Iron Fire - Voyage of The Damned

Today: $7.58
Out of stock
ITEM# 14036873

    Enter your email address, we will notify you if it comes back in stock.


ITEM#: 14036873

Personnel: Martin Steene (vocals); Kirk Backarach (guitars); Rune Stiassny (keyboards); Fritz Wagner (drums). Audio Mixer: Jacob Hansen. Recording information: Earplug Studio; Hellfire Studio; Lundsound; Pathfinder Studio; Wizards Workshop. Photographer: Michael Caddy Sondergaard. Had Queensrche never "grown up" beyond, say, 1984, they'd probably sound like Iron Fire, and one needn't delve too deep into the Danish power metal ensemble's seventh album, Voyage of the Damned, to arrive at this assumption. Heck, if the junior high notebook-worthy cover art doesn't give away the kitty, then the sophomoric computerized dystopia depicted by "Enter Oblivion OJ-666" certainly should, as it basically reprises the 'rche's "NM 156" for the new millennium, with far less stellar results. Oh, but it doesn't end there, as ensuing numbers like "Slaughter of Souls," "Ten Years in Space," and "Dreams of the Dead Moon" carry on, pushing the futuristic outer space trip with oft-clumsy lyrics about Star Gates, speed-of-light time dilation, and dusty satellites. There's also a painfully sappy love song aimed at little green men named "The Final Odyssey," and a ten-minute "epic" in the shape of the title track, clogging up hyperspace with its bulging hubris and razor-thin imagination (Martin Steene's histrionic delivery doesn't help matters, either). Beyond this, Iron Fire, to their credit, actually put on a good show of instrumental prowess throughout this LP, and they admittedly don't commit that many more sins than your average power metal ensemble (emphasis on "average"), but suffice to say there's nothing groundbreaking or overly exciting to report when a few simplistic synth lines frequently draw the most attention to tracks like "Taken," "Leviathan," and "Realm of Madness." Actually, the fact that Voyage of the Damned's ham-fisted sci-fi metal was unveiled just days before the international geek holiday of 2-1-12, which of course celebrated Rush's original form-defining magnum op...


UPC 885470003016
Runtime 64 min.
Type Performer
Genre Heavy Metal
Label Napalm Records
Number of Discs 1
Track Listing Disc 1
  • 1. Dark Beyond, The
  • 2. Enter Oblivion OJ-666
  • 3. Taken
  • 4. Slaughter of Souls
  • 5. Leviathan
  • 6. Final Odyssey, The
  • 7. Ten Years in Space
  • 8. Voyage of the Damned
  • 9. With Different Eyes
  • 10. Dreams of the Dead Moon
  • 11. Vege to Collide
  • 12. Realm of Madness
  • 13. Warmaster of Chaos
Format Compact Disc
Spars Coding n/a
Artists Iron Fire

Product Reviews

Questions & Answers

Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.
Get your product questions answered right here.

Shopping Tips & Inspiration

Shipping & Returns

Standard Return Policy:

Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.