Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Beautiful volume, but not leather.
 from Phoenix, AZ area,  Feb 29, 2012

Very beautiful volume. However, as mentioned by other reviewers, it is not a leatherbound. Nowhere on the book, on its case or on the label attached to the shrink wrap by the publisher does it advertise itself to be leather. The label states the following: "50th Anniversary Edition / The Lord of the Rings / J.R.R. Tolkien / Finest edition ever offered, complete in one volume / Fully corrected, all new text setting / Color insert showing leaves from the Book of Mazarbul / Deluxe binding with two-color foil stamping / Gilded edges, ribbon bookmark / Two foldout two-color maps". If I had to choose, I would opt for the hardcover edition with full-color illustrations by Alan Lee: it is somewhat larger and more unwieldy, and it doesn't have gilded edges or a slip case, but the illustrations are beautiful. In any case, even without leather, this is a beautiful volume.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Image matches item.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not leather, but a beautiful volume nonetheless.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A treasure to keep
 from Finland,  May 25, 2011

I bought this book so that I would have one copy of Lord of the Rings that I would charice and keep it up for display for the rest of my days. It really is a treasure. Excellent paper quality and firm beautiful covers. Only one little thing in my personal opinion could have been different; the maps. It's a nice idea that they attached the maps to both ends of the book (Shire map at the beginning and the whole Middle Earth map in the end), but personally, I would have liked to take the maps from some sorta paper slipcases and open them up where ever I can. Now, you have to open them next to your book everytime. Kinda sucks when you are sitting on your bed, back on the wall and you have the book against your knees and the map is just tangling in the air. That was just my personal opinion. All in all, magnificient version of the book!

  • Did the image onsite match the product? Yes it did.
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes.
  • How is the quality of the product? Quality is excellent.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lord Of The Rings leather bound 50th Anniversary
 from Grand Haven, Michigan,  Sep 12, 2006

I have read this wonderful book over a number of times. From The wonderfuly gifted mind of JRR Tolkien. This is the copy I have wanted to have for a long time. The story brings you into the lives and world of "Middle Earth". You know each one of them very well and share in the good and the evil of there encounters. This copy is a joy to read. From the leather bound cover to its fine paper of top quality. Your children and grandchildren will read it. A book to be handed from generation to generation.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful book in beautiful case
 from Spring, TX,  Apr 15, 2014

Beautiful book in beautiful case at a very reasonable price. Was well packaged and arrived without any damage.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous edition
 from Longview TX,  Aug 27, 2013

I've been wanting this edition for a long time. It is just as beautiful as it looked online. It's faux leather with thin parchment paper. A quality product and cheaper on overstock than anywhere else.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
An Excellent Version of Lord of the Rings
 from Grand Forks, ND,  Jan 18, 2013

I just received this single volume of the Lord of the Rings today, and it is already my favorite version. It is definitely worth the money. My only gripe comes from the shipping. I ordered it on December 17, and it didn't arrive until January 18. It got lost in shipping and I had to wait until a certain date to make sure it didn't arrive. I most likely will NOT be ordering from overstock again.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? The actual product was amazing.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is amazing.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is not a leather-bound volume.
 from Montreal, QC,  Jan 17, 2013

There's not much else to say except this is a well-bound edition of a timeless classic.

  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate except that it is hard-bound, not leather-bound.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It's the LOTR...
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome
 from CA,  Dec 25, 2012

My Husband LOVED it. It was a Christmas gift & he was very pleased. Thank You!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Just like it. Perfect.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Acccurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Awesome Quality.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Lord of the Rings
 from Denver, Colorado,  May 16, 2012

Fast shipping, book was brand new with no damage. Thanks for excellent service...

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Birthday present for my 13 yr old son
 from Dodge center, MN,  Apr 13, 2012

My son loves to read, he was very excited to start this book. The book is super heavy, great quality. So far he is taking very good care of it. It wil take him a while to finish, but he is enjoying it so far. No complaints, I got a great deal through Overstock!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? very accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Book
 from Iowa City, IA,  Mar 20, 2012

The content of the book is excellent, there is little disputing that. This version is exceptional. Haven't found/seen a nicer version and this price is as low as I have seen (approximately $XX)

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Precise
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Precise
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality, feels great in your hands. Have been toting it around with me pretty regularly and the cover hasn't sustained any damage.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful edition
 from New York, NY,  Feb 29, 2012

Gave this beautiful edition as a present for my 10 year old. He loved it!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very high quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A happy Customer
 from la jolla , CA,  Feb 24, 2012

As a gift the recipient was thrilled. The product design was perfect. The shipment arrived in the promised time and in excellent shape.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? understated
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? lacked some detail
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good; just as described
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This book is great for Tolkien fans!
 from Oakdale, New York,  Feb 2, 2012

My son searched the Web For this book and overstock had the best price. It was exactly what he wanted. Overstock always comes through.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfect it was just how it looks.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Top Quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful!
 from Front Royal, VA,  Jan 30, 2012

I've read the Lord of the Rings several times. Some time back, I was given a beautiful gift edition of The Hobbit. I decided it was time to read the Lord of the Rings books again, but my copies were somewhat inferior in quality. So, I decided that it was time to get a really nice copy to match The Hobbit, and get it in one book. This copy is exactly what I was looking for, and it wasn't too expensive. I am enjoying reading the story again.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as pictured.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Completely accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very well made, and beautiful.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful book...
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Nov 5, 2011

This book is a must have for Tolkien fans... It's beautifully leatherbound with gilded pages and includes reproductions from the Book of Marzubul (pages from the Dwarven book found by Gandalf and the Fellowship in the Mines of Moria), fold-out maps, and more! It's great to own this amazing tale in the book as Tolkien originally conceived it... It's a beautiful addition to our home library!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Collector's Piece
 from Cincinnati, Ohio,  Sep 30, 2011

This book is a must-have collector's piece. Tolkien himself could not have imagined a better quality, fit, and finish for his masterpiece.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Actual product looked even better than the images on the site
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 100% accurate.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Incredible quality.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great book - but be careful!
 from Portland OR,  Dec 27, 2007

This is a lovely edition of all three Lord of the Rings books. It is bound in beautiful leatherette with gilded pages, and includes a color inset of the Book of Marzabul as well as two large good quality maps. It's the maps that require extra care, however -- they are affixed to the book with some pretty hefty glue and must be detached with great care. I read other warnings about this, and even with my extreme carefulness I created a tiny rip in the maps. It's only this glue issue that leads me to give this book 4 stars instead of 5.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fantasy is reality...
 from Berkeley, CA,  Aug 27, 2007

This is a beautiful book, worthy of its fantastic and ageless story. My only complaint is that it makes the rest of my bookshelf seem shabby and cheap.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top