Gilead (Paperback)

The Rewards Program that Pays for Itself
  • EARN 5 to 40%
    Earn 5% in Club O Rewards on every order & up to 40% on select items.
  • FREE SHIPPING Every Order, Every Day*
    No matter how big or small, your order always ships for free.
  • VIP ACCESS
    Dedicated customer service and early access to exclusive deals.
  • RISK FREE
    Club O pays for itself, or we make up the difference
Today: $11.57
ITEM# 3619607
  • Delivery Estimate

    Select a Product Option to view shipping

    • Product Alerts

      Stay in the know! Choose which alerts you’d like to receive on this product.

    Gilead (Paperback)
    CHOOSE A LIST
    • Wishlists
    • Save for Later

    Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that sti...

    Details

    ITEM#: 3619607

    Marilynne Robinson is the author of the modern classic Housekeeping--winner of the PEN/Hemingway Award--and two books of nonfiction,Mother Country (FSG, 1989) and The Death of Adam. She teaches at the University of Iowa WritersÂ’ Workshop.
    Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" (Slate). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life.
    Gilead is the winner of the 2005 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.

    Specs

    Dimensions 9.0x6.45x0.75
    ISBN 9780312424404
    Genre FICTION / Literary
    Format Paperback
    Pages 247
    Publisher Date 2006-01-10 00:00:00.0
    Publisher Picador USA
    Copyright Year 2006
    Height 8.25 in
    Wdth 5.75 in
    Thickness 0.5 in
    Unit weight 0.5 lb
    Language English
    Edition Detail Reprint
    Audience General/trade
    Authors Robinson, Marilynne

    Product Reviews

    Questions & Answers

    Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.
    Get your product questions answered right here.
    Guidelines

    Shopping Tips & Inspiration

    Shipping & Returns

    Shipping:

    This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

    Standard Return Policy:

    Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

    FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

    * For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

    ** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.