Elvis Presley - From Elvis In Memphis

Select an option before changing warranty
The Rewards Program that Pays for Itself
  • EARN 5 to 40%
    Earn 5% in Club O Rewards on every order & up to 40% on select items.
  • FREE SHIPPING Every Order, Every Day*
    No matter how big or small, your order always ships for free.
    Dedicated customer service and early access to exclusive deals.
    Club O pays for itself, or we make up the difference
Today: $15.09
ITEM# 12099765
  • Delivery Estimate

    Select a Product Option to view shipping

    • Product Alerts

      Stay in the know! Choose which alerts you’d like to receive on this product.

    Elvis Presley - From Elvis In Memphis
    • Wishlists
    • Save for Later

    Personnel: Elvis Presley (vocals, guitar, piano); Reggie Young (guitar); John Hughey (steel guitar); The Memphis Horns (horns); Bobby Wood (piano); Bobby Emmons (organ); Ed Hollis (harmonica); Mike Leech, Tom Cogbill (bass); Gene Chrisman (drums); Mary...


    ITEM#: 12099765

    Personnel: Elvis Presley (vocals, guitar, piano); Reggie Young (guitar); John Hughey (steel guitar); The Memphis Horns (horns); Bobby Wood (piano); Bobby Emmons (organ); Ed Hollis (harmonica); Mike Leech, Tom Cogbill (bass); Gene Chrisman (drums); Mary Greene, Donna Thatcher, Susan Pilkington, Sonja Montgomery, Mildred Kirkham, Dolores Edgin, Joe Babcock, Hurschel Wiginton (background vocals). Recorded at American Studios, Memphis, Tennessee in January & February 1969. Includes liner notes by Peter Guralnick, Colin Escott. Personnel: Elvis Presley (guitar, piano); Reggie Young (guitar, sitar); John Hughey (steel guitar); Ed Kollis (harmonica); Jackie Thomas (saxophone, trombone); Andrew Lowe , Glen Spreen, J.P. Luper (saxophone); R.F. Taylor, Dick Steff, Wayne Jackson (trumpet); Tony Cason (French horn); Gerald Richardson , Ed Logan, Jack Hale (trombone); Bobby Wood (piano); Bobby Emmons (organ); Gene Chrisman (drums). Liner Note Author: Tara McAdams. Recording information: 01/13/1969-02/22/1969. One month after Elvis' 1968 Comeback Special aired on national television, Presley made the most artistically successful recordings of his later career. In January and February of 1969, he held sessions at American Studios in Memphis. Presley was reportedly worried that his recording career was finished, that he had been displaced by newcomers such as the Beatles. Perhaps goaded on by this perception, Presley reached new heights during the American sessions. The material he chose was impassioned, gritty, and bluesy, the complete opposite of the movie songs he had sung for most of the previous decade. A slight case of laryngitis actually improved his performances, lending his voice an appropriate roughness. Many of the best recordings from these sessions appear on FROM ELVIS IN MEMPHIS, including the hit "In the Ghetto." FROM ELVIS IN MEMPHIS demonstrates how thoroughly Presley could remake a song to suit his talents, especially on the country standards "Long Black Limousine" and "I'll Hold You In My Heart," which he transforms into R&B screamers. This is intense, heartfelt, adult music, much like the blues Presley loved as a kid on Beale Street.


    UPC 886975149728
    Runtime 113 min.
    Type Performer
    Genre Oldies
    Sub Genre Rock 'N' Roll
    Label RCA Records
    Number of Discs 2
    Track Listing Disc 1
    • 1. Wearin' That Loved on Look
    • 2. Only the Strong Survive
    • 3. I'll Hold You in My Heart (Till I Can Hold You in My Arms)
    • 4. Long Black Limousine
    • 5. It Keeps Right on A-Hurtin'
    • 6. I'm Movin' On
    • 7. Power of My Love
    • 8. Gentle on My Mind
    • 9. After Loving You
    • 10. True Love Travels on a Gravel Road
    • 11. Any Day Now
    • 12. In the Ghetto
    • 13. I'll Be There
    • 14. Hey Jude
    • 15. If I'm a Fool (For Loving You)
    • 16. Who Am I?
    Disc 2
    • 1. Inherit the Wind
    • 2. This Is the Story
    • 3. Stranger in My Own Home Town
    • 4. Little Bit of Green, A
    • 5. And the Grass Won't Pay No Mind
    • 6. Do You Know Who I Am?
    • 7. From a Jack to a King
    • 8. Fair's Moving On, The
    • 9. You'll Think of Me
    • 10. Without Love (There Is Nothing)
    • 11. In the Ghetto
    • 12. Any Day Now
    • 13. Fair's Moving On, The
    • 14. Suspicious Minds
    • 15. You'll Think of Me
    • 16. Don't Cry Daddy
    • 17. Rubberneckin'
    • 18. Kentucky Rain
    • 19. My Little Friend
    • 20. Mama Liked the Roses
    Format Compact Disc
    Spars Coding n/a
    Artists Presley, Elvis

    Product Reviews

    Questions & Answers

    Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.
    Get your product questions answered right here.

    Shopping Tips & Inspiration

    Shipping & Returns


    This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

    Standard Return Policy:

    Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

    FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.


    This item cannot be shipped to Alaska or Hawaii. More details

    * For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

    ** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.