Daryl Hall - Essential Daryl Hall & John Oates
Save for Later
Want to know when you'll get it? Go

What is “Estimated Delivery Date?”

This is an approximate delivery date and is not a guarantee. Delivery estimates are available only for select items to be delivered in the contiguous United States, excluding APO/FPO addresses and PO boxes. Your final shipping cost will be available at checkout.

Overstock.com MasterCard®

$20 bonus after first use & 0% Intro APR*
No Payments & No Interest on orders over
$150 if you pay in full within 6 months.
Learn More ›

Daryl Hall - Essential Daryl Hall & John Oates

Today $14.85
Item #: 3613311
    Daryl Hall & John Oates: Daryl Hall, John Oates. Photographers: Eliot Lewis; David Gahr. Arrangers: Daryl Hall; Christopher Bond; John Oates. RCA/Arista/Legacy's 2005 release The Essential Daryl Hall & John Oates is a repackaging of BMG Heritage's exce......more
Sponsored Links What's This?

Artist: Hall, Daryl
Daryl Hall & John Oates: Daryl Hall, John Oates. Photographers: Eliot Lewis; David Gahr. Arrangers: Daryl Hall; Christopher Bond; John Oates. RCA/Arista/Legacy's 2005 release The Essential Daryl Hall & John Oates is a repackaging of BMG Heritage's excellent 2004 compilation Ultimate Daryl Hall + John Oates. Spanning two discs and 37 tracks, the set contains all 18 songs from 2001's The Very Best of Daryl Hall & John Oates, which was a single-disc, 18-track collection that contained all of the duo's big hits from the '70s and '80s (three tracks were in alternate single mixes on that collection; they're presented in their original album mixes here), along with "She's Gone" (absent on The Very Best) and two other Atlantic tracks from the early '70s, selections from their Arista recordings of the late '80s and early '90s, as well as cuts from 1997's Marigold Sky and 2003's excellent comeback single, "Do It for Love." While there are still plenty of great album tracks, particularly from the Atlantic years, that would have been welcome additions, that's something only the hardcore fans who already have all the albums will quibble about. For the less dedicated listener, all that matters is that there are no major hits missing on The Essential Daryl Hall & John Oates (there are a couple of low-charting singles from the late '70s that have been left behind, but their absence isn't notable) and that the remastered sound is very good, making this an ideal compilation for fans looking for a thorough, career-spanning collection of hits. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
See Also:
Abandoned Luncheonette, Private Eyes, The Very Best of Daryl Hall & John Oates, H2O, The Essential Daryl Hall & John Oates, Voices, Ultimate Daryl Hall + John Oates
See Influences:
Simon & Garfunkel, The Temptations (R&B), The Four Tops, Marvin Gaye, Rod Stewart, Sam & Dave, Roxy Music, The Chi-Lites, The Spinners (US), Otis Redding, Todd Rundgren, Billy Paul, The Dramatics, Harold Melvin, Al Green (Vocals), The Righteous Brothers, The Delfonics, The Beatles, Sam Cooke
See Contemporaries:
The Police, George Michael, Kenny Loggins, Survivor, Boz Scaggs, Kokomo, Billy Joel, Air Supply, Simply Red, Phil Collins, Rod Stewart, Elton John, Chicago, Ashford & Simpson, Huey Lewis, The Doobie Brothers, Asia (Rock), Paul Carrack, America, The Walker Brothers, Wham!, Toto, Huey Lewis & the News, Peaches & Herb, Carole King, Culture Club, Sheena Easton, The Style Council, Little River Band, Paul Young, David Ruffin, Robert Palmer, Rick Springfield, Eddie Kendricks
Track Listing:
Disc 1:
  1. 1 She's Gone
  2. 2 Vegas Turnaround, Las (The Stewardess Song)
  3. 3 When the Morning Comes
  4. 4 Camellia
  5. 5 Sara Smile
  6. 6 Do What You Want, Be What You Are
  7. 7 Rich Girl
  8. 8 Back Together Again
  9. 9 It's a Laugh
  10. 10 I Don't Wanna Lose You
  11. 11 Wait for Me
  12. 12 How Does It Feel to Be Back
  13. 13 You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin'
  14. 14 Kiss on My List
  15. 15 You Make My Dreams
  16. 16 Everytime You Go Away
  17. 17 Private Eyes
  18. 18 I Can't Go for That (No Can Do)
  19. 19 Did It in a Minute
  20. 20 Your Imagination
Disc 2:
  1. 1 Maneater
  2. 2 One on One
  3. 3 Family Man
  4. 4 Say It Isn't So
  5. 5 Adult Education
  6. 6 Out of Touch
  7. 7 Method of Modern Love
  8. 8 Some Things Are Better Left Unsaid
  9. 9 Possession Obsession
  10. 10 Everything Your Heart Desires
  11. 11 Missed Opportunity
  12. 12 Downtown Life
  13. 13 So Close
  14. 14 Don't Hold Back Your Love
  15. 15 Starting All Over Again
  16. 16 Promise Ain't Enough
  17. 17 Do It for Love
RCA Records
Daryl Hall; Arif Mardin; Christopher Bond; John Oates; Neil Kernon; Bob Clearmountain; T-Bone Wolk; Arthur Baker; Kenny Gioia; S
Number of Discs:
Compact Disc
Studio or Live:
Mono or Stereo:
SPARS Coding:
156 : 0
Was this product information helpful?
Yes No
Thank you for your feedback.
Thank you. Your feedback will help us create the best experience for our customers.

There are currently no product reviews for this product.

Be the first to write a review

Overstock.com values your opinion. Please take a moment and share what you like or don't like about a product.

Product Q&A

Ask a Question

Be the first to ask a question about this product.

This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

Standard Return Policy:

Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More details

FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.


This item cannot be shipped to Alaska or Hawaii.
More details

* For your safety, some orders go through our loss prevention department. If we select your order for this process, we will immediately notify you that there may be up to a 3-day delay on your order.

** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.

Buy Now with Bitcoin Learn More