For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Centennial
 from Milwaukee, WI,  Nov 6, 2012

We have not finished watching this movie. Not sure is we will. It sounded great but we are finding the movie dry and the acting terrible. That does not mean it is a bad movie. People have different tastes.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good mini-series!
 from Okc,Ok,  Oct 2, 2012

Excellent cast of actors, stays relatively true to original book.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
James Michener's "Centennial"
 from Leon, IA,  Feb 25, 2012

This is a wonderful telling of a small slice of the "development" of the American wilderness from the late 18th Century to the late 20th Century, researched and written by one of the great American novelists of the 20th Century, James Michener. The story speaks from both the side of the Native American people who hunted, fished and used the land respectfully and the side of the Europeans who came, some who tried to learn from the natives but most who brought their own ways and lived as close to them as they could, in an astonishing lack of humility for the land and the peoples who had lived on it for thousands of years. This is not for someone with a short attention span, but is absorbing for anyone with a love of history well told. Recommended by the National Education Assn.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as pictured.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The set contains all six discs of the original mini-series, plus featurettes.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality was perfect. The color was true, it was uncut from the version I watched in 1980 on TV.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent
 from Bloomington, IN,  Nov 13, 2011

The discs and case are in mint condition. What more can you ask for?

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 100% Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive
 from Montgomery, Al,  Oct 13, 2011

Recievedon time and in good condition. Good service from seller.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great addition to any video library!!
 from Wilmington, NC,  Aug 2, 2011

Centennial has long been one of my favorite productions of any kind, so I finally purchased my own copy rather than borrowing my library's copy at least once a year. This miniseries is terrific as you can tell from all the other positive reviews on the internet and Overstock.com was even faster than promised in delivering my copy. Thanks, James Michener and thanks, O.co!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as pictured.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect description and great reviews by other customers.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Top notch dvd set!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Centennial
 from wv,  Oct 22, 2010

Arrived fast and (so far) discs playback in Xcellent quality.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
centennial dvd
 from Detroit, MIchigan,  Aug 19, 2010

Boxed set arrived in very good condition and was shipped raidly. I had seen this TV serie many years ago and it was still as good - as long as you enjoy James Mitchener's style. Not as good as the book itself, but that's normal in most if not all cases. Very satisfied with purchase

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Centennial
 Jun 18, 2010

Wonderful story of American History for the entire family to enjoy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Outstanding!
 from Rochester, NY,  Nov 30, 2009

If you have never seen this made for television series, you owe it to yourself, and your family, to partake on a wonderfully written, acted and filmed fictional story of American history. It is extremely enjoyable and worth every penny to own!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Centennial
 from Tucson, az,  May 23, 2009

Gave as gift, they were very happy to see this out on DVD

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Centennial (DVD)
 from Glendale, AZ,  Sep 18, 2008

I can remember watching this mini series when it came out. This is a very good DVD, nothing is left out from the orignal series. This is a entertaining way to learn history, granted it isn't totally true to what really happened, but definitely worth having and watching.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Centennial
 from El Paso, TX,  Aug 19, 2008

Outstanding !!! Compares well with the book which is one of the best I've ever read.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Loved this mini series
 from Rockville, MD,  Jul 28, 2008

Loved this mini series when it was on TV years ago. So happy to fine that it is now on DVD! If you love US history you will love this. I still remember most of the parts and I saw it 20 or so years ago. A must see!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top