Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 29 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Jane Eyre
 from Clarksville, TN,  Nov 13, 2008

I LOVE this movie! It is the best Jane Eyre movie out there, and it is almost 4 hours long, so it is very much like the book. I have seen other movies of Jane Eyre, and they are VERY disappointing. The book and this movie are very much the same, which is not always the case. This is definitely one that you will want to have for your collection for a long time!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Fabulous Jane
 from Northeastern PA,  Apr 4, 2008

Ruth Wilson is the key to this Jane Eyre. She manages to convey Jane's passion, her joy in unexpected love, and her devastation at heartbreak, while also being a restrained and correct governess. The chemistry between her and Toby Stephens works, too. (Although he isn't my ideal Rochester.) St. John Rivers and Jane's whole time away from Thornfield are another big success. My biggest criticism is the overblown horror movie aspect of the secret at Thornfield Hall. And really, if you were trying to hide someone in the North Tower, would you let them fly a big red flag out the window? But that's a minor criticism of a wonderful achievement. I'll be watching this movie often, and I recommend it wholeheartedly to other Jane Eyre fans, or anyone who appreciates complex, dramatic romance.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful entertainment! Great Love Story!
 from Chattanooga, TN,  Mar 28, 2008

What a terrific movie! The acting couldn't be more superb! Great value through Overstock! Highly recommend to all!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Jane Eyre
 from MD,  Mar 19, 2008

This is an excellent book/movie adaptation... very moving and beautiful, you won't be disappointed!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Jane Eyre DVD a Masterpiece!
 from New Jersey,  Mar 10, 2008

Bought this after looking at all the possible film versions of the classic. Recently read it w/ a book group and LOVED it so really wanted to see what was done on film. Didn't want a "rush job" condensed into an hour and a1/2. Remembered seeing bits of the Orson Welles black and white movie years ago, and wasn't disappointed with this 2 disc DVD set. Watched it w/ my 16 year-old daughter. She has not yet read the book, but was hooked on it, and couldn't wait to finish the 2d half!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Jane Eyre
 from Jacksonville, FL,  Feb 22, 2008

Great movie, a must have DVD. I absolutely enjoyed this movie. I love the ending, it was a happy ending.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Jane Eyre
 from Barnesville, Ga.,  Jan 20, 2008

I had seen "Jane Eyre" on PBS in December and decided I must have the DVD to watch whenever I wanted. Let me say I have never owned a dvd that I love to watch more than this one. The acting is first rate, especially between the two main characters. I recommend this version to anyone who loves to watch period pieces. You won't be disappointed!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
wonderful dvd!!!
 from San Francisco, CA,  Jan 2, 2008

This dvd is excellent. It follows along with C. Brontes book very closely, except there isn't as much dialog between the 2 main characters and it is not in 13th century english. The cinematography is breath taking and the music is wonderful. I have watched 3 other versions of Jane Eyre and this is by far the best. Ruth Wilson and Toby Smith do a great job as Jane and Rochester.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The BEST version of Jane Eyre yet !!!!
 from Southern Maryland,  Jan 3, 2013

This movie is absolutely fantastic. I was hooked from the first minute to the last ! There will never be another Jane Eyre for me ~

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Film and Book title are exactly alike.
 from New Jersey,  Mar 20, 2012

This video is an accurate film of the book by Charlotte Bronte. While watching the film you have a clear view of what the author is writing about and it follows the true story line. In the film you get a clear representation of this time in English history and the true romance behind her characters.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact replication.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate description.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wife loves the show
 from Salt Lake, UT,  Feb 8, 2012

My wife loves these types of shows and if you do as well you will not be disappointed.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact product
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great product
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nothing better
 from San Marcos, TX,  Sep 30, 2011

I am an avid Jane Eyre fan. And while this movie is not perfectly loyal to every nuance of the book, it is BY FAR the BEST film adaptation of the novel out there. Trust me, I've seen every single one. I could not praise this movie enough! A+++++!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? A++
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? A++
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. A++
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So good.
 from Wa. State,  Sep 29, 2011

I don't have the words to tell you how much I enjoyed this movie. It will go with my favorites !!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. DVD in perfect condition.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent
 from Winnemucca, NV,  Sep 15, 2011

This is a very moving adaptation and I enjoyed it very much.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The best "Jane" yet!
 from San Antonio, TX,  Sep 3, 2011

Jane Eyre is my favorite character and I've loved the book since I was a teenager but I never felt any of the movies quite captured Jane. This one does! I also liked that it was truer to the book than the other versions I've seen on film. I thoroughly enjoyed this film and even my husband sat and watched a portion with me - that is high praise indeed!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fabulous
 from Houston, TX,  Aug 23, 2009

The BBC did a fantastic job. If you are a fan of Jane Eyre, you should like this version.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Jane Eyre DVD
 from Cleveland, OH,  Jul 19, 2009

Ordering was very easy and delivery was quick. This was a gift for my daughter, and she is very happy with the DVD.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Jane Eyre (DVD)
 from Vacaville, California,  Dec 16, 2008

I have enjoyed this play. The actors played their roles well. The characters experiences were so compelling that you did not want to miss any part. At the end you wanted more of the story to continue. That alone make it a good movie...

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
awaiting my copy
 from texas,  Jan 9, 2008

I was watching this with a friend on PBS and have never read or seen anything on Jane Eyre. I loved it! So I ordered my own copy and I am already planning a Jane Eyre party for my next girls night in. I have ordered a second copy for a friend.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well worth a look
 from Georgia USA,  Nov 25, 2007

A very good film adaptation of Jane Eyre, although a few details from the book have been changed and may be noticable to those who are very familiar with the Charlotte Bronte novel.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 29 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top