Luther Vandross - Essential Luther Vandross

Select an option before changing warranty
The Rewards Program that Pays for Itself
  • EARN 5 to 40%
    Earn 5% in Club O Rewards on every order & up to 40% on select items.
  • FREE SHIPPING Every Order, Every Day*
    No matter how big or small, your order always ships for free.
    Dedicated customer service and early access to exclusive deals.
    Club O pays for itself, or we make up the difference
Today: $14.29
ITEM# 2893340
  • Delivery Estimate

    Select a Product Option to view shipping

    • Product Alerts

      Stay in the know! Choose which alerts you’d like to receive on this product.

    Luther Vandross - Essential Luther Vandross
    • Wishlists
    • Save for Later


    ITEM#: 2893340

    Personnel: Luther Vandross, Martha Wash, Cheryl Lynn, Dionne Warwick, Mariah Carey (vocals); Doc Powell, Georg Wadenius, Paul Jackson, Jr. (guitar); Nat Adderley, Jr. (piano, keyboards, synthesizer); Marcus Miller (keyboards, synthesizer, bass, background vocals); John "Skip" Anderson (synthesizer, programming); Anthony Jackson, Tinker Barfield (bass); Yogi Horton, Buddy Williams (drums); Steve Croon (bongos, congas); Paulinho Da Costa (congas, percussion, chimes); Bashiri Johnson, Michael White (percussion); Jason Miles (programming); Fonzi Thornton, Phil Perry, Phillip Ingram, Ava Cherry, Cissy Houston, Lisa Fisher, Darlene Love, Tawatha Agee (background vocals). Producers: Luther Vandross, Marcus Miller, Nat Adderley, Jr., Walter Afanasieff. Compilation producers: Leo Sacks, Ray Bardani. Recorded between 1982 & 1996. Includes liner notes by OJ Lima. This is part of the "Essential Collection" series. This collection documents the two-decades-plus recording career of R&B icon Luther Vandross. Even before he started putting out records under his own name, he was a first-call session singer (he's the one who created and sang the chorus hook on David Bowie's "Young Americans," for just one example). Throughout the '80s and the '90s, he was (both commercially and aesthetically) one of the most consistently successful R&B singer/songwriter/producers. This healthy two-disc selection of highlights from the impressive Vandross catalogue moves deftly from heartfelt ballads ("A House is Not a Home") to percolating, poppy numbers ("Never Too Much"), spotlighting the man's mellifluous voice and tasteful phrasing at each turn. This is quite clearly the definitive career summary for this deeply influential R&B titan.


    Dimensions 0
    UPC 696998916722
    Runtime 150 min.
    Type Performer
    Genre R&B
    Sub Genre Contemporary R&B
    Label Columbia Records
    Number of Discs 2
    Track Listing Disc 1
    • 1. Any Love
    • 2. So Amazing
    • 3. Wait For Love
    • 4. Power Of Love / Love Power
    • 5. For You to Love
    • 6. I (Who Have Nothing)
    • 7. Anyone Who Had a Heart
    • 8. House Is Not a Home, A
    • 9. Never Too Much
    • 10. Since I Lost My Baby
    • 11. Stop to Love
    • 12. It's Over Now
    • 13. Your Secret Love
    • 14. Superstar
    • 15. Here and Now
    Disc 2
    • 1. Knocks Me Off My Feet
    • 2. Goin' Out of My Head
    • 3. If Only For One Night
    • 4. Creepin'
    • 5. She's So Good to Me
    • 6. Give Me the Reason
    • 7. She Loves Me Back
    • 8. Night I Fell in Love, The
    • 9. If This World Were Mine
    • 10. Don't Want to Be a Fool
    • 11. There's Nothing Better Than Love
    • 12. How Many Times Can We Say Goodbye
    • 13. Love the One You're With
    • 14. Endless Love
    • 15. I Want the Night to Stay
    Format Compact Disc
    Spars Coding n/a
    Artists Vandross, Luther

    Product Reviews

    5 Stars
    4 Stars
    3 Stars
    2 Stars
    1 Stars
    • What's not to love about Luther?

      True to the CD's title, this collection of songs presents the essence of Luther Vandross. Even on obscure selections in this CD, Luther simply has a beautiful voice that makes any song sound wonderful. Do you have a chore that you hate to perform? Listen to this CD while you're doing it; I guarantee it will make the task that much sweeter.

      Read More
    • Wonderful CD. Can't beat the price. Smooth transaction. Thanks.

      Read More
    • My order was received in a timely manner, and I was very pleased with the order process, a couple of clicks online and my CD was on its way. This particular Luther Vandross CD is truly a rare gem, thanks for making it available to one of Luther's biggest fans.

      Read More

    Questions & Answers

    Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.
    Get your product questions answered right here.

    Shopping Tips & Inspiration

    Shipping & Returns


    This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

    Standard Return Policy:

    Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

    FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.


    This item cannot be shipped to Alaska or Hawaii. More details

    * For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

    ** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.