lives by educating the community about these diseases and supporting those patients, survivors and spouses affected by gynecologic cancers put together a beautiful quilt to raise awareness. And it is through the Ovacome memory quilt project, that nine-year-old Sadie and her dad Grayson meet Annabelle. Will this quilt project help heal Grayson's grief stricken heart so that he can find love again. Will precious Sadie's laughter and her fun and silly side emerge again? Can Annabelle learn to trust in love again? I was lucky enough to receive an advanced copy of Sandra D. Bricker's Raw Edges. While I have enjoyed every book of Sandra's that I've read, Raw Edges has become my absolute favorite! Beware, tissue box may be needed as your smile through your tears. Heartwarming, heartfelt and so inspiring!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A must read!
 from Wv,  Aug 22, 2013

Once again, Sandra Bricker has written a book that can suck you in, make you feel like you are there, experiencing what the characters are going through in the first few pages. I picked this up and could NOT put it down! And I learned so much about the whole Ovarian Cancer progress, support groups etc. Thanks to Sandra Bricker for another heartfelt, warm, funny, touching story to add to my collection!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Must Read Book!
 from Greenville, NC,  Aug 21, 2013

I've been a fan of Sandra Bricker's work for a while now, and when I learned that she was writing a book that encompassed two of my passions, Ovarian Cancer Awareness and Quilting, I knew that I had to read this book. As a member of the "Launch Team" for the book, I was sent an advanced copy of the book to read and review. I immediately fell in love with this book in the Prologue. The way the characters are developed makes you feel that you are right there with them in the story, and you feel every emotion that they feel. "Raw Edges" documents the making of a memory quilt for a Tampa, Florida Ovarian Cancer Support group called Ovacome. They are making the quilt to raise funds and awareness for this silent and deadly disease. Facts and statistics to help raise awareness are interwoven in this story. The quilting aspect is spot on too. Even if you are not into quilting, or have no desire to raise awareness for Ovarian Cancer, this book is a great love story... of a young widower, who is faced with the decision to move on shortly after his wife's death. It is a story of blending families. A story of faith. I would definitely recommend this book!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

"Raw Edges" deals with tough subject of cancer and has a lot of quilting tied in throughout. Even though I am not into quilting it was an excellent book! Like all of the other books I've read by Sandra, this book had plenty of laugh-out-loud moments. Be ready to cry, laugh, and smile. Sandra did an amazing job, as always, developing the characters in this book. I fell head-over-heels in love with little Sadie! I've read several of Sandra's books and this is my favorite so far!! Bravo to Sandra, another job well done! *I received an advanced electronic copy of this book to read and review. This review is based on my honest opinion of this book.*

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top