Django Reinhardt - Django With His American Friends
Save for Later
Want to know when you'll get it? Go

What is “Estimated Delivery Date?”

This is an approximate delivery date and is not a guarantee. Delivery estimates are available only for select items to be delivered in the contiguous United States, excluding APO/FPO addresses and PO boxes. Your final shipping cost will be available at checkout. MasterCard®

$20 bonus after first use & 0% Intro APR*
No Payments & No Interest on orders over
$150 if you pay in full within 6 months.
Learn More ›

Django Reinhardt - Django With His American Friends

Today $17.20
1% off - Amazon $17.37
Item #: 2693584
Very High Sellout Risk
    Personnel includes: Django Reinhardt (guitar); Freddy Taylor (vocals); Benny Carter (alto saxophone, trumpet); Frank "Big Boy" Goudie (tenor saxophone, trumpet, clarinet); Coleman Hawkins (tenor saxophone); Bill Coleman, Arthur Briggs (trumpet); Dicky ......more
Sponsored Links What's This?

Artist: Reinhardt, Django
Personnel includes: Django Reinhardt (guitar); Freddy Taylor (vocals); Benny Carter (alto saxophone, trumpet); Frank "Big Boy" Goudie (tenor saxophone, trumpet, clarinet); Coleman Hawkins (tenor saxophone); Bill Coleman, Arthur Briggs (trumpet); Dicky Wells (trombone); Rex Stewart, Barney Bigard (clarinet); Larry Adler (harmonica); Stephane Grappelli (violin, piano); Eddie South (violin); Garnet Clark (piano). All tracks originally produced by Hugues Panassie and Charles Delaunay. Digitally remastered by Alan Silverman at ARF Productions, New York, New York utililizing Weiss 32-bit floating point digital filtering and dynamic processing. The brilliant gypsy swing guitarist Django Reinhardt is most famous for his work with the Quintet of the Hot Club of France, an all-string group also including violinist Stephane Grappelli, two rhythm guitarists, and a bassist. However, through the years he also had opportunities to record with American stars. In some cases, they were added to a Quintet date, and in others, he was part of an all-star group. This three-CD set, released in 1998, has 57 performances; all but the final four numbers are from 1935-1940, with quite a few cut in 1937. The value of this wonderful set to collectors depends on how much Django Reinhardt they already have in their collections, as every performance has been reissued in the past. For those listeners who do not own many of these sessions, the selections are essential, since Reinhardt and his guests are consistently inspired by each other's presence. Among the American stars who are featured along with Reinhardt (and frequently Grappelli) are Coleman Hawkins, Frank "Big Boy" Goudie, Bill Coleman, Freddy Taylor, Benny Carter, Dicky Wells, Eddie South, Larry Adler, Rex Stewart, Barney Bigard, and Arthur Briggs. The selections are fortunately in chronological order, and each of the 17 recording sessions is reissued in complete form. An extremely well done reissue. ~ Scott Yanow
See Also:
Peche a la Mouche, Swing de Paris [Box Set], Djangology, Brussels and Paris, In Solitaire: Complete Recordings for Solo Guitar, Crazy Rhythm, Swing 47, Swing from Paris [ASV/Living Era]
See Influences:
Eddie Lang, Charlie Christian, Louis Armstrong
See Contemporaries:
Stephane Grappelli, Joe Venuti, B.B. King, Carl Kress, Stuff Smith, Larry Adler, Fats Waller, George Barnes, Bix Beiderbecke, Coleman Hawkins, Bireli Lagrene, Marty Grosz, Freddie Green, Martial Solal, Benny Carter (Sax), Count Basie, Frankie Trumbauer, Alix Combelle, Eddie Lang, Al Casey (Swing), Tiny Grimes, Lonnie Johnson, Philip Catherine
Track Listing:
Disc 1:
  1. 1 Avalon
  2. 2 Blue Moon
  3. 3 What a Difference a Day Made
  4. 4 Stardust
  5. 5 St. Louis Blues
  6. 6 Rosetta
  7. 7 Stardust
  8. 8 Object of My Affection, The
  9. 9 After You've Gone
  10. 10 I'se a Muggin'
  11. 11 Georgia on My Mind
  12. 12 Honeysuckle Rose
  13. 13 Crazy Rhythm
  14. 14 Out of Nowhere
  15. 15 Sweet Georgia Brown
  16. 16 Bugle Call Rag
  17. 17 Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea
  18. 18 I Got Rhythm
  19. 19 Sweet Sue-Just You
Disc 2:
  1. 1 Hangin' Around Boudon
  2. 2 Japanese Sandman
  3. 3 Eddie's Blues
  4. 4 Sweet Georgia Brown
  5. 5 Lady Be Good
  6. 6 Dinah
  7. 7 Daphne
  8. 8 I Ain't Got Nobody
  9. 9 Baby Won't You Please Come Home
  10. 10 Baby Won't You Please Come Home - (alternate take)
  11. 11 Big Boy Blues
  12. 12 Bill Coleman Blues
  13. 13 Swing Guitars
  14. 14 Somebody Loves Me
  15. 15 I Can't Believe That You're in Love With Me
  16. 16 Swing Interpretation of the 1st Movement of Concerto For 2 Violins in D Minor
  17. 17 Fiddle Blues
  18. 18 Improvisations on the 1st Movement of Concerto For 2 Violins in D Minor
Disc 3:
  1. 1 I'm Coming, Virginia
  2. 2 Farewell Blues
  3. 3 Blue Light Blues
  4. 4 Body and Soul
  5. 5 Lover Come Back to Me
  6. 6 My Melancholy Baby
  7. 7 I Got Rhythm
  8. 8 Montmartre (Django's Jump)
  9. 9 Low Cotton
  10. 10 Finesse
  11. 11 Sheik of Araby, The
  12. 12 I Know That You Know Me
  13. 13 Solid Old Man
  14. 14 My Melancholy Baby
  15. 15 Scatterbrain
  16. 16 Sometime's I'm Happy - (previously unreleased)
  17. 17 Djangology
  18. 18 Swing Guitars
  19. 19 Manoir de Mes Reves
  20. 20 Are You in the Mood
Boxed Set
Jazz Instrument
DRG Records
Number of Discs:
Compact Disc
Studio or Live:
Mono or Stereo:
SPARS Coding:
167 : 30
Guest Artist:
Coleman Hawkins; Bill Coleman; Dicky Wells; Eddie South; Benny Carter; Larry Adler; Rex Stewart; Arthur Briggs
Was this product information helpful?
Yes No
Thank you for your feedback.
Thank you. Your feedback will help us create the best experience for our customers.

There are currently no product reviews for this product.

Be the first to write a review values your opinion. Please take a moment and share what you like or don't like about a product.

Product Q&A

Ask a Question

Be the first to ask a question about this product.

This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

Standard Return Policy:

Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More details

FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

* For your safety, some orders go through our loss prevention department. If we select your order for this process, we will immediately notify you that there may be up to a 3-day delay on your order.

** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.

Buy Now with Bitcoin Learn More