Rainbow - Very Best of Rainbow

Select an option before changing warranty
The Rewards Program that Pays for Itself
  • EARN 5 to 40%
    Earn 5% in Club O Rewards on every order & up to 40% on select items.
  • FREE SHIPPING Every Order, Every Day*
    No matter how big or small, your order always ships for free.
    Dedicated customer service and early access to exclusive deals.
    Club O pays for itself, or we make up the difference
Today: $7.32
1% less than Amazon $7.39
ITEM# 2730998
  • Delivery Estimate

    Select a Product Option to view shipping

    • Product Alerts

      Stay in the know! Choose which alerts you’d like to receive on this product.

    Rainbow - Very Best of Rainbow
    • Wishlists
    • Save for Later

    Rainbow: Ronnie James Dio, Joe Lynn Turner, Graham Bonnet (vocals); Ritchie Blackmore (guitar, bass); Mickey Lee Soule (piano, Mellotron, clavinet, organ); David Rosenthal, Don Airey, Tony Carey, David Stone (keyboards); Jimmy Bain, Craig Gruber, Bob D...


    ITEM#: 2730998

    Rainbow: Ronnie James Dio, Joe Lynn Turner, Graham Bonnet (vocals); Ritchie Blackmore (guitar, bass); Mickey Lee Soule (piano, Mellotron, clavinet, organ); David Rosenthal, Don Airey, Tony Carey, David Stone (keyboards); Jimmy Bain, Craig Gruber, Bob Daisley, Roger Glover (bass); Gary Driscoll, Cozy Powell, Bob Rondinelli, Chuck Burgi (drums). Additional personnel: Rainer Pietsch (conductor); Munich Philharmonic Orchestra. Producers: Ritchie Blackmore, Martin Birch, Ronnie James Dio, Roger Glover. Compilation producer: Bill Levenson. Engineers include: Gary Edwards, Flemming Rasmussen, Nick Blagona. Includes liner notes by Pete Frame, Mark Welch, Jerry Bloom. All tracks have been digitally remastered. Personnel: Graham Bonnet, Joe Lynn Turner, Ronnie James Dio (vocals); Ritchie Blackmore (guitar); Micky Lee Soule (piano, Clavinet, organ, Mellotron); David Rosenthal, Don Airey, David Stone, Tony Carey (keyboards); Cozy Powell, Bob Rondinelli, Chuck Burgi, Gary Driscoll (drums). Audio Mixer: Martin Birch. Photographers: Anthony Loew; Fin Costello. Unknown Contributor Role: Munich Philharmonic Orchestra. Arranger: Ritchie Blackmore. The Best of Rainbow compiles 16 of the best tracks from Rainbow's first seven studio albums, wisely avoiding 1977's live On Stage release. The first two tracks from their debut album, 1975's Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow, showcases the instant bond that was formed between Blackmore and Ronnie James Dio, especially on "Man on the Silver Mountain." Blackmore changed the band for the following year's Rainbow Rising, with Jimmy Bain replacing bass player Craig Gruber, and Cozy Powell taking percussion duties away from Gary Driscoll. Adding keyboard player Tony Carey helped tracks like "Starstruck" and the lengthy "Stargazer" to sound a little more dimensional and fluent than the group's first effort. All of 1978's Long Live Rock and Roll have Rainbow settling in to a heavier sound with faster guitar riffs, proven on the frantic "Kill the King" and on the string accompanied "Gates of Babylon." With Dio leaving in 1978, Graham Bonnet filled in on vocals for Down to Earth, with Roger Glover playing bass. Although the album gave the band a number 40 hit with "Since You've Been Gone," one of Russ Ballard's creations, Bonnet left thereafter and was replaced by Joe Lynn Turner for the Difficult to Cure album. The album sold on the strength of "I Surrender," one of their best tracks, but the remaining tunes marked the beginning of Rainbow's recession. "Jealous Lover," the B-side to 1981's "Can't Happen Here" is a nice addition to the collection, while the next four tracks from Rainbow's most disappointing releases are best heard here than on their parent albums. For a hits package, The Very Best of Rainbow doubles as both a handy sift through the group's changing lineup and as a good place to start for those who are inquisitive. ~ Mike DeGagne


    Dimensions 0
    UPC 731453768727
    Runtime 77 min.
    Type Performer
    Genre Rock & Pop
    Sub Genre Hard Rock
    Label Polydor Records
    Number of Discs 1
    Track Listing Disc 1
    • 1. Man on the Silver Mountain
    • 2. Catch the Rainbow
    • 3. Starstruck
    • 4. Stargazer
    • 5. Kill the King
    • 6. Long Live Rock 'N' Roll
    • 7. Gates of Babylon
    • 8. Since You Been Gone
    • 9. All Night Long
    • 10. I Surrender
    • 11. Can't Happen Here
    • 12. Jealous Lover
    • 13. Stone Cold
    • 14. Power
    • 15. Can't Let You Go
    • 16. Street of Dreams
    Format Compact Disc
    Spars Coding n/a
    Artists Rainbow

    Product Reviews

    5 Stars
    4 Stars
    3 Stars
    2 Stars
    1 Stars
    • Love it!

      If you grew up listening to Rainbow, then this is the CD for you. There were a couple of cuts that didn't make it to my ears back then, but they're classics, nevertheless. Since I'm a fan, I'm playing this disk to death.

      Read More

    Questions & Answers

    Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.
    Get your product questions answered right here.

    Shopping Tips & Inspiration

    Shipping & Returns


    This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

    Standard Return Policy:

    Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

    FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.


    This item cannot be shipped to Alaska or Hawaii. More details

    * For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

    ** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.