Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated

George Duke - The Essential George Duke

Select an option before changing warranty
Today: $14.24
Free Shipping*

Club O Gold Members Earn

$0.71 | 5% Rewards*




2% Rewards

Keep shopping on Overstock

Exclusive Offers

Straight to your inbox

5% Dining Rewards

Get paid to go out tonight



5% Rewards

Earn even faster

Exclusive Offers

Straight to your inbox

5% Dining Rewards

Get paid to go out tonight

Free Shipping

Never pay extra

Exclusive Rewards

Save big-- up to 40%

ITEM# 10223014
  • Delivery Estimate

    Select a Product Option to view shipping

    • Product Alerts

      Stay in the know! Choose which alerts you’d like to receive on this product.

    Love this item?

    Save it to a list so you can find it anytime!


    something went wrong.

    Please refresh the page and try again.


    ITEM#: 10223014

    Personnel: George Duke (vocals, keyboards, synthesizer); Stanley Clarke (vocals, bass guitar); Sheila Escovedo (vocals, percussion); Josie James, Lynn Davis , Milton Nascimento, Napoleon Murphy Brock (vocals); Charles Icarus Johnson (guitar); Byron Miller (bass guitar); Leon "Ndugu" Chancler, Ricky Lawson (drums). First the confusion: The date on the back of this set is 2004, but it's only being issued in 2006. This is one of those mysteries of the recording industry. Okay: the music. The Essential George Duke is a double-disc, 31-track set documenting George Duke's years with Epic between 1977 and 1984 that netted an astonishing 11 albums, and the third Stanley Clarke/Duke project disc recorded in 1990. These were the years that Duke -- never a jazz purist anyway -- decided to take a tough swing at the R&B charts. He succeeded. The heyday of disco certainly had its appeal for Duke, but so did funk and urban soul. This was also the period when he enjoyed chart success in the States with the classic funk jam "Reach for It," from the album of the same name, and "Dukey Stick" -- both tracks deeply influenced, if not outright extrapolated from George Clinton's P-Funk sound -- complete with inflated bass, party backing vocals, loose dialogue thrown in, and the obligatory "take it to the bridge." But what the hell, these tunes sound as fine now as they did then! They've aged well. Most of the material here has. Duke is a master musician, and despite the many players who have come through his bands, the core -- Sheila E., Byron Miller, Ricky Lawson, Ndugu Leon Chancler, Charles Johnson, Lynn Davis, Josie James, Napoleon "Napi" Brocks -- never let him down in the studio. Wise editing decisions allow the listener to hear multiple cuts from albums like Don't Let Go, Follow the Rainbow, A Brazilian Love Affair, both Clarke/Duke project discs, (and one from the third), Rendezvous, and Guardian of the Light. Only the title track is here for "Reach for It," but it's the right one. The bonus material is a bit dodgy but still fun, and includes the 12" versions of "Dukey Stick," and "Reach for It." Jazz fans who abandoned Duke during these years will find little to interest them, but those out there searching used record stores for classic funk and disco recordings will find this a treasure trove of tough, slick grooves. Recommended. ~ Thom Jurek


    UPC 099751619128
    Runtime 79 min.
    Type Performer
    Genre R&B
    Sub Genre Funk
    Label Columbia Records
    Producer George Duke; Guyon Da Silva Solis (Compilation)
    Number of Discs 2
    Track Listing Disc 1
    • 1. Scuse Me Miss
    • 2. Reach For It
    • 3. Starting Again
    • 4. Dukey Stick
    • 5. Movin' On
    • 6. Party Down
    • 7. Say That You Will
    • 8. Funkin' For the Thrill
    • 9. Summer Breezin'
    • 10. Cravo E Canela
    • 11. Up From the Sea It Arose and Ate Rio in One Swift Bite
    • 12. U
    • 13. Brazilian Love Affair
    • 14. Every Little Step I Take
    • 15. I Want You For Myself
    • 16. Sweet Baby
    • 17. I Just Want to Love You
    • 18. You
    Disc 2
    • 1. Shine On
    • 2. Ride on Love
    • 3. Son of Reach For It
    • 4. Every Reason to Smile
    • 5. Heroes
    • 6. Good Times, The
    • 7. Overture
    • 8. Reach Out
    • 9. Give Me Your Love
    • 10. Silly Fightin'
    • 11. Got to Get Back to Love
    • 12. She Can Wait Forever
    • 13. Secret Rendezvous
    • 14. Mothership Connection
    • 15. Dukey Stick - (12" special disco version)
    • 16. Reach Out - (12")
    Format Compact Disc
    Spars Coding n/a
    Artists Duke, George
    Dimensions 5.4x4.8x0.4
    Country of Origin United States

    Product Reviews

    Questions & Answers

    Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.

    Shopping Tips & Inspiration

    Shipping & Returns

    This product is not yet released, and is expected to ship on Mar. 28, 2006.

    This date is subject to change. In order to assure you receive's low price on this item, your credit card will be charged upon order placement. The item will ship immediately upon release.


    This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

    Standard Return Policy:

    Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

    FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

    For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

    ** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.