Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-16 of 16 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

 from Vail,CO,  Jan 30, 2006

Great book, very informative and well, seemingly very well researched. I have tried just about everything on the planet from diets to pills to patches to ridiculous workouts and this has been the answer to my problems. I feel better, I've lost 14 lbs in just 5 weeks. I think I've found my solution!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Eat Right For Your Type
 from Patrick Springs, VA,  Jul 16, 2008

I have had a copy of this book for several years and my husband and I both try to follow the diet. At least we try to not eat foods that are on our avoid lists. The recent copy I purchased was for my daughter. I'm hoping she will give it a try. I was bothered with a skin rash on my legs that I couldn't get rid of. I had a biopsy and was diagnosed with Granuloma annulare. My dermatologist said my immune system was "out of whack." After reading in this book that a lectin in chicken attacks my immune system, I quit eating chicken, the rash disappeared, and has not returned. The book is very interesting and does make sense when you think about it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Scottsdale, AZ USA,  Jan 30, 2006

Fascinating reading, really is well substantiated. Easy to read and follow. I gave it as a gift..and it is a gift.. a gift of health!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Eat Right 4 Your Type
 from Knoxville, TN,  Jul 10, 2013

The description of the book was right on and I found this to be a very interesting concept...to eat foods that are benefical to my blood type. Great read, the author has a good sense of humor. I look forward to transitioning to my new eating habits and hope for better health!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Book.
 from Fort Worth, TX,  Sep 24, 2011

I had been working out for 3 years and running on the treadmill as well...just basically maintaining my weight. I started reading this book knowing my blood type...and it works. With the continued exercise, but diet changes based upon this book, I lost over 40 pounds in 5 months. Realize that the weigh loss seems to occur in steps, but I went from around 245-250 lbs. down to a very consistent 205. My cholesterol is down to 125, triglycerides, 27, etc., etc. etc. This not only brings down your weight, but makes you healthier on the inside. I haven't been "sick" in almost a year and even my seasonal allergies seem to be lighter than before. I recommended to a friend and work who's a body builder at 189 lbs. and he still lost 10 lbs. in 2 weeks. No kidding.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? It was exact.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It was adequately detailed.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. In great condition.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Eat Right for Your Type
 from Sedona,  Sep 22, 2011

I have been under allergists for 30+ years due to a variety of problems. Recently I was tested via a new blood test that was recommended by my allergist since it covered much more than the standard allergy test. As a result I found that I was eating a lot of foods that were not right for me and changed my diet. About six months later I picked up this book at a library sale and looked at type O recommendations. They matched what my very expensive blood test results indicated. Recently I visited my allergist and shared my experience, that this book aligned with the blood test and she agreed with the book. I wish I had known 50 years ago what this book indicates, my health would have improved at a much younger age but I find that even though I am in my seventies my physical reaction to an appropriate diet showed dramatic improvement and a much improved energy level. I purchased a number of these books and gave them to my descendants who all have sensitive systems.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Eat Right 4 Your Type
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Aug 28, 2011

Very informative. Very easy read. Simple understanding language.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Very Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Unsure?
 from Lawrenceville, GA,  May 31, 2011

Well, I found the concept of the diet interesting, but I can't say I 100% agree with Dr D'Adamo. Everyone needs a balanced diet, but the book basically says that due to what your blood type is your diet should be (vegetarian, vegan, carnivorous, etc). I agreed with some of his points that made sense, like your body being able to better when you consume unrefined foods , but others like your personality is correlated with blood type is non-sense. For example: my blood type is A+, he says that type A's are paranoid and cannot deal with pressure, and essential crack under pressure. That is absolutely untrue for me, because everybody marvels at how I deal with stressful situations. I logically handle situations, and I am most definitely not paranoid.

  • Did the image onsite match the product? Yes
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Waste of money, a complete scam.
 from San Francisco,  Oct 19, 2009

According to a notion dreamed up by naturopath James D'Adamo, one's diet should be determined by one's blood type. Like many quacks before him, D'Adamo appealed to intuition for his brainstorm ("over the years, he recognized that each of the 4 blood types thrived on certain foods and physical activities") and anecdotes rather than controlled studies to support the validity of his ideas. His son, also a naturopath, Peter J. D'Adamo (about whom the rest of this entry is about) is a fruitcake that did not fall far from the tree. He has written several books, and travels the world promoting the blood type diet.There is no reasonable scientific basis for the claim that blood type should determine one's diet, though Peter claims to have collected "over 1,000 scientific articles on blood types and their correlations to disease, biochemistry, nutrition, and anthropology."* Even so, he's never done a controlled study on blood type diets. Yet, he claims that blood type determines body chemistry to such an extent that those with type A blood should go vegetarian and meditate, those with type O should eliminate grains and do aerobics. He suggest similar nonsense for types B and AB.According to Michael Klaper, M.D.,D'Adamo hangs much of his theory on the action of lectins, proteins found on the surface of certain foods that can cause various molecules and some types of cells to stick together. He blames lectins for serious disruptions throughout the body, from agglutination of the blood cells to cirrhosis and kidney failure....Since most people are unaware of their blood types, let alone what foods are "evolutionarily inappropriate" for them to eat, it is reasonable to assume that on most days most people eat the "wrong foods" for their blood type (e.g., Type O eating wheat, Type A eating meat, etc.). Thus, according to D'Adamo's theory, most everyone experiences repeated showers of agglutinated red cells throughout their bloodstream after most every meal - day after day, month after month, year after year. If the capillary beds in your heart, lungs, kidneys, brain, eyes, and other essential organs are subjected to barrage after barrage of agglutinated red cells, they will eventually begin to clog up. These micro-areas of diminished blood flow would at first cause scattered, then more concentrated areas of tissue damage - with eventually many micro-infarctions scattered throughout these vital structures. The brain, heart, lungs, kidneys and adrenals would soon be irreparably damaged by these processes, resulting in potentially fatal outcomes in millions of people.Such a syndrome of organ failures due to lectin-induced micro-infarctions of the brain, heart, kidneys, retinas, and adrenals would be well known to pathologists and other medical scientists. It would not be a subtle disease. In the pathology texts, there would be clear descriptions - complete with photographs taken through high-power, optical microscopes as well as electron microscopes - of damage from lectin deposits and blood agglutination in most major organ systems. The existence and intricacies of such a widespread disease would be as common knowledge among physicians and cell scientists as atherosclerosis is today. Yet, I am aware of no such descriptions in the pathologic literature. No pathologist I know has ever mentioned tissue infarction from lectin-induced red cell agglutination as a cause of any disease in humans.Peter D'Adamo's reasoning is based on speculative inferences from such facts as that type O is the oldest blood type. From this fact, D'Adamo reasons that people with type O blood should eat the kind of diet the earliest humans ate: one rich in fat and protein."Group A is the second oldest blood group, appearing around 25,000 - 15,000 B.C., when larger human settlements first appeared as farming developed."* From this fact, D'Adamo infers that people with type A blood should eat their veggies.Group B "emerged between 15,000 and 10,000 B.C. as tribes migrated from Africa to Europe, Asia and the Americas and mingled with other populations."* So, concludes D'Adamo, people with type B blood should eat a "balanced diet."Blood type has little to do with digestion or body chemistry. If you have blood group A, then you've got A antigens covering your red cells and anti-B in your plasma. Antigens are substances that evoke an immune response. Since people in blood group B have B antigens and carry anti-A in their plasma, type A blood should not be given to those in Group B, and vice versa. (Group O has neither antigen and group AB has some of each.) Furthermore, about 85% of us, regardless of blood type, carry the Rh antigen, while about 15% are Rh negative. About 90 to 95 percent of African Americans and 98 to 99 percent of Asians are Rh-positive.* Also, since pathologist Karl Landsteiner identified the four blood groups early in the twentieth century, 276 discrete red-cell antigens have been discovered.*Maybe D'Adamo should have 276 discrete diets, one each for A+ and A-, B+ and B-, and so on.On the other hand, as Edward Blonz notes in his review of D'Adamo's Eat Right 4 Your Type:Blood type is not totally benign. For many years, scientists wondered why type O's were more likely than other blood types to develop stomach ulcers or stomach cancer. In 1993, scientists found that ulcers were caused by helicobacter pylori, a bacterium which had a special affinity for one of the unique type O proteins. A geneticist at Oxford University who checked for other significant associations between the ABO blood types and the incidence of disease, reported that there were only seven; the relationships were often weak; and most, like ulcers, originated somewhere along the digestive tract. If the ABO blood type was that much of a key, as D'Adamo posits, these relationships would be strong and plentiful.*Dr. Victor Herbert, a hematologist who studied blood and nutrition at New York's Mt. Sinai Medical Center before his death, once said of the theory linking blood type and diet that it is "pure horse manure. It has no relation to reality. The genes for blood type have nothing to do with the genes that handle the food we eat."*D'Adamo is not alone in this quackery about blood type, however. Obstetrician-Gynecologist Steven M. Weissberg, M.D., and Joseph Christiano, a personal fitness trainer, have co-authored The Answer is in Your Bloodtype: Research Linking Your Blood Type to Life Span, Love and Compatibility, Your Likely Illness Profile, Diet and Exercise for Maximum Life (1996). This pair claims that "You are what you eat, but you should "EAT WHAT YOU ARE.'' This means each of us should eat the optimal diet compatible with our blood type."* They have many anecdotes to support their beliefs.Since the diets developed by Peter are not intrinsically harmful in general, it would be surprising if he couldn't find many satisfied customers willing to testify on his behalf. All he has to do is ignore all the cases he didn't help with his diets to make his case seem stronger than it really is. Even a broken clock is correct twice a day.Some of Peter D'Adamo's dietary advice could be harmful, however. As Dr. Klaper notes: "despite widespread knowledge that many non-Caucasians are intolerant of dairy products due to the normal disappearance of lactase enzymes in their intestinal cells, D'Adamo recommends that 'Type B's of Asian descent may need to incorporate them (dairy products) more slowly into their diets as they adjust their systems to them.'" Lactase-deficient readers who follow this advice are likely to end up with "severe bouts of abdominal cramps and diarrhea."Not content with limiting his pseudoscientific advice to matters of nutrition, D'Adamo claims that blood type affects personality and character. He offers what Dr. Klaper calls "blood type astrology."In the book [Eat Right for Your Type], he tells flesh-eating Type O's that they have a "genetic memory of strength, endurance, self-reliance, daring, intuition, and innate optimism...", "the epitome of focus, drive...", "hardy and strong, fueled by a high protein diet" (is he describing a Type O "master race"?), while he paints the "more vegetarian" Type A as submissive tofu eaters, "biologically predisposed to heart disease, cancer and diabetes" (p. 97). He labels Type A's with personalities "...poorly suited for the intense, high-pressured leadership positions at which Type O's excel," (p.142), stating that, in pressure situations, people with Type A blood "tend to unravel" and "become anxious and paranoid, taking everything personally." Finally, on page 143, he saddles the group with the dark image of Adolph Hitler, "...a mutated Type A personality." D'Adamo's system seems to create a "blood type astrology" ("What's your type? O Positive? knew it! So am I!") that imposes strange, limiting stereotypes on very complex human beings.*Many people will no doubt swear by the blood type diet. For example, a vegetarian who eats a lot of wheat may find that D'Adamo's diet recommendations relieved her digestive problems and a host of other ailments. She may attribute her former problems to eating the wrong diet for a type O. However, many people with type O blood are vegetarians or eat wheat without having any digestive problems. On the other hand, some people have gluten intolerance and some have colitis. Their doctors probably advise them not to eat wheat, regardless of blood type.It could be worse. In Japan, blood type is used like a horoscope.further readingbookRaso, Jack. Mystical Diets : Paranormal, Spiritual, and Occult Nutrition Practices (Consumer Health Library) (Amherst, NY: Prometheus Books, 1993).websitesThe 'Blood Type Diet:' Fact or Fiction? by Michael Klaper, M.D.Edward Blonz, Ph.D. Book review of Eat Right 4 Your Type (1996) by Peter J. D'Adamo

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A must read
 from St. Charles/St. Louis, MO,  Jan 22, 2008

This is the first book about dieting that actually makes a whole lot of sense. This book explains how foods react with each of the 4 different blood types. If nothing else has worked for you, then you need to read this book.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Eat Right for Your Type
 from Houston, TX,  Oct 24, 2007

I was already familiar with the book and wanted my own copy and a copy to give as a gift. The service I received from Overstock was excellent and I will make a purchase again

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This Book is a Life Saviour!
 from Washington, State,  Aug 11, 2007

This book is great , it has helped me allot with my long journey to get rid of major mercury Poisoning! Along with my doctor this book is a must!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Eat Right for Your Blood Type
 from San Fernando Valley, CA,  Apr 7, 2007

Good general insight into the type of food compatible with each blood type. Paperback is easier to read and review than tapes.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Out of date
 Apr 2, 2007

This is an out of date 1996 version of Dr. J. D'Adamo's excellent work . I have had to make at least 100corrections on the diet charts from his website. It was very time consuming I would rate this version three stars.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lifestyle change
 from Cleveland Ohio,  Sep 20, 2006

I recommend this book to anyone serious about loosing weight and keeping it off. This book is not a diet it's a lifestyle change.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from State College, PA/ USA,  Jan 30, 2006

Very fast delivery. Great price. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-16 of 16 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top