Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 79 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
overwhelmingly disapointing
 from poughkeepsie, ny,  Aug 3, 2008

Upon finishing this novel, I felt an overwhelming sense of letdown. For the past weeks, I had been working tirelessly to plan a release party for this book, and was rewarded with the number of teens that showed up to eagerly await the Twilight Saga's conclusion with me. I only hope that they got some gratification out of the thing they had been waiting for. The novel's three books-- Book 2 being told from Jacob's perspective-- give a refreshing break to Bella's immature, one-track mind. Book 1 is an abomination to every opinion I had formed about about the previous books. Not only does Meyer recap way more than necessary-- a little recap in any sequel is inevitable, but this was just downright ridiculous-- but her retelling of events that took place before the actual time frame of the novel is weakly amateur. The sequencing is off (for instance, the conversation with the Cullens about the immortal children should have been made evident to Bella AFTER she had begun having the increasingly haunting dreams about a child)and everything is told with a strange, glossed-over humor that makes you yearn for the more raw accounts presented in Twilight, New Moon, and Eclipse. Bella-- I say Bella because the reader is at this point experiencing everything from her perspective--seems numb everything as Meyer strictly writes by what she is doing, instead of what she is feeling; making for poor writing especially in the first person. And then comes the big slap in the face, after everything set up in the previous novels goes by without a hitch or a blip on the emotional radar. Bella's pregnancy-- wrong on so many levels, what with her emotional immaturity and lack of matronly sense-- causes the high school romance teens adored and coveted to take on an official, adult aura. How could this happen? Bella, the clumsy, quirky new kid in town, and Edward, the seventeen-year old, strikingly handsome heartthrob, are now PARENTS? Not only does this cause teens to cringe-- I should know, I am one-- but it kills the romance for anybody who does not understand what it is like to have a child, myself included. One would presume that Meyer, knowing most of her fan base was made up of teenagers, would steer clear of this route for Edward and Bella. After this maddening plot twist, we find our selves in Jacob's shoes for the commencement of Book 2. Strangely enough, I was irritated enough with the way that Bella's life was going to enjoy Jacob's strong, angsty take on life, and it was, as I mentioned earlier, quite refreshing to see the situation from someone else's point of view. Humor is reintroduced through clever dialogue, and Meyer seems to get her groove back as she navigates out of provacitive territory, which was clearly uncomfortable for her. However, after Jacob's all-too-predictable-and-really-quite-creepy imprinting episode, we land right back into Bella's shoes. Book 3 is a slight improvement over Book 1, the main irritant only being Bella's ridiculous selection of the name "Renesmee" for her child. As a reader, I can honestly say that it was extremely difficult to care at all for the fate of the child. She monopolizes Bella's affections (Where's Edward? Hello, that's what we came here for...) and is the root of a big misunderstanding, of course involving the Volturi. The facts remain that Renesmee was introduced too late into the Saga for the audience to understand Bella's attachment, not after her central focus in life had been Edward for so long. Speaking of Edward, how does he feel about his daughter and Jacob's relationship? Why don't we see a paternal side to him? Who knows. As for Bella's newly acquired "newborn vampire" status, everything works out perfectly fine, she is of course able to resist human blood because of her amazing self control and can shield herself and her family on top of everything! How maddeningly, predictably, ridiculously, fantastically convenient for her. And then the dramatic, tension-filled conclusion... where nothing actually happens except for a whole lot of talking and predictable self-realizations. The epic, anticipated confrontation with the Volturi takes on the demeanor of a court trial and everybody the audience cares about walks away without a scratch. From the moment I finished Twilight, it was easy enough to perceive that the following books would revolve around Bella and Edward's relationship, and how they would make things work with their supernatural differences. The real threats to their happiness presented in New Moon and Eclipse seemed like they would be the central focus of Breaking Dawn. Everything, from Bella's becoming a vampire to Jacob's attachment to Bella to how Charlie would react, was far to conveniently sewn up, with the added bonus of a baby thrown in for fun. All I can say is that this is the only Twilight book I will not be rereading, and I wish Stephenie Meyer better literary success with whatever projects she chooses to pursue.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bummer
 from L.A. Ca,  Aug 4, 2008

The story line was to complicated and there wasnt enough drama. Tha characters were not themselves and the ending was a dissapointment. I expected better.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great!
 from Daytona Beach, FL,  Jul 18, 2008

I have been waiting for this book forever! I was overjoyed to find that I could pre-order Breaking Dawn. Then to find it at the price Overstock.com offed it, well, that cheaper than any of the book store i have around me! The Cheapest I had found it was $17.99. I am thrilled! I guess I'll send another review for the book it's self after I read it....

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My favorite
 from Bolingbrook, IL,  Dec 10, 2013

This is my favorite book of the Twilight series. Although I do enjoy the entire series.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
book
 from Springfield, oh,  Sep 1, 2012

great shipping time. Item was exactly as promised.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Breaking Dawn, The Twilight Saga Book 4
 from Jacksonville, Florida,  Aug 16, 2011

The book was great and an easy read. If you like this type of book you will definitly enjoy this series. They are very long books, but don't get too wordy and definitly make you feel like you know the people.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Came in pristine condition
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I love this book
 from california,  Aug 11, 2010

I am a big fan of this saga. I received the book last week end. It took like 2 weeks to have it grrrrrr but it's in good condition. I hope that the writer will publish 5th book of this saga.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great
 from Dover, Fl,  Jul 21, 2010

I was very excited to receive this book. The price was awsome and i got it in the mail rather fast. I can't wait to order again!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
We need more stars
 from gainesville,florida,  Jul 12, 2010

I LOVE LOVE LOE TWILIGHT I saw everymovie so faar and i loved them the shipping is super duper opper fast but if u dont love or like twilight u arent a person the book and shipping needs 1,000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000google stars

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Breaking Dawn
 Mar 4, 2010

GREAT book, fast delivery, super excited to buy from overstock again in the future!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent!!
 from Maricopa, AZ,  Feb 3, 2010

Great book! Arrived in about three days and I finished reading in about two. Once you pick it up you won't want to put it down!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Breaking Dawn, The Twilight Saga
 from los angeles,  Feb 2, 2010

Amazing book in an amazing series of books. This is a beautiful love story. You become close to the characters and their families. It's an adventure right up to the last chapter.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
fast shipping
 from tn,  Jan 22, 2010

This book arrived in about 2 days max...of course i finished it in about the same time, great book! thanks overstock.com!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
breaking dawm
 from va,  Jan 6, 2010

I love this book. I am so glad I found it on overstock. love the price and always love the shipping price thanks overstock

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Breaking Dawn
 from Milford, NH,  Jan 4, 2010

I am always happy to see a new releases on Overstock. Even after you consider shipping charges my cost was less at Overstock.As far as entertainment value goes this book was a let down. The first 3 books were more engrossing. The book has a weak storyline that ends with the happy ever after syndrome.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
WOW
 from York, PA,  Dec 31, 2009

All of the Twilight Saga is 100% amazing! Its a book that makes you not care about anything but finding out whats gonna happen next the house could have been burning down around me and I would have stumbled out the house with all my books trying to read them as I walked. Didnt wanna even sleep for almost a week till I finished reading all four.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
book
 from waukesha wi,  Dec 26, 2009

I was pleased with the product I ordered...............the price was fair along with the delivery fee and it came within a few days.......thnak you for the good service

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Read, Page Turner
 from San Diego, CA,  Dec 24, 2009

You must buy. I am not a big reader at all, the only books i've ever read are of Holocaust survivors. I'm also a 36 year old happily married mother of 3. After watching the 1st movie on DVD the very next day I went to the cinema and watched the 2nd movie and then had to get the books. I bought all 4 and within 2 weeks I had read them all. It's extremely gripping, I believe the term is "it's a page turner" I would tell myself I will put it down at the end of the chapter and could not do it, my eyes had to be literally closed before I stopped reading. What a fantastic story, truely enjoyable, I'm just sorry the books had to come to an end.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Breaking Dawn
 from San Mateo Ca.,  Dec 24, 2009

Fantastic series. Could not put the book down. Stephenie Meyer pulls you right into the story.Loved It!!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Read
 from San Antonio, TX,  Dec 22, 2009

This is a good read and I had a difficult time putting it down. I hated to see the last paragraph. As soon as I finished it, I began reading the series from Book 1 again. The series is not for tweens and teens only. I am a grandmother and truly enjoyed each book. For anyone looking for a good story with likeable characters, no foul language, and limited/implied violence, this is for you.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 79 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Fire & Ash (Hardcover)
Today $14.85
Mastiff (Hardcover)
Today $14.96
(1)
Matched (Paperback)
Today $8.82
(1)
Back to top