Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 21 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Good book. Overstock good source
 from michigan,  Jun 25, 2011

This book was recommended to me. I've found overstock.com to be a grat source for books

  • Did the image onsite match the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best Sleep Book out there
 from Brighton, MI,  Nov 9, 2010

I have used this book since baby #1, and I now have 4 children. I tried Baby Wise (with baby #1), and it went against every motherly instinct I had (like "don't rock your baby to sleep", and "wake him up to feed him"). Healthy Sleep Habits is logical, common sense stuff that supports what decisions you choose to make with regard to raising your child. This is a very easy read, and also in sections by age and sections that discuss sleep problems or situations that come up that can affect sleep (like teething). I LOVE this book, and keep several copies on hand to give away as gifts for a new mom. I refer to it over and over again, when my babies reach a new stage of their sleep habits. To this day, my first child is my worst sleeper, and the following 3 have been very easy to train since going along with the advice and tips in this book.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child
 from Durham, NC,  Jun 8, 2008

Great book for first time moms, I always give this as a baby shower gift that is practical!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Life Saver
 from Surprise, AZ,  Feb 21, 2008

This book completely changed my 8 month old son. He was a somber, straight-faced little guy until I started implementing these ideas. He soon became a great sleeper, which completely changed his attitude as well. I'm now using it to prevent sleep problems in my newborn. It is not a book that straight out tells you what to do. The author is a sleep researcher so he explains the anatomy of sleep to help you better understand your own child's needs. He offers strategies for different types of children and problems. I recommend this book to all my friends that are having babies.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Informative and reassuring
 from Dallas, TX,  Feb 4, 2008

I like to describe myself as being a mommy with a balance of both "attachment parenting" and "routine" approach. When my daughter was born, I knew that I wanted to be her constant comfort, to keep her close to me often, but I also wanted to make sure that I didn't go to the extreme and ignore the needs of her body in the process! This book does an EXCELLENT job of teaching about the neurological development process of children, and how to discern their sleep needs from birth through adolescence. The approach is very common sense and reasonable, without the author trying to force a "one-size-fits-all", rigid format onto every child!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great sleep book
 from Phoenix, AZ,  Oct 25, 2007

This is our second copy of this book -- we "loaned" the first one to a friend that had a baby and never got it back. 4 years later, the advice we'd forgotten is (hopefully!) helping us with a new baby.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Helpful, but with flaws...
 from Hummelstown, PA,  Aug 29, 2007

I was so happy to get this book as a parent to a 4 month old who DOES NOT SLEEP...it had a lot of helpful information on how to help him get used to routines and about making sure he gets enough sleep, but no :magical answer" to the question of how to do I actually GET him to sleep....it was still informative and I am sure I will use it more once I have him sleeping somewhere other than my arms!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Convenience and a Great Source of Information
 from Los Angeles,  Aug 15, 2007

Several people had recommended this book to me and when I managed to run out to the bookstore between my full-time job and caring for my 4 month old, they didn't have it in stock. When I got back to the office, I looked it up on overstock. Not only did they have it, but they had it at a great price! As for the book once it arrived, it has been incredibly helpful. My daughter always slept well at night but didn't take consistent naps (and rarely slept for more than 30 minutes at a time during the day). After reading this book and using its principles, she is now a good sleeper all around and a happier baby when she is awake!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Repetative
 from GA,  Aug 1, 2007

Only down fall to this book is it is very repetative. The author could get the point across in a more concise manner.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice
 Sep 7, 2006

Helps out many unanswered questions. Not a 'mean' book. Helps you understand your babies needs.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't have kids without it!
 from Northern Virginia,  Aug 16, 2006

This book was given to us as a gift and also recommended by a half dozen or so other friends. I have a 12 month old who has always been an excellent sleeper, due in large part I believe, to this book. There have been times that I've had a momentary lapse in sanity, apparently, and deviated from my normal routine which was developed with this book. I get frustrated, not knowing what is going on with my child, re-read the appropriate chapters and go back to our normal routine. Amazingly it always works so I will NEVER deviate from the help this book offers again! Reading this book, which takes you through adolescence, is the best thing you can do for your child. Thank you Dr. Weissbluth!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Tampa, FL,  Jan 30, 2006

This book will help parents understand WHY their children need sleep as much as they do and the consequences they reap when it doesn't happen. I truly believe that alot of our children's problems might be solved if parents knew how important sleep was for their children.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Oklahoma City, OK,  Jan 30, 2006

Best baby book ever! I didn't read it until I had my third and fourth children(twins) and it saved my life. I wish I had known how much easier my life would have been if I'd had my first two on a schedule. My twins rarely get cranky because they get enough sleep.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Larchmont, NY,  Jan 30, 2006

Excellent book. Very helpful especially with newborns.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from State College PA USA,  Jan 30, 2006

Great book! I highly recommend it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Royal Oak, MI USA,  Jan 30, 2006

This book is a fabulous resource and a great help in establishing healthy sleep.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Salt Lake City, Utah, USA,  Jan 30, 2006

We have really enjoyed the information in the book. Are child is 6 weeks and he already sleeps through the night. It is awesome. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Lehi, Utah,  Jan 30, 2006

I absolutely love this book. I have finally gotten my children to sleep well using these techniques. It has all the information you will ever need to get your child to sleep better. I really like how it is broken up into age appropriate sections as well.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Washington,  Jan 30, 2006

The author really helped me to understand the importance of a healthy sleep routine. My 7 month old no longer wakes every two hours to feed. She'll sleep from 7pm to 7am with only one feeding. She is so much happier for it! I highly recommend this book.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Jackson, Mississippi,  Jan 30, 2006

Best book on the market . . . to get your baby to sleep well and sleep often!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 21 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top