Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 20 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
cecilia christmas gift
 from Nevada,  Apr 10, 2013

she was delighted , just what she wanted because she is learning to cook American foods

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The cooking bible
 from Denver, CO,  Jan 5, 2013

This is my bible for cooking. My mother gave me a copy when I was a teenager, and I just gave one to my 20-year-old for her first apartment. Not only does this book give you recipes, it tells you all about foods. It explains basics like how to hard-boil an egg, bake a potato, and then provides all kinds of recipes. There's a section about measuring, substitutes, etc. Simply the must-have cookbook for every home.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? fine
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Best of the best
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The best staple cookbook you could own!
 from California,  Mar 28, 2012

This is the best "go to" foundational cookbook that every cook, no matter their skill level, MUST have in their kitchen!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Same as bookstore
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
PERFECT;
 from penna.,  Mar 30, 2010

RATHER LATE ON THIS REVIEW, HOWEVER, FANTASTIC PRICE FOR ONE OF THE BEST COOKBOOKS OUT THERE;

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this cookbook!
 from Washington State,  Dec 22, 2009

My husband and I received this as a wedding gift. We use it all the time!!! My brother and brother-in-law both love cooking so I decided to get them this book for Christmas. I know they will love it just as much as I have :)

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Cookbook
 from Spartanburg, SC,  Nov 29, 2009

This cookbook has it all. I like it because if you can't come up with menu ideas it has pages and pages of them inside the book.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Joy of Cooking
 from Imperial Beach, CA,  Oct 29, 2009

Although I bought this book for a friend's son, I have this version and the prior version. I feel that this cookbook is virtually the best overall source for both new cooks as well as those of us who have been at it awhile. It quite literally takes you from how to set a table, to some very intricate recipes, and everything inbetween. My mother had a (much earlier) version, and referred to it herself. The Overstock price was better than I had anticipated, and as usual, it was shipped to me promptly. This has been the case with all of my purchases from Overstock.com.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
the best
 from chicago,  Oct 8, 2009

we used this book for years of cooking... now it becomes a wedding gift for our daughter

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Must have!
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  May 13, 2009

The Joy of Cooking is a must have for cooks from beginner to advanced. This 75th edition has new recipes as well as updated versions of older recipes for the healthy life style of today. It is a great present for the graduate, bride/groom, new cook or old cook!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Joy of Cooking 75 Anniversary Edition
 from Manchester, CT,  Apr 7, 2008

This is the cooking Bible and it is a must for any kitchen. This edition has a lot of contemporary recipes of today (i.e. international recipes). Honestly, one only really needs this cookbook. I know first hand as I have many (over 100) that are just dust collectors and I will probably only use this one from now on. I used to have a Joy of Cooking cookbook that I bought 20 years ago, but it was misplaced during moving and I missed having it. This edition not only has very basic recipes that you just can't find in most cookbooks, it also has current culinary recipes using the wide range of ingredients in todays cooking. It is entertaining just to read through it and the history that goes with it. As you read it you will be very inspired to make many of the recipes, and it will be the cookbook you think of most often.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I purchased this as a wedding gift for my second cousin. His grandmother had given me THE JOY OF COOKING for my wedding gift, 23 years ago. The recipes are plentiful and delicious but I use this book for everything. My son came home from school and told me that his nutrition teacher told him that beans and rice do not make a complete protein. We looked it up in the 23 year old book and sure enough there was a section on protein and how humans need the 22 amino acids that make up protein, etc. Then my son needed to work on his Cooking Merit badge for Boy Scouts and was converting Tablespoons to Cups in order to figure out the cost of the meal he prepared. All conversions and substitutes are in there. If you don't have buttermilk and the recipe calls for buttermilk, what do you do? Put a tablespoon of lemon juice or distilled white vinegar in a measuring cup, fill the cup the rest of the way with regular milk to make a cup of "buttermilk". How would I know that?

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Joy of Cooking
 from Dayton, OH,  Feb 25, 2008

I have had the paperback version of an earlier edition of this book for a number of years, and it was due to be replaced. The timing of this release was right on. I use this cookbook quite frequently and would miss it if it weren't in my kitchen.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Joy of Cooking 75th Anniversary Edition
 from Alexandria, VA,  Feb 17, 2008

This edition brings back the personal voice of earlier editions. If you only own one cookbook, Joy of Cooking will take care of you. My only complaint is that the type/font is harder to read than the 1997 edition. Read it and cook.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
best cookbook ever
 from denver,co,  Jan 25, 2008

This book has everything! From basics to expert dishes, it's like a cooking dictionary. The recipes are easy to follow. I have made several dishes out of this book and they've all been wonderful, even though in general I'm an awful cook. Best cookbook ever!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Price!
 Jan 13, 2008

The price of this book at overstock was amazing - it retails for much more in bookstores. This is the best cookbook!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I gave it as a gift
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Jan 10, 2008

I bought this cookbook for myself several years ago, and it has been a staple in my kitchen ever since. "Joy Of Cooking" is overall the best cooking and reference book I've ever picked up! I've satisfied family and impressed dinner guests with this book's help, and also learned so much! I bought a copy for a friend of mine who claimed she didn't know how to cook - it's that complete and easy to follow.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Joy of Cooking
 from milwaukee, WI,  Aug 27, 2007

This is a book that everyone should have a copy of if you have any interest in cooking. It is a great book with unlimited reference information and a basic recipe for practically any need you may have. REALLY GREAT!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cooking up a storm
 from glendale, NY,  Aug 24, 2007

this is a great cookbook I a;ready had one since I first got marred 28 years ago now I bought one for my daughter, who does not know how to cook I'm sure this will help.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Buy
 from Oklahoma,  Jun 27, 2007

This is a classic book made better. It contains all my favorites from the earlier additions, plus dozens of new recipes that I cannot wait to try. It makes a great gift.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best All-Around Cookbook Ever
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Jan 24, 2007

If you own only one cookbook, make it the 75th Anniversary Edition of the Joy of Cooking. Informative, easy to understand, great hints, lovely paper quality and nice, easy-on-the-eyes typeface (smallish but needs to be to cram so much between its covers). It's pleasure reading for the home cook.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 20 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought