Kelly Clarkson - Greatest Hits: Chapter One

Select an option before changing warranty
The Rewards Program that Pays for Itself
  • EARN 5 to 40%
    Earn 5% in Club O Rewards on every order & up to 40% on select items.
  • FREE SHIPPING Every Order, Every Day*
    No matter how big or small, your order always ships for free.
    Dedicated customer service and early access to exclusive deals.
    Club O pays for itself, or we make up the difference
Today: $11.72
  • Delivery Estimate

    Select a Product Option to view shipping

    • Product Alerts

      Stay in the know! Choose which alerts you’d like to receive on this product.

    Kelly Clarkson - Greatest Hits: Chapter One
    • Wishlists
    • Save for Later

    Recording information: 4014 Mixing Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Capitol Studios, Hollywood, CA; Chalice Recording Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Clinton Studios, New York, NY; Conway Recording Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Crank Recording; Decibel studios, Stockho...


    ITEM#: 14813500

    Recording information: 4014 Mixing Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Capitol Studios, Hollywood, CA; Chalice Recording Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Clinton Studios, New York, NY; Conway Recording Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Crank Recording; Decibel studios, Stockholm, Sweden; Dr. Luke's, New York, NY; Echo Studio, Los Angeles, CA; Henson Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA; Kennedy Compound, Studio City, CA; Maratone Studios, Stockholm, Sweden; Mower Studios, Pasadena, CA; NRG Recording, North Hollywood, CA; Rokstone Studios, London, UK; SeeSquaredStudios, New York, NY; Sound Gallery Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Sound Mine, Perth, Australia; Starstruck Studios, Nashville, TN; Studio City Sound, Studio City, CA; The Inc. Spot, Nashville, TN; The Listening Station, Pasadena, CA; Village Recorders, Santa Monica, CA; Westlake Audio, Los Angeles, CA; Whitecoat Sound, Malibu, CA. Photographers: Mike Ruiz; Chapman Baehler; Jill Greenberg; Harper Smith; Tony Duran . When Kelly Clarkson won the first American Idol way back in 2002, there was no indication of whether the singer was a fleeting phenomenon or the start of something lasting. Ten years later, with her first compilation, Greatest Hits, Chapter 1, appearing, the answer is clear: American Idol and Kelly Clarkson wound up as institutions that had nothing to do with each other. Clarkson shrugged off the expectations of AmIdol as quickly as she could, dutifully -- and enjoyably -- hitting all her marks on her 2003 debut, Thankful, highlighted by the tossed-off Christina Aguilera co-written single "Miss Independent" and the coronation song "A Moment Like This," but she wound up nailing her defiant, casually feminist persona a year later with "Since U Been Gone," one of the great singles of the new millennium. From there, Kelly both pushed too hard (her admirably conflicted neo-goth record My December) and not enough ("Stronger," an enjoyably by-the-books 2012 single that deservedly topped the U.S. charts), but throughout it all Clarkson remarkably retained her identity, producing a body of work that was pretty much untouchable when compared to any other pop star of the new millennium. Unlike Britney Spears, who slumped in the mid-2000s and never regained her footing, Clarkson always seemed in control of her career and image; she always seemed a little more mature than the divas who immediately preceded her and those who followed her. Consequently, Greatest Hits, Chapter 1 winds up sounding like pop sounded in the new millennium: alternatingly calculated and inspired, a pop star who always seemed in control of her fate even when she aspired to be heard as bumper music in malls from sea to shining sea. Remarkably, Greatest Hits, Chapter 1 doesn't contain all of Clarkson's great songs -- surprisingly, the Katy Perry-written anthem "I Do Not Hook Up" is nowhere to be found -- but nothing here is subpar; everything serves as testimony to Kelly's considerable vocal chops and potent charisma. She can sing like no other yet feels like the girl next door, a quality that grounds her poppiest songs and helped her transcend her made-for-TV diva persona. Despite all the calculations and constructions, Kelly Clarkson was a real, human pop star and that may be why her hits, when collected together, sound not like passing fancies but a body of work, the sound of pop music in the new millennium. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine


    UPC 887254908029
    Runtime 63 min.
    Type Performer
    Genre Rock & Pop
    Label RCA Records
    Number of Discs 1
    Track Listing Disc 1
    • 1. Since U Been Gone
    • 2. My Life Would Suck Without You
    • 3. Miss Independent
    • 4. Stronger (What Doesn't Kill You)
    • 5. Behind These Hazel Eyes
    • 6. Because of You
    • 7. Never Again
    • 8. Already Gone
    • 9. Mr. Know It All
    • 10. Breakaway
    • 11. Don't You Wanna Stay - (featuring Jason Aldean)
    • 12. Walk Away
    • 13. Catch My Breath
    • 14. People Like Us
    • 15. Don't Rush
    • 16. Moment Like This, A
    • 17. I'll Be Home for Christmas [iTunes Session Version]
    Format Compact Disc
    Spars Coding n/a
    Artists Clarkson, Kelly

    Product Reviews

    5 Stars
    4 Stars
    3 Stars
    2 Stars
    1 Stars
    • Kelly

      17 beautiful songs, including her latest hit. A great talent and tremendous voice, what more is there to say?

      Read More

    Questions & Answers

    Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.
    Get your product questions answered right here.

    Shopping Guides

    Shipping & Returns


    This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

    Standard Return Policy:

    Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

    FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.


    This item cannot be shipped to Alaska or Hawaii. More details

    * For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

    ** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.