Old 97's - Too Far to Care

Today: $16.83
Out of stock
ITEM# 14529637

    Enter your email address, we will notify you if it comes back in stock.


ITEM#: 14529637

Old 97's: Rhett Miller (vocals, guitar); Murry Hammond (vocals, bass); Ken Bethea (guitar); Philip Peeples (drums, percussion). Additional personnel: Exene Cervenkova (vocals); John Rauhouse (pedal steel, banjo); Wally Gagel (piano, Mellotron, percussion). Recorded at Village Productions, Tornillo, Texas. Personnel: Rhett Miller (vocals, guitar); Murry Hammond (vocals, bass guitar); Ken Bethea (guitar); Jon Rauhouse (banjo); Wally Gagel (piano, Mellotron, percussion); Philip Peeples (drums, percussion). Audio Mixer: Wally Gagel. Liner Note Authors: Tom de Savia; Rhett Miller. Recording information: Dreamland, Woodstock, NY; Village Productions, Tomillo, TX. Photographer: Chris Gorman . The Old 97's make their jump to the majors on their second release without sacrificing any of their fire. Though they're lumped with the country-rock revivalists, they owe more to the punk-inflected sound of Mekons offshoot/former labelmates the Waco Brothers than to the Flying Burrito Brothers. Instead of relying on traditional country instrumentation, their sound is based on a foundation of fierce electric guitars and ape-with-a-stick drumming. The ferocity of their attack keeps the country cliches they occasionally revive from sounding hackneyed. The urgency and restlessness of songs like "Timebomb" and "Niteclub" share a common bond with the gotta-get-outta-here rebel spirit of the Clash's underdog anthems. The band's cowpunk roots show most clearly on "Four Leaf Clover," a duet with X's Exene Cervenka that will take you back to the days when it still seemed like Jason & The Scorchers could change the world.


UPC 816651012770
Runtime 101 min.
Type Performer
Genre Country
Label Omnivore Recordings
Producer Wally Gagel; Cheryl Pawelski (Reissue); Tom de Savia (Reissue)
Number of Discs 2
Track Listing Disc 1
  • 1. Timebomb
  • 2. Barrier Reef
  • 3. Broadway
  • 4. Salome
  • 5. W. TX Teardrops
  • 6. Melt Show
  • 7. Streets of Where I'm From
  • 8. Big Brown Eyes
  • 9. Just Like California
  • 10. Curtain Calls
  • 11. Niteclub
  • 12. House That Used to Be
  • 13. Four Leaf Clover
  • 14. Northern Line
  • 15. Beer Cans - (previously unreleased)
  • 16. No Doubt About It - (previously unreleased)
  • 17. Holy Cross - (previously unreleased)
Disc 2
  • 1. Broadway - (previously unreleased)
  • 2. Daybed - (previously unreleased)
  • 3. Barrier Reef - (previously unreleased)
  • 4. W. TX Teardrops - (previously unreleased)
  • 5. Niteclub - (previously unreleased)
  • 6. When I Crash - (previously unreleased)
  • 7. You Were Right - (previously unreleased)
  • 8. Sound of Running - (previously unreleased)
  • 9. Everybody But Me - (previously unreleased)
  • 10. Holy Cross - (previously unreleased)
  • 11. 1, The - (previously unreleased)
Format Compact Disc
Spars Coding n/a
Artists Old 97's

Product Reviews

Questions & Answers

Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.
Get your product questions answered right here.

Shopping Tips & Inspiration

Shipping & Returns

Standard Return Policy:

Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.


This item cannot be shipped to Alaska or Hawaii. More details

For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.

You May Also Like