Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-18 of 18 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great Retro Recipes
 from New Berlin, NY,  Nov 8, 2007

This book contains the 'comfort food' recipes of my childhood, as well as the recipes of a generation I now work with. My nursing home residents remember the book, many of them had this in their own kitchen, and now enjoy looking up familiar recipes to use in either our "What's Cookin'?" class, or in our reminisce activities. It also comes in handy at home because I have grandchildren of my own that I enjoy passing on my love of cooking to. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who grew up in the 50's/60's or those who want authentic "Grandma" dishes.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A must have learning tool for a new cook.
 from Sheboygan Falls Wisconsin,  Nov 26, 2013

I learned from my mother's Betty Crocker cook book and have since worn out my own cook book and now have purchased for my 11 yr old and 15 yr old granddaughters to give as Christmas gifts at the younger one's request. Can't wait to give. Most questions are answered and most recipes are winners. The chiffon cakes are super.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Can't beat the original
 from Warren, MI,  Jul 23, 2013

Probably the best beginning cookbook for a young adult leaving home or a new bride.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Betty Crocker's Picture Cookbook
 from sacramento, ca,  Oct 29, 2012

this was gift for granddaughter, she was extremely pleased and has tried numerous recipes and been satisfied

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Betty Crocker cookbook
 from Retired---living on the eastern tip of Long Island,  Dec 14, 2010

I bought three cookbooks for my girls as all they talk about is growing up and looking at my original Betty Crocker cookbook and loving all the recipes I made ...It finally wore out with use so when I discovered it in your inventory that it was they are getting for Christmas...I am sure they will be thrilled with it, bringing back many old memories...I was pleased with the ease of using your service and prompt delivery of my purchases..............

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great cookbook
 from Columbus OH,  Nov 26, 2010

Mom got this cookbook as a wedding present in the early 50's, and learned a lot from it. I learned to cook with this cookbook in the late 60's and early 70's. It is easy to use and has all the steps to prepare a meal from start to finish. My sister got mom's copy, so I bought it for myself and my daughter too.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cook book
 from Dalton, GA,  Oct 20, 2010

I bought this for a guy friend of mine and he likes it as much as I do. He especially likes the photos since he gets tired of reading technical books, this makes cooking easier to understand. And - the price and shipping was just perfect for my budget. Thank you once again - OVERSTOCK.COM BARBARA

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great book
 from ALBION ,NEW YORK,  Dec 12, 2009

THIS COOK BOOK HAS BEEN IN MY FAMILY FOR LONG TIME ! MY MOTHER GAVE ME HERS AND NOW IM GIVING IT TO MY DAUGHTER IN LAW !RACHEL LOVES TO COOK !THIS BOOK HAS NICE PICTURES IN IT FOR YOU !EASY TO UNDERSTAND AND FOLLOW STEP BY STEP! I REALY ADVISE YOU TO TRY THIS WONDERFUL BOOK . YOU DONT BE SORRY !!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Want some basic cooking information -
 from Napavine, WA,  Apr 8, 2008

This cookbook is great for those who remember the basic books that their mothers and grandmothers owned. I bought this for my daughter-in-law who didn't do a lot of cooking when she was growing up. This was her request - and she is pleased. Great value from Overstock.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good
 from Oakland, CA,  Jan 16, 2008

I always wanted one for myself, it is the book my mother cooked from when I was a child. I am glad I have it and I know for a fact my meals will taste how I expect it to taste.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Betty Crocker cookbook
 from NewJersey,  Jan 10, 2008

Bought this for my 21 year old niece who never learned to cook. Very easy to follow and a great book for the novice.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mom's Cookbook
 from Wright City MO,  Dec 28, 2007

I remember this cookbook growing up. My mom used it all the time. It is one of the few cookbooks that I own that have pictures and it has some "oldies but goodies" recipes. I purchased several of them to give to my daughters and daughter-in-law. The price is right and it beats any of the other cookbooks that I have...highly recommended.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Betty Crocker's Picture Cookbook
 from Toledo, Oh,  Dec 11, 2007

I love It. It's replaces my old cookbook. I would tell everyone to buy this cookbook

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
betty crocker picture cook book
 from montana,  Nov 6, 2007

VERY DISSAPOINTED! paper pages printed on is very poor quality!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Betty Crocker's Cookbook
 from Soddy Daisy Tn,  Sep 5, 2007

OMG!!!! I thought I'd never find a decent price on this cookbook, I always find it in the bookstores for 35 plus dollars! I remember the copy my mother has and I didn't have the heart to ask her for it. The deserts are to die for! Major delight! Hate to say but could do with out reading the receipes for tongue and kidney, this book will be dearly cherished.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Betty Crocker's Picture Cookbook
 from Cassville, MO,  Aug 26, 2007

Bought this for a wedding gift, so did not break the seal, however it looked exactly like the one I received for my wedding in 1955. It's a wonderful cookbook. I learned how to cook from this cookbook as a young bride in Germany while my husband was stationed there from 1956-1958. My copy is pretty well worn, I may spoil myself and get a new copy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The best!
 from holler of southwest Virginia,  Nov 3, 2006

I learned to bake using the original 1950 version . No one has better cookie recipes than this, and the pie crust is to die for. My mother's old book is now stained and tattered, so this will be her replacement...and now I am going to hint for one for me for Christmas to replace my 1970's version.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Betty Crocker's Picture Cookbook
 from Ukiah, CA,  Sep 11, 2006

I am so glad I was able to purchase this cookbook! I was given one by my mother, the favorite recipes are very difficult to read. I've taught all my children how to cook and bake from scratch. This will be their Christmas present this year. Now I don't have to worry about one of my four children borrowing the cookbook and forgetting to return it as they will have their own.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-18 of 18 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top