Dan Fogelberg - Triple Feature: Dan Frogelberg

Today: $10.77
Out of stock
ITEM# 12477542

    Enter your email address, we will notify you if it comes back in stock.


ITEM#: 12477542

The Triple Feature series by Sony Legacy compiles three -- usually well-known -- catalog albums by big-name artists, assembles them in a slipcase box, and sells them at a budget price to consumers. While the reason may be simply a new package in order to clear shelves of excess inventory, this exercise also serves a purpose for collectors and fans filling in holes for a favorite artist. Singer/songwriter Dan Fogelberg's volume in this series is among the few to contain three chronologically released recordings; they also happen to be his first three full-lengths, starting with Home Free which was issued in 1972. While the album didn't hit the charts, it did nonetheless make his sound familiar to other musicians. One who was impressed was post-James Gang bandleader Joe Walsh, who produced 1974's Souvenirs. This album included hit singles such as the Top 20-placing "Part of the Plan," the moody "Song from Half Mountain," and of course, "As the Raven Flies." This was the recording that garnered him the attention of college students nationwide and landed his music all over the newly powerful hitmaking machinery of commercial FM radio. In 1975, Fogelberg released the largely solo LP Captured Angel and its single, "Comes and Goes." Ironically more stripped-down than either of its predecessors, this recording foreshadows the more studied arrangements and lushly orchestrated compositions that would become his trademark through the rest of the '70s and into the '80s when he enjoyed a string of hits. These three albums, along with 1977's follow-up smash Nether Lands, established Fogelberg's long-lasting reputation as a hitmaker and an artist of reflection and soft-spoken phrases, who combined songwriting craft with the country-rock and folk of the era. For the curious, this set is an excellent introduction to his best work. ~ Thom Jurek


UPC 886975979820
Runtime 127 min.
Type Performer
Genre Rock & Pop
Sub Genre Singer/Songwriter
Producer Joe Walsh
Number of Discs 3
Track Listing Disc 1
  • 1. To the Morning
  • 2. Stars
  • 3. More Than Ever
  • 4. Be On Your Way
  • 5. Hickory Grove
  • 6. Long Way Home (Live in the Country)
  • 7. Looking for a Lady
  • 8. Anyway I Love You
  • 9. Wysteria
  • 10. River, The
Disc 2
  • 1. Part of the Plan
  • 2. Illinois
  • 3. Changing Horses
  • 4. Better Change
  • 5. Souvenirs
  • 6. Long Way, The
  • 7. As the Raven Flies
  • 8. Song From Half Mountain
  • 9. Morning Sky
  • 10. Someone's Been Telling You Stories
  • 11. There's a Place in the World for a Gambler
Disc 3
  • 1. Aspen/These Days
  • 2. Comes and Goes
  • 3. Captured Angel
  • 4. Old Tennessee
  • 5. Next Time
  • 6. Man in the Mirror/Below the Surface
  • 7. Crow
  • 8. Last Nail, The
Format Compact Disc
Spars Coding n/a
Artists Fogelberg, Dan

Product Reviews

Questions & Answers

Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.
Get your product questions answered right here.

Shopping Tips & Inspiration

Shipping & Returns

Standard Return Policy:

Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.