Rahsaan Roland Kirk - Blacknuss

Today: $13.80
Out of stock
ITEM# 10065085

    Enter your e-mail address, we will notify you if it comes back in stock.


ITEM#: 10065085

Personnel: Rahsaan Roland Kirk (vocals, tenor saxophone, flute, whistle, percussion); Princess Patience Burton, Cissy Houston (vocals); Charles McGhee (trumpet); Dick Griffin (trombone); Sonelius Smith, Richard Tee (piano); Mickey Tucker (organ); Billy Butler, Cornell Dupree, Keith Loving (guitar); Henry Pearson, Bill Salter (bass); Khalil Mhrdi, Bernard Purdie (drums); Arthur Jenkins (congas, cabasa); Richard Landrum (congas); Joe Habad (percussion). Recorded at Atlantic Studios and Regent Sound Studios, New York, New York between August 31 and September 8, 1971. Originally released on Atlantic (1601). All tracks have been digitally remastered. This collection of classic Rahsaan Roland Kirk features the iconoclastic jazzman performing his idiosyncratic versions of R&B standards like "Ain't No Sunshine," "My Girl," and "Never Can Say Goodbye." Like his 1968 album VOLUNTEERED SLAVERY, most of BLACKNUSS consists of Rahsaan Roland Kirk's idiosyncratic interpretations of pop songs, including a soulful "Ain't So Sunshine" featuring Kirk simultaneously singing and playing the flute; bluesy versions of the Motown classics "What's Goin' On/Mercy Mercy Me," "Never Can Say Goodbye" and "My Girl"; and even a relaxed take on Bread's soft-pop hit "Make It With You." Though jazz interpretations of pop songs are often slight and shallowly commercial, Kirk's obvious fondness for the songs themselves ignites his typically emotional reedwork, passionate even when he's playing several instruments simultaneously. The pop songs are given an added gravity by the album's two stand-out tracks, a glorious take on the gospel standard "Old Rugged Cross" preceded by Kirk's fervent sermonizing, and the anthemic title track, a drawling blues jam punctuated by the vocals of Kirk and Cissy Houston and some sterling piano by Sonelius Smith.


Dimensions 6.0x4.0x1.0
Materials CD
UPC 081227317126
Runtime 42 min.
Type Performer
Genre Jazz Instrument
Sub Genre Saxophone
Number of Discs 1
Track Listing Disc 1
  • 1. Ain't No Sunshine
  • 2. What's Goin' On/Mercy Mercy Me
  • 3. I Love You Yes I Do
  • 4. Take Me Girl I'm Ready
  • 5. My Girl
  • 6. Which Way Is It Going
  • 7. One Nation
  • 8. Never Can Say Goodbye
  • 9. Old Rugged Cross
  • 10. Make It With You
  • 11. Blacknuss
Format Compact Disc
Spars Coding n/a
Artists Kirk, Rahsaan Roland

Product Reviews

Questions & Answers

Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.
Get your product questions answered right here.

Shopping Tips & Inspiration

Shipping & Returns

Standard Return Policy:

Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

* For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.