Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 20 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great Cookbook!
 from PA,  Nov 23, 2007

I came across this book at a bookstore, so I had the opportunity to browse through it (I always like to do that with books and cookbooks). The layout was good, and the recipes looked good, too. I was able to find it on Overstock for a hefty savings... The recipes were simple, but with plenty of variations. I like to think of myself as a pretty good cook, but I'm just starting out, and there are a lot of things I don't know the basics on. The recipes cater to both of those sides of me--deep enough for me to grow with, but covering the basics in the areas I'm clueless about. There are also a lot of explanations about things, too--the best soup recipes to use tomatoes in, when to salt veggies and when not to salt them, which kind of potatoes to use for which recipes. I'm not quite a vegetarian, but I'm thinking about it...what I know is I definitely want a more plant-based diet. I don't want plain boiled veggies all the time, or the same old salad. The author is not a vegetarian but has done extensive research...I think the book would be good for vegans, flexible vegetarians, and those who just want tasty veggie recipes. ps...I have already tried several recipes and enjoyed them thoroughly...Black Bean Soup, salad dressing (everyone loved this one).

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
WONDERFUL!
 from Nevada,  Oct 6, 2010

This was exactly the book I have been looking for! It is full of useful information and the writing is easy to understand. While I am not vegetarian, I have been looking for books that can help to eat vegetarian 3-5 days out of the week. One big fear was having to buy ingredients that I could only use once and then it would sit on the shelf until the next time I made the recipe.This book broke it down on how to do so and I can use a lot of the common every day pantry items. I feel very good about this purchase and cannot wait to get going on it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great veggies
 from Texas,  Apr 28, 2008

One need not be vegetarian to want great vegetable recipes. This is a super book! I checked it out of the library to look at, and had to have it. This was a super price. I would recommend the book to anyone who is making an effort at a healthy but fabulous food plan.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not jusT for Vegetarians!
 from Milford, CT,  May 28, 2013

This book is great! Tons of recipes when you may be looking for something different or just feel like getting away from meat and potatos for a while! Simple and easy to understand with plenty of substitute idea. Mark Bittman has some great cookbooks. I recommend his Fish cookbook as well!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High Quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
how to cook everything vegetarian
 from glen mills, pa,  Mar 30, 2013

I have 2 books by this author and I am pleased with both.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive Review
 from Pennsauken New Jersey,  Jan 2, 2012

I will keep this on hand forever. Very useful and a go to guide

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Awesome
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
HELPFUL
 from New Jersey,  Dec 1, 2011

Book is ok but I like Receipe books with lots of pictures and there were none. Otherwise alot of helpful info.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Cookbook
 from Reno, Nv,  Jul 3, 2008

The Title of this book says it all. Great ideas even if your not Vegetarian.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
vegi
 from jupiter, fl.,  May 30, 2008

great book for a non-vegetarian cooking for vegetarians, highly recommended

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I've enjoyed the recipes. Most reference variations which keeps it interesting. I'm typically intimidated in the kitchen but have found this cookbook most helpful! It's nice to have the total vegetarian option vs. pondering meat substitutions in other recipes. A great purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So Many Vegetables, So Little Time
 from Rochester, NY,  Feb 27, 2008

I've been a bit Mark Bittman fan for a while, and "How to Cook Everything Vegetarian" has all the things I like so much about him - his writing style is simple, accessible and very down to earth, and the book is really comprehensive. There aren't a lot of cookbooks out there that not only attack bravely how to make your own seitan (p.668) and have an exhaustive chapter on nothing but legumes (including a great recipe for beer-glazed black beans, p.585) but also have great tables for the use of spice mixtures (p.823) and a what's what about chiles (pp.826-827). The illustrations are clear and judiciously employed - and are hand-drawn! (a nice contrast to the overwhelming number of picture-book cookbooks that clog the shelves.) Reading through the book, you're left with the feeling that you can prepare just about anything in it and that Bittman has already made sure of that.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
How to Cook Everything, Vegetarian
 from New Orleans, LA,  Feb 26, 2008

This is a wonderful follow-up to Bittman's How to Cook Everything. It contains much information besides just recipes. I highly recommend this book.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Rapidly becoming my favoirte cookbook
 from San Francisco,  Feb 20, 2008

This is a terrific book. Good, solid and simple recipes with clearly explained techniques. As an an experienced cook, I appreciate the variations offered on most recipes; easy to "tweak." Most sections include charts of selected food and techniques to accompany them for endless variation. I eat (and cook) fish and occasionally chicken and have even used this book as a basis for dishes including those items. I've cooked from this book several times now and found the recipes delicious and inventive. Mark Bittman is an excellent teacher. Great book! I've already recommended it to several fellow cooks and purchased it as a gift.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
SO much info!
 Jan 31, 2008

This book has more recipes than I will ever be able to use!! But that I like variety!! The only thing that would make it better is pics, but still a great book!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good for the basics
 from Santa Monica, CA,  Jan 31, 2008

This book gives a good run-down on the basics of vegetables and grains, including how to pick them out at the market, wash them and prepare them in simple ways. I wouldn't look to this cookbook for fabulous recipes. Instead, it's a good resource for simple dishes. It does a great job on that.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
How to cook everything vegetarian
 from New York, NY,  Jan 14, 2008

Mark Bittman is one of the most reliable authors when it comes to cooking. You can't go wrong with any of his books. I bought this for myself and for my three adult children. We all think it is one of the best vegetarian cookbooks around. I've only tried one recipe so far for chard and it was delicious. Definitely a keeper and constant go to book!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
How to Cook Everything Vegetarian
 from Lubbock, Tx,  Jan 9, 2008

This book was a gift for a friend, who thinks it is wonderful. He was very impressed with the scope and variety of recipes & cooking techniques. Unfortunately, it arrived with a wrinkled cover and I would have sent it back if time allowed. Shipping packaging could be improved.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great cookbook
 from Jefferson City, MO,  Jan 8, 2008

Gift for daughter. She is a vegetarian & said this cookbook has a lot of helpful info to convert lots of recipes and how to plan meals. She is anxious to try the recipes. Only negative was, as this was a gift, it did not tell her who sent it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
packed w/recipies
 from manchester, ct,  Jan 3, 2008

tofu pancakes? sure! I sent it to my veg friend.. she seems to like it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
How to Cook Everything Vegetarian
 from NJ,  Dec 31, 2007

I am a Mark Bittman fan and am disappointed that this book has few inspiring recipes. His other books are much better.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 20 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links