Doc Watson - Vanguard Years
Save for Later
Want to know when you'll get it? Go

What is “Estimated Delivery Date?”

This is an approximate delivery date and is not a guarantee. Delivery estimates are available only for select items to be delivered in the contiguous United States, excluding APO/FPO addresses and PO boxes. Your final shipping cost will be available at checkout.

OverstockTM MasterCard®

Enjoy a $20 bonus after the first use, plus a 0% intro APR*.
No Payments & No Interest on orders over
$150 if you pay in full within 6 months.
Learn More ›
No Payments & No Interest on orders over
$150 if you pay in full within 6 months.
Learn More ›

Doc Watson - Vanguard Years

Today $30.97
1% off - Amazon $31.28
Item #: 2659075
Moderate Sellout Risk
    Personnel includes: Arthel "Doc" Watson (guitar, harmonica); Merle Watson, Merle Travis, Chet Atkins (guitar); Clarence Ashley, Arnold Watson, Gaither Carlton, Clarence White, Don Stover, Clint Howard, Fred Price. Compilation producer: Mary Katherine A......more

People Who Viewed This Viewed

Sponsored Links What's This?

Artist: Watson, Doc
Personnel includes: Arthel "Doc" Watson (guitar, harmonica); Merle Watson, Merle Travis, Chet Atkins (guitar); Clarence Ashley, Arnold Watson, Gaither Carlton, Clarence White, Don Stover, Clint Howard, Fred Price. Compilation producer: Mary Katherine Aldin. Recorded between 1963 and 1971. Includes liner notes by Mary Katherine Aldin. THE VANGUARD YEARS collects tracks from Doc Watson's tenure at Vanguard Records as well as previously unreleased live performances with his son, Merle Watson, and Merle Travis. Newcomers to the music of Doc Watson may want to wet their feet with the single-disc overview THE ESSENTIAL DOC WATSON, but THE VANGUARD YEARS, a four-disc box set that documents the singer/guitarist through the 1960s and early '70s, is the definitive Watson collection. Watson's Vanguard recordings, with their emphasis on straightforward simplicity (Watson's singing style is direct and unaffected, and he often performs unaccompanied), epitomize the down-home folk sound. The simplicity can be deceptive, however. Watson is a virtuoso flat-picker, and his skills as an arranger and interpreter, not to mention his flair for imbuing a melody with warmth and charm, are unmatched. The material here, collected from various studio sessions and his appearances at the Newport Folk Festival, emphasizes ballads, blues, and rags, along with treatments of songs by Roy Acuff and Dock Boggs. But Watson's real specialty is adapting traditional tunes, and his versions of "Omie Wise" and "I Am a Pilgrim" rank among the best committed to tape. Disc Four features 17 previously unreleased live recordings, including six duets with country legend Merle Travis, and 11 duets with Watson's son Merle. At 64 songs, this is a comprehensive, wonderfully assembled collection of this folk icon's best material.
See Also:
Home Again!, The Essential Doc Watson, The Vanguard Years, Original Folkways Recordings: 1960-1962, Doc Watson
See Influences:
Charlie Poole, The Carter Family, The Stanley Brothers, Leadbelly, The Delmore Brothers, Jimmie Rodgers (Country), Chet Atkins, Osborne Brothers, Rev. Gary Davis, The Blue Sky Boys, Mississippi John Hurt, Uncle Dave Macon, The Louvin Brothers, Merle Travis, Flatt & Scruggs
See Contemporaries:
John Hartford, Hank Garland, Charlie Monroe, Scott Nygaard, Peggy Seeger, The New Lost City Ramblers, Bill Monroe, Jean Ritchie, The Weavers, California, Marvin Gaster, Mississippi John Hurt, Ewan MacColl, Tony Rice, Dorsey M. Dixon, Tom Ashley, Chet Atkins, Mike Seeger, Pete Seeger (Folk Singer), Norman Blake, Joe Maphis, Russ Barenberg, Roger Sprung, Mac Wiseman, Merle Travis, Ramblin' Jack Elliott
Track Listing:
Disc 1:
  1. 1 Rambling Hobo
  2. 2 Train That Carried My Girl From Town
  3. 3 Coo Coo, The
  4. 4 Reuben's Train
  5. 5 Hicks' Farewell
  6. 6 Grandfather's Clock
  7. 7 Beaumont Rag
  8. 8 Farewell Blues
  9. 9 Footprints in the Snow
  10. 10 Intoxicated Rat
  11. 11 Talk About Suffering
  12. 12 Omie Wise
  13. 13 Country Blues
  14. 14 Black Mountain Rag
  15. 15 Doc's Guitar
  16. 16 Deep River Blues
Disc 2:
  1. 1 Muskrat
  2. 2 Dream of the Miner's Child
  3. 3 Rising Sun Blues
  4. 4 Otto Wood the Bandit
  5. 5 Little Sadie
  6. 6 Windy and Warm
  7. 7 Tennessee Stud
  8. 8 Blue Railroad Train
  9. 9 Down in the Valley to Pray
  10. 10 Dill Pickle Rag
  11. 11 F.F.V., The
  12. 12 Childhood Play
  13. 13 Streamline Cannonball
  14. 14 Old Camp Meeting Time
  15. 15 I'm Thinking Tonight of My Blue Eyes
  16. 16 Girl in the Blue Velvet Band, The
Disc 3:
  1. 1 New River Train
  2. 2 Rank Stranger
  3. 3 Corrina Corrina
  4. 4 What Does the Deep Sea Say
  5. 5 There's More Pretty Girls Than One
  6. 6 Way Downtown
  7. 7 Brown's Ferry Blues
  8. 8 Spike Driver Blues
  9. 9 Roll on Buddy
  10. 10 I Am a Pilgrim
  11. 11 Wabash Cannonball
  12. 12 Roll in My Sweet Baby's Arms
  13. 13 Lawson Family Murder, The
  14. 14 Cuckoo, The
  15. 15 Alabama Bound
Disc 4:
  1. 1 Bye Bye Bluebells - (previously unreleased)
  2. 2 Kinfolks in Carolina - (previously unreleased)
  3. 3 San Antonio Rose - (previously unreleased)
  4. 4 Blow Your Whistle Freight Train - (previously unreleased)
  5. 5 Cannonball Rag - (previously unreleased)
  6. 6 I Am a Pilgrim - (previously unreleased)
  7. 7 Arrangement Blues - (previously unreleased)
  8. 8 I Got a Pig at Home in the Pen - (previously unreleased)
  9. 9 My Rough and Rowdy Ways - (previously unreleased)
  10. 10 Deep River Blues - (previously unreleased)
  11. 11 Banks of the Ohio - (previously unreleased)
  12. 12 A-Roving on a Winter's Night - (previously unreleased)
  13. 13 Southbound - (previously unreleased)
  14. 14 Memphis Blues - (previously unreleased)
  15. 15 Salt Creek / Bill Cheatham - (previously unreleased)
  16. 16 Brown's Ferry Blues - (previously unreleased)
  17. 17 Windy and Warm - (previously unreleased)
Boxed Set
Vanguard Records
Number of Discs:
Compact Disc
Studio or Live:
Mono or Stereo:
SPARS Coding:
175 : 0
Guest Artist:
Clarence Ashley; Merle Travis; Merle Watkins; Chet Atkins
Editorial Reviews:
Dirty Linen (5-6/96, pp.55-57) - "...recorded the first 16 years' worth of albums that he made. The very best of these historic recordings are gathered together in this magnificent four-CD boxed set..."
Was this product information helpful?
Yes No
Thank you for your feedback.
Thank you. Your feedback will help us create the best experience for our customers.

There are currently no product reviews for this product.

Be the first to write a review values your opinion. Please take a moment and share what you like or don't like about a product.

Product Q&A

Ask a Question

Be the first to ask a question about this product.

This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

Standard Return Policy:

Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More details

FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

* For your safety, some orders go through our loss prevention department. If we select your order for this process, we will immediately notify you that there may be up to a 3-day delay on your order.

** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.

Buy Now with Bitcoin Learn More