Devin Project Townsend - Epicloud

Select an option before changing warranty
The Rewards Program that Pays for Itself
  • EARN 5 to 40%
    Earn 5% in Club O Rewards on every order & up to 40% on select items.
  • FREE SHIPPING Every Order, Every Day*
    No matter how big or small, your order always ships for free.
    Dedicated customer service and early access to exclusive deals.
    Club O pays for itself, or we make up the difference
Today: $15.28
ITEM# 14489677
  • Delivery Estimate

    Select a Product Option to view shipping

    • Product Alerts

      Stay in the know! Choose which alerts you’d like to receive on this product.

    Devin Project Townsend - Epicloud
    • Wishlists
    • Save for Later

    Personnel: Dave Young (vocals, guitar, mandolin, keyboards); Devin Townsend (vocals, guitar, synthesizer); Mike St. Jean, Jean Savoie, Brian Waddell, Tyler Thorne, Munesh Sami, Anneke van Giersbergen (vocals); Graham Ord (saxophone, trumpet); Ryan Van ...


    ITEM#: 14489677

    Personnel: Dave Young (vocals, guitar, mandolin, keyboards); Devin Townsend (vocals, guitar, synthesizer); Mike St. Jean, Jean Savoie, Brian Waddell, Tyler Thorne, Munesh Sami, Anneke van Giersbergen (vocals); Graham Ord (saxophone, trumpet); Ryan Van Poederooyen (drums). Audio Mixers: Devin Townsend; Paul Silveira. Liner Note Author: Devin Townsend. Recording information: Kingdom Studio, Perth, Australia; Strait Sound Studio; The Armoury Studios. Photographer: Tom Hawkins. About the only thing that one can count on from Devin Townsend is not to count on anything at all. His career has continually subverted all previous expectations. Epicloud is the fifth release by the Devin Townsend Project. The previous four -- Ki, Addicted, Deconstruction, and Ghost -- were thematically linked. For fans who wondered where he'd go next, Epicloud was perhaps the least likely direction. It is the most unabashedly mainstream and "pop"-oriented recording of his career thus far. While it doesn't sound like any individual release from DTP's previous quartet, it does have elements of all of them woven throughout these 13 songs. The big news is that Anneke van Giersbergen is ever present here, reprising the role she played on Addicted. She is not only Townsend's foil here, but a shining standout -- she is certainly not a backing vocalist. Given the polish in production here, and the enormous weight the vocals in this mix carry, Townsend needed to be at the top of his game. He is. Speaking of production, given the emphasis on vocals, its very stripped-down compared to other records in his large catalog. The set kicks off with their multi-tracked voices on the brief gospel choir-styled intro, "Effervescent!" Heaviness and hooks alternate in "True North," with van Giersbergen in full duet with Townsend. The tune has a simple enough hook, but its thundering guitars and its knotty bridge offer a nice twist. The single "Lucky Animals" is driven by a catchy metal riff, but given the multiple vocal layers, it almost feels like Queen getting edgy. "Liberation" has an anthemic chorus line crossed with whizzing synths, manic drumming, and Townsend and Dave Young's guitars on stun. Ms. van Giersbergen's vocals take it to an entirely different level musically; her level of self-expression throughout the record, but particularly here, is remarkable. The re-recorded version of "Kingdom" (which originally appeared on Physicist) is stripped of its massive instrumental production touches. There are still massive guitars, synths, and tom-toms wailing and crunching, but they deliberately serve the transcendent vocals. The best example of this is on the fist-pumping anthem "Hold On." Ultimately, Epicloud was recorded to be accessible to a wide range of listeners, and as such, it succeeds in spades. It's not particularly adventurous, but it is a hell of a lot of fun. If half of what passes for mainstream rock was nearly as interesting or satisfying, radio would be worth listening to again. ~ Thom Jurek


    UPC 885417060386
    Runtime 97 min.
    Type Performer
    Genre Heavy Metal
    Sub Genre Pop Metal
    Label Inside Out Music
    Producer Devin Townsend
    Number of Discs 2
    Track Listing Disc 1
    • 1. Effervescent!
    • 2. True North
    • 3. Lucky Animals
    • 4. Liberation
    • 5. Where We Belong
    • 6. Save Our Now
    • 7. Kingdom
    • 8. Divine
    • 9. Grace
    • 10. More!
    • 11. Lessons
    • 12. Hold On
    • 13. Angel
    Disc 2
    • 1. Believe
    • 2. Happy Birthday
    • 3. Quietus
    • 4. Heatwave
    • 5. Love Tonight
    • 6. Mind Wasp, The
    • 7. Woah No!
    • 8. Love and Marriage
    • 9. Socialization
    • 10. Little Pig
    Format Compact Disc
    Spars Coding n/a
    Artists Townsend, Devin Project

    Product Reviews

    Questions & Answers

    Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.
    Get your product questions answered right here.

    Shopping Tips & Inspiration

    Shipping & Returns


    This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

    Standard Return Policy:

    Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

    FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

    * For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

    ** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.