Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 135 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Sigourney is not the narrator of this version
 from New Haven, CT,  Apr 26, 2007

I found this series both epic and inspiring. Unfortunately, I didn't notice that this version is different than the one featured the Discovery Channel and web store (at a bit higher price). Sigourney Weaver isn't the narrator of this version of "Planet Earth" and the music may be different as well. I'm surprised what a difference this made in my overall perception of the DVD. I was disappointed, as this was not what I expected to receive. I had purchased this set for my friends, family and self but will be returning them to purchase the original version. My only thought would be that as a consumer, I didn't realize I needed to look for this when ordering. Perhaps this can be called out better so folks like myself will be aware of what they're purchasing, that there are two versions of this set.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Truly worthy of ownership
 from Ocean City MD,  May 18, 2007

If you haven't seen any of this series on the Discovery Channel, you owe it to yourself and your family to spend a little time and watch at least an episode. Once you do you will no doubt appreciate how well done and valuable this documentary is as a work of art and an invaluable record of what once was this planet. I had to own it. Given the incredible pressures being placed on the environment today and the apparent lack of politcal will to correct the damage we are inflicting on our planet Earth, it is conceivable that within our lives or our children's lives many of the things documented in this series will be gone for good. This film series will open your eyes to the incredible wonders and beauty that surround us if only we would take the time to look. A masterpiece!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Julie
 from Orlando, FL,  Apr 30, 2007

This series will change how you view this planet. You will gain so much respect for every living thing. The footage is beyond any words one can say. I would highly recommend this for anyone who wants to learn more about this planet we call Earth. It will leave you breathless.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Extraordinary Nature
 from White Plains, NY,  Aug 8, 2007

Planet Earth: Complete Collection (DVD) was five years in the making showing every aspect of earth's fauna and flora. The photography is outstanding as is the information and the way the videographers shot the scenes. Not only is the collection education, it is aesthetically pleasing with rare or first-time footage of hunts by animals by aerial photography and underwater shots of elephants swimming. The snow leopard's hunt is breathtaking as is the man who spent eight months in the mountains waiting for the scene. This is matched only by the male bird of paradise's dance in Papua New Guinea for the female. The voice-overs are as illuminating as the pictures. This is a wonderful collection for any family video library.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Planet Earth
 from DE,  Mar 26, 2008

Superb photography, intelligent writing, magnificant animals. Parcel the discs out over a few months so that you have them to look forward to. Then sit back and enjoy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Outstanding Series!
 from New York, NY,  May 7, 2007

I was so thrilled to see the BBC David Attenborough narrated version of this series available at such a terrific price! David Attenborough's narration gives the series a completely differenct dynamic than the American version featuring Sigourney Weaver. Even if you have seen the series on American TV, I highly recommend viewing it as narrated by Mr. Attenborough.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cool Videos
 from Carmichael, CA,  Apr 24, 2012

I bought this set of videos for my 7 year old grandson. He digs anything science so I thought he would like them. I was so right. Not only he but my wife and I were blown away by some of the photography. We watch a lot of nature & science shows so I didn't think we'd see anything new. Was I wrong. These videos have HD images & sequences that we have never seen before. Spectacular is the word I'd use. BBC spent a ton of time & money on this series and it shows. We have all enjoyed watching this series and have learned a lot from it. I know we will watch it over & over again. A great purchase. Looking forward to the next one.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It was true to the original
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is awesome
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Planet Earth: Complete Collection (DVD)
 from Norfolk, NE,  Mar 23, 2012

The product was listed as NEW but a couple of the CDs have skipped (one skipped forward for 5 minutes). Aside from that, I am pleased with the product.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The product was listed as NEW but a couple of the CDs have skipped (one skipped forward for 5 minutes)
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very well made
 from Indiana,  Dec 3, 2011

Enjoy the CD Set - it is not narrated by Sigorney Weaver though - Very Well Made.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Very Nice Set
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
AWESOME !!!!
 from denver,co,  Feb 1, 2011

to the person who wrote a review below me... GET A GRIP !! this show is just amazing to see and to own it is even better. who really cares who was the narrator is or was to be expected, each dvd is just amazing to watch. the work that went thru to film this and the actors ( nature ) are breathtaking. and the music is great with each story. don't be so critical on this..and dont go by "her" review. THIS DVD IS AMAZING ! if you love nature and nature shows.. buy this dvd set.. or gift it. you or the person you gift it to will love it !!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great!
 from Chicago, IL,  Jan 3, 2011

LOVE this DVD set. It is visually amazing and works as a great gift. Everyone will enjoy this.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
5
 from Texas,  Jan 16, 2010

This is some of the most spectacular photography we have ever seen. We liked it so much that we ordered the set for Christmas gifts for all our family members.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
planet earth
 from lincoln, ne,  Jan 16, 2010

My daughter's boyfriend was thrilled to recieve this for Christmas, and I was happy to get a much better price than the local stores. Thanks!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Planet Earth
 from Washington,  Jan 5, 2010

Bought as gift. Every thing went very smooth and no problems!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT!
 from Florida,  Dec 30, 2009

This is a really nice set. I was surprised that my 17 year old had it on his Christmas list. We have watched them together. Quality family time. Great gift for kids of all ages.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect gift
 from Bozeman, MT,  Jul 5, 2009

After watching this entire series myself, I knew this was the perfect Father's Day gift for my dad--you know..."the world's most difficult man to buy anything for because he has everything and wants nothing?" Well, that's him and I figured he DIDN'T have this and WOULD completely love it. And he does! He has a huge appreciation for the world around us, for nature and geography, and for well-captured filming and photo shots. I think this series completely astounded even him with how absolutely beautiful it is, and with the devotion of the film crew to capture never-before-seen shots. This is a must see for everyone.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Planet
 from Salt Lake City, UT,  Apr 15, 2009

This series offers an amazing view of the planet we live on. The special cameras and techniques they used were able to catch events that have never been filmed before. Plus it is just fun to watch.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
purchased as a gift
 Jan 20, 2009

It was great to find this at a reasonable price. It is enjoyed by my family.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantastic Gift
 from New Mexico,  Jan 15, 2009

Way awesome gift..bought for my husband and son...love the narration by David Attenborough...so glad I purchased this version instead of Discovery version with Sigourney Weaver!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Entertaining & Informative
 from Upstate NY,  Dec 8, 2008

With three boys entering adulthood, it is refreshing to view a dvd that doesn't have explosions or violence that interests my kids. The collection can be watched in parts as our schedule allows, and it stimulates discussions on the state of our planet. Very relevant in these days of "carbon footprints" and global warming issues. My kids are on the older-side, high-school/college, but I can see youngsters enjoying it as well. Beautiful photography and excellent narrator.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 135 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top