Parliament - Best of Parliament:Give Up the Funk

Select an option before changing warranty
The Rewards Program that Pays for Itself
  • EARN 5 to 40%
    Earn 5% in Club O Rewards on every order & up to 40% on select items.
  • FREE SHIPPING Every Order, Every Day*
    No matter how big or small, your order always ships for free.
    Dedicated customer service and early access to exclusive deals.
    Club O pays for itself, or we make up the difference
Today: $11.20
High Sellout Risk
ITEM# 10991350
  • Delivery Estimate

    Select a Product Option to view shipping

    • Product Alerts

      Stay in the know! Choose which alerts you’d like to receive on this product.

    Parliament - Best of Parliament:Give Up the Funk
    • Wishlists
    • Save for Later

    Parliament includes: William "Bootsy" Collins (vocals, guitar, bass, percussion); Eddie Hazel, Garry Shider, Glenn Goins (vocals, guitar); Gary "Mudbone" Cooper (vocals, percussion); George Clinton, Calvin Simon, Fuzzy Haskins, Grady Thomas, Raymond Da...


    ITEM#: 10991350

    Parliament includes: William "Bootsy" Collins (vocals, guitar, bass, percussion); Eddie Hazel, Garry Shider, Glenn Goins (vocals, guitar); Gary "Mudbone" Cooper (vocals, percussion); George Clinton, Calvin Simon, Fuzzy Haskins, Grady Thomas, Raymond Davis (vocals); Maceo Parker, Fred Wesley, Randy Brecker, Michael Brecker, Rick Gardner (horns); Michael Hampton, DeWayne McKnight (guitar); Bernie Worrell (keyboards, synthesizers); Cordell Mosson, Rodney Curtis (bass); Jerome Brailey, Dennis Chambers (drums, percussion); Debbie Edwards, Taka Kahn (background vocals). Producers: George Clinton, Walter Morrison. Compilation producer: Harry Weinger. Recorded between 1974 & 1980. Includes liner notes by Tom Vickers. Digitally remastered by Gary N. Mayo. This is part of the PolyGram Chronicles Funk Essentials series. Personnel: Bootsy Collins (vocals, guitar, drums, percussion); Eddie Hazel , Garry Shider, Glen Goins (vocals, guitar); Clarence "Fuzzy" Haskins, Gary "Mudbone" Cooper, George Clinton , Grady Thomas, Raymond Davis, Calvin Simon (vocals); Walter "Junie" Morrison (guitar, keyboards, synthesizer); Tony Thomas , Gordon Carlton, Michael Hampton , Ron Bykowski, Phelps "Catfish" Collins (guitar); Sam Peake, Clay Lawrey, Fred Wesley, Larry Hatcher, Benny Cowan, Darryl Dixon , Greg Thomas , Joe Farrell, Maceo Parker, Michael Brecker, Randy Brecker, Richard "Kush" Griffith, Rick Gardner, Greg Black, Greg Boyer (horns); David Lee Chong, Bernie Worrell (keyboards, synthesizer); Carl "Butch" Small, Lonnie Greene, Lawrence Fratangelo, Kenny Colton, Jerome Brailey, Ramon Tiki Fulwood, Tyrone Lampkin, Gary Bronson (drums, percussion); Dennis Chambers (drums); Sheila Horne, Jeannette McGruder, Dawn Silva, Taka Khan, Linda Shider, Janice Evans, Debbie Wright, Mallia Franklin, Shirley Hayden, Pamela Vincent, Bryan Chimenti, Larry Heckstall, Cheryl James, Jeanette "Baby" Washington, Ronnie Dunbar, Linda Brown, Jessica Cleaves, Joel Johnson, Lynn Mabry, Philippe Wynne, Ron Ford , Tracey Lewis, Michael "Clip" Payne (background vocals). Recording information: Allen Zentz; Concorde Studios; Crystal Sound Studios; Hollywood Sound; Limited Sound; PCI Studios; Power Station; Sigma Sound, NY; Sound Ideas; Super Disc; United Sound. Though true fans will want to seek out the individual albums, it's hard to go wrong with this outstanding collection of songs. Parliament brings unbridled creativity to dance music. Their original melange of rock, blues, soul, and jazz elements, underscored by a celebration of black identity and drug-influenced sci-fi fantasies, enables them to transcend the limitations of the genre. Many of the Funk Mob's finest creations are included on this disc, including "P. Funk," "Up For The Down Stroke," "Chocolate City," "Mothership Connection," and the incomparably great "Flashlight." It should be said that this album is in no way comprehensive, or even justly indicative of this unique ensemble's astonishing range. For that, one should go the original discs or check out Funkadelic, Parliament's stranger and more high-minded twin unit. Nevertheless, GIVE UP THE FUNK is an outstanding sampler and a great place for the uninitiated to get their first taste of what Funk's First Family does best.


    Dimensions 1.0x1.0x1.0
    UPC 731452699527
    Runtime 78 min.
    Type Performer
    Genre R&B
    Sub Genre Funk
    Label Universal Records
    Number of Discs 1
    Track Listing Disc 1
    • 1. Flash Light
    • 2. Bop Gun (Endangered Species)
    • 3. P-Funk (Wants to Get Funked Up)
    • 4. Mothership Connection (Star Child)
    • 5. Do That Stuff
    • 6. Theme from the Black Hole
    • 7. Ride On
    • 8. Give Up the Funk (Tear the Roof off the Sucker)
    • 9. Up for the Down Stroke
    • 10. Agony of Defeet
    • 11. Aqua Boogie (A Psychoalphadiscobetabioaquadoloop)
    • 12. Dr. Funkenstein
    • 13. Chocolate City
    • 14. Let's Play House
    Format Compact Disc
    Spars Coding n/a
    Artists Parliament

    Product Reviews

    Questions & Answers

    Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.
    Get your product questions answered right here.

    Shopping Tips & Inspiration

    Shipping & Returns


    This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

    Standard Return Policy:

    Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

    FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.


    This item cannot be shipped to Alaska or Hawaii. More details

    * For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

    ** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.