George Jones - 50 Years of Hits

This item is out of stock.

Please enter your email address, we will notify you if it comes back in stock.

No Payments & No Interest on orders over
$150 if you pay in full within 6 months.
Learn More ›

George Jones - 50 Years of Hits

Today $23.09
Item #: 3199893
    Personnel: George Jones (vocals, guitar); Melba Montgomery (vocals); Garth Brooks, Alan Jackson, Merle Haggard, Randy Travis , Tammy Wynette, Waylon Jennings. Liner Note Author: George Jones. Even the title of the three-disc George Jones collection 50 ......more

People Who Viewed This Viewed

Sponsored Links What's This?

Artist: Jones, George
Personnel: George Jones (vocals, guitar); Melba Montgomery (vocals); Garth Brooks, Alan Jackson, Merle Haggard, Randy Travis , Tammy Wynette, Waylon Jennings. Liner Note Author: George Jones. Even the title of the three-disc George Jones collection 50 YEARS OF HITS should be enough to tell you that the man being anthologized is one of the all-time giants of country music. A towering influence on all that followed him, not only in country but in rock and pop as well, Jones started out in the 1950s as a Hank Williams-influenced honky-tonk man who wasn't afraid of a little rockabilly either (the Hank influence is clearly audible on such early tracks as "Just One More"). By the '60s, he'd refined his approach, taking a bit from the jazz-inflected style of Lefty Frizzell and becoming a striking balladeer. "She Thinks I Still Care" and "Color of the Blues" stand as templates for how to sing a country ballad. For most performers, that would have been enough, but Jones never stopped turning out heart-stopping performances. This is underscored by the presence of the mid-period mind-blower "He Stopped Loving Her Today," which reaches a superhuman level of pathos, and latter-day tracks such as the unstintingly bleak "The Cold Hard Truth," as well as the high-spirited, good-humored "Beer Run (B Double E Double Are You In?)." In case future generations want to know what country music was all about back in the 20th century, there should be a copy of 50 YEARS OF HITS placed in a time capsule.
See Also:
The Essential George Jones: The Spirit of Country, Cup of Loneliness: The Classic Mercury Years, The Best of George Jones (1955-1967), Memories of Us/The Battle, Anniversary: Ten Years of Hits, The George Jones Sings the Great Songs of Leon Payne, The Hits...Then 'Til Now, A Picture of Me (Without You)/Nothing Ever Hurt Me (Half as Bad as Losing You), I Am What I Am
See Influences:
Hank Williams, Roy Acuff, Little Jimmy Dickens, Bob Wills, Ernest Tubb, Tex Ritter, Woody Guthrie, Bill Monroe, Eddy Arnold, Lefty Frizzell, The Carter Family, Floyd Tillman, Leon Payne, Jimmie Rodgers (Country), Ferlin Husky, Hank Snow, Chet Atkins
See Contemporaries:
Ernest Tubb, Dwight Yoakam, Tennessee Ernie Ford, Charley Pride, Mickey Gilley, Johnny Paycheck, Johnny Horton, Ray Price, Gene Pitney, Webb Pierce, Harlan Howard, Stonewall Jackson, Tibby Edwards, Clint Black, Gene Watson, Bobby Bare, Conway Twitty, Willie Nelson, Elvis Presley, Carl Butler, Hank Locklin, Vern Gosdin, The Big Bopper, Dolly Parton, Roger Miller (Country), The Jones Boys (Country), Merle Haggard, David Houston, Porter Wagoner, Faron Young, Buck Owens, Jerry Lee Lewis, Johnny Cash, Little Jimmy Dickens, Hank Thompson, Moe Bandy, Randy Travis (Country), Melba Montgomery, Carl Perkins (Rockabilly), Carl Smith, Patsy Cline, Kitty Wells, Leon Payne, Floyd Cramer, Stoney Edwards, Johnny Preston, Elvis Costello, Wynn Stewart, Loretta Lynn, Sleepy LaBeef, Jimmy Dean, Jim Reeves, Charlie Rich
Track Listing:
Disc 1:
  1. 1 Why Baby Why
  2. 2 Just One More
  3. 3 Tall Tall Trees
  4. 4 Color of the Blues
  5. 5 White Lightning
  6. 6 Window Up Above
  7. 7 Tender Years
  8. 8 She Thinks I Still Care
  9. 9 You Comb Her Hair
  10. 10 Race Is On, The
  11. 11 We Must Have Been Out of Our Minds
  12. 12 Still Doin' Time
  13. 13 Walk Through This World With Me
  14. 14 She's Mine
  15. 15 I'll Share My World With You
  16. 16 Good Year for the Roses, A
  17. 17 Take Me
Disc 2:
  1. 1 Picture of Me, A (Without You)
  2. 2 Once You've Had the Best
  3. 3 Grand Tour, The
  4. 4 These Days I Barely Get By
  5. 5 Her Name Is...
  6. 6 Near You
  7. 7 Bartender's Blues
  8. 8 Night Life
  9. 9 He Stopped Loving Her Today
  10. 10 Yesterday's Wine
  11. 11 Same Ole Me
  12. 12 I Always Get Lucky With You
  13. 13 She's My Rock
  14. 14 Who's Gonna Fill Their Shoes
  15. 15 One I Loved Back Then, The (The Corvette Song)
  16. 16 Right Left Hand, The
  17. 17 Radio Lover
Disc 3:
  1. 1 I'm a One Woman Man
  2. 2 Few Ole Country Boys, A
  3. 3 You Couldn't Get the Picture
  4. 4 Finally Friday
  5. 5 I Don't Need Your Rockin' Chair
  6. 6 High-Tech Redneck
  7. 7 One
  8. 8 I Must Have Done Something Bad
  9. 9 When Did You Stop Loving Me
  10. 10 Wild Irish Rose
  11. 11 Choices
  12. 12 Cold Hard Truth, The
  13. 13 Beer Run (B Double E Double Are You In?)
  14. 14 50,000 Names
  15. 15 I Got Everything
  16. 16 Amazing Grace
Welk Music Group
Pappy Daily; Billy Sherrill; Norro Wilson; Buddy Cannon; Kyle Lehning; Emory Gordy, Jr.; Keith Stegall; Brian Ahern; Pappy Daily
Number of Discs:
Compact Disc
Studio or Live:
Mono or Stereo:
SPARS Coding:
150 : 5
Editorial Reviews:
Entertainment Weekly (p.93) - "Strict chronology allows for fun realizations..." - Grade: A
Was this product information helpful?
Thank you for your feedback.
Thank you. Your feedback will help us create the best experience for our customers.

There are currently no product reviews for this product.

Be the first to write a review values your opinion. Please take a moment and share what you like or don't like about a product.

Product Q&A

Ask a Question

Be the first to ask a question about this product.
Standard Return Policy:

Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More details

FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

* For your safety, some orders go through our loss prevention department. If we select your order for this process, we will immediately notify you that there may be up to a 3-day delay on your order.

** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.

Buy Now with Bitcoin Learn More