Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 22 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
It's a classic
 from Phoenix, AZ,  Apr 5, 2013

every kitchen should have a copy of this classic omage to legendary Julia Child

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
An original on French Cooking
 from St. Petersburg, FL,  Dec 30, 2012

Julia Child was a long way ahead of her time in providing details of French Cooking for English speaking people in North America. This book is a classic of its type. However, beware of frequent use, the pounds will go on very fast!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Very close
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It is difficult to represent a classic after fifty years; otherwise very well!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. A classic cookbook of the sisties!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Julie Child...
 from Baton Rouge, LA,  Oct 16, 2012

Book arrrived in perfect shape and was just as good as it looked on the website.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? perfect example of product
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? superior
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Q/A section misleading. This item only Vol 1.
 from Athens, OH,  Oct 5, 2012

I returned this item and bought the Vol 1 and Vol 2 boxed set that wasn't on the website when I first purchased this item. If you just want Master the Art of French Cooking, Vol 1 only then this is the item for you!

  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Be aware that this is only volume 1. It states in the Q/A section that it is both volumes 1 and 2. I have returned this item, so maybe they will correct the Q/A section
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very nice quality, just not what I thought I was getting
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A nice gift
 from Indian Rocks Beach, FL,  Sep 22, 2012

I bought this as a birthday gift for my daughter who loves to cook. She was very pleased with the gift and commented on how well she liked the instruction about sauces.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? unknown
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. n/a
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
50th Anniversary Edition of the Classic
 from Atlanta,  Sep 21, 2012

50th Anniversary Edition of the awesome Julia Child classic. Has some very helpful updating from the original edition.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
julia child classic
 from kentucky,  Jan 12, 2012

my mother is one of the finest cooks i know and she has always collected and tried out new recipes. she is a huge fan of "top chef" and got the cookbook from last season and loves it. she also got a cookbook by lidia bastianich but i knew she thoroughly enjoyed the "julie and julia" film and said she wished she had the cookbook. she was delighted to get it for christmas!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? fine
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. small mark on dust jacket, otherwise okay
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Julia Child cookbook review
 from SC,  Jan 4, 2012

I adore this cookbook. Every cook needs this cookbook by Julia Child. You will learn every method of cooking that you can possibly imagine. I especially love the recipe for "Beef Burgundy."

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Image was exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? description of product was accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Gift for a Foodie
 from New Jersey,  Apr 28, 2011

this was a birthday gift for my sister-in-law who loves classic cooking techniques and studied abroad in France. i couldn't believe she did not have it already! The Book itself is beautiful with the original cover under the blue dust cover shown in the photo. I may need to buy another for myself.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Classics
 from Surprise, AZ,  Aug 26, 2010

Wife was estatic in recieving her books, She reads it all the time and loves Julia Childs! Glad to see a gift being used all the time.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cookbook
 from SW Florida,  Jul 28, 2010

After watching the movie "Julie and Julia" I decided I wanted to try some of these fantastic recipes. I have heard of Julia Child since I was very young, but really had no idea what she had accomplished until I saw the movie. The book is complete, and full of useful information. A must have for anyone who cooks because they enjoy it

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mastering the art of french cooking
 from London England,  Jun 20, 2010

The book arrived well protected and undamaged. I have cooked from it and its as good as it says in the film. The recipes really work and taste good. Easy to read and understand, brilliant book.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVED IT
 from Pittsburgh, Pa,  Mar 26, 2010

I absolutely love this. I have been wanting this book for years but it is normally too pricecy at book stores. Can't wait to start to do the "Julie and Julia" thing and try out all the recipes. Thanks.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Classic
 from Oregon,  Mar 21, 2010

Thanks to the movie, "Julia and Julia" an american (albeit) french classic is popular again! I have been looking for this cookbook in hardcover for some time. It is extremely expensive at other outlets. Not only an excellent price here but I received it very quickly. "Duck con fit" and "beoffe borgenone" have never tasted so good!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Julia Child French Cooking
 from Michigan,  Jan 6, 2010

After seeing the movie Julie & Julia, I thought this would be a great Christmas present for my love. Thanks again for making the book affordable.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Julia Child's
 from Ewing, NJ,  Dec 28, 2009

Excellent book - I recommend to all who like to cook!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A fine cookery book
 from Gloucestershire, England,  Oct 25, 2009

Elizabeth David's French Provincial Cooking is, for me, the finest cookery book ever written and therefore by default the finest book on French cooking. This book, however, comes a close second: clear, informative, and practical. It is also well-written although no-one can surpass Mrs David as a writer about food.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy!
 from Indian Harbour Beach, FL,  Sep 2, 2009

I went to a book store after seeing the movie, "Julie and Julia" to purchase this book. It was $40.00 at the book store. Great buy at Overstock!! It is a wonderful cookbook.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Great Cook Book
 from Round Rock, TX,  Sep 2, 2009

I was impressed with the simplicity and ease in using this book. The book is designed for the basic cook who wants to expand his/her culinary skills. I have a lot of different cookbooks, but I wanted a cookbook that explained the basics of French cooking in a way I could understand. This book filled the bill perfectly. It is the perfect resource to have on the shelf of any aspiring "chef". Thank you, Julia.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
More Than a Cookbook
 from Georgia,  Dec 28, 2007

Its more than just recipes; there is background information about the chef, good information about the choice of meats and gives substitutes for some of the ingredients. This updated edition has been tweaked for modern kitchen appliances.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 22 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top