Dream Theater - Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence
Save for Later
Want to know when you'll get it? Go

What is “Estimated Delivery Date?”

This is an approximate delivery date and is not a guarantee. Delivery estimates are available only for select items to be delivered in the contiguous United States, excluding APO/FPO addresses and PO boxes. Your final shipping cost will be available at checkout.

OverstockTM Store Credit Card

6 or 12 Month Special
Financing Available
No Payments & No Interest on orders over
$150 if you pay in full within 6 months.
Learn More ›
No Payments & No Interest on orders over
$150 if you pay in full within 6 months.
Learn More ›

Dream Theater - Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence

Overall Rating Rating 5  |  1 reviews  |  Write a review
Today $15.89
Item #: 2517164
    Dream Theater: James LaBrie (vocals); John Petrucci (guitar, background vocals); Jordan Rudess (keyboards); John Myung (bass); Mike Portnoy (drums, percussion, background vocals). Additional personnel: Howard Portnoy (percussion). Recorded at Bear Trac......more

People Who Viewed This Viewed

Sponsored Links What's This?

Artist: Dream Theater
Dream Theater: James LaBrie (vocals); John Petrucci (guitar, background vocals); Jordan Rudess (keyboards); John Myung (bass); Mike Portnoy (drums, percussion, background vocals). Additional personnel: Howard Portnoy (percussion). Recorded at Bear Tracks Studios and Little Bear Studios, Suffern, New York between March & August 2001. On this, Dream Theater's seventh studio effort, the heavier elements of the band's music come to the forefront. Although the masterful balance of rhythmic interplay, jazzy arrangement, and catchy melodies is ever-present on this two-disc offering, the strong, crunchy guitar sound and powerhouse percussion are pushed more into prominence, helped along by the crystal clear production of drummer Mike Portnoy and guitarist John Petrucci. The first disc is comprised of five tracks, averaging about 10 minutes each and the second disc is a 42-minute opus complete with overture and finale. The length of the songs, rather than being a hindrance, allows for both a sense of completeness and an improvisational element to the tracks, making them fun to listen to. The virtuoso skills of each instrumentalist are shown in running keyboard lines, pounding bass lines, and finger-twisting guitar solos. This mastery is expressed even more through the control heard in the slow, moving moments, especially the disc one closer "Disappear." Vocalist James Labrie solidifies his status as one of progressive metal's finest voices, hammering home strong, mid-range vocal lines with comfort and feeling. Definitely a worthy listening experience.
See Also:
Metropolis, Pt. 2: Scenes from a Memory, Images and Words, Awake
See Influences:
U.K., Yngwie Malmsteen, Jethro Tull, Deep Purple (Rock), King Crimson, Metallica, Boston, Kansas, Styx, Steve Morse, GTR, Marillion, Asia (Rock), Queensryche, Black Sabbath, Yes, Emerson, Lake & Palmer, Megadeth, Rush, Tempest, Genesis (U.K. Band), Frank Zappa, Ozzy Osbourne, Pink Floyd, Queen, Triumph, Dio, Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, Led Zeppelin, Rainbow
See Contemporaries:
Echolyn, Platypus, Galactic Cowboys, Enchant, Cairo, Blind Guardian, It Bites, Big Wreck, Dali's Dilemma, Explorers Club (Prog), Shadow Gallery, Planet X, Helloween, Vinnie Moore, Annihilator, Liquid Tension Experiment, Jason Becker, Cacophony, Crimson Glory, Joe Satriani, Dokken, Bozzio Levin Stevens, Gary Moore, The Lonely Bears, Sebastian Bach, Angra, Mr. Big, Apocalyptica, Winger, Magellan, Savatage, Racer X, Royal Hunt, Marty Friedman, Porcupine Tree, Jens Johansson, Spock's Beard, Voivod, Opeth, Tony MacAlpine, Richie Kotzen, Neal Morse, Ice Age, King's X, Fates Warning, Victor (Group), Kyuss, Steve Vai, Niacin, Death Angel, Watchtower, Saxon, Europe, Saga
Track Listing:
Disc 1:
  1. 1 The Glass Prison: Reflection / Restoration / Revelation
  2. 2 Blind Faith
  3. 3 Misunderstood
  4. 4 Great Debate, The
  5. 5 Disappear
Disc 2:
  1. 1 Overture
  2. 2 About to Crash
  3. 3 War Inside My Head
  4. 4 Test That Stumped Them All, The
  5. 5 Goodnight Kiss
  6. 6 Solitary Shell
  7. 7 About to Crash (Reprise)
  8. 8 Losing Time/Grand Finale
Rock & Pop
Hard Rock
Elektra Records
Mike Portnoy; John Petrucci
Number of Discs:
Compact Disc
Studio or Live:
Mono or Stereo:
SPARS Coding:
96 : 17
Editorial Reviews:
Entertainment Weekly (2/8/02, pp.74-5) - "...Their most grandiose creation ever....True prog nirvana..." - Rating: B
Was this product information helpful?
Thank you for your feedback.
Thank you. Your feedback will help us create the best experience for our customers.

Showing most helpful review on this product.

  • 5 Stars 1
  • 4 Stars 0
  • 3 Stars 0
  • 2 Stars 0
  • 1 Stars 0
View All Most Helpful Reviews

Product Q&A

Ask a Question

Be the first to ask a question about this product.

This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

Standard Return Policy:

Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More details

FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.


This item cannot be shipped to Alaska or Hawaii.
More details

* For your safety, some orders go through our loss prevention department. If we select your order for this process, we will immediately notify you that there may be up to a 3-day delay on your order.

** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.

Buy Now with Bitcoin Learn More