Beastie Boys - Paul's Boutique (Parental Advisory)

Select an option before changing warranty
The Rewards Program that Pays for Itself
  • EARN 5 to 40%
    Earn 5% in Club O Rewards on every order & up to 40% on select items.
  • FREE SHIPPING Every Order, Every Day*
    No matter how big or small, your order always ships for free.
    Dedicated customer service and early access to exclusive deals.
    Club O pays for itself, or we make up the difference
Today: $14.84
ITEM# 11792415
  • Delivery Estimate

    Select a Product Option to view shipping

    • Product Alerts

      Stay in the know! Choose which alerts you’d like to receive on this product.

    Beastie Boys - Paul's Boutique (Parental Advisory)
    • Wishlists
    • Save for Later


    ITEM#: 11792415

    The Beastie Boys: Mike D, Ad-Rock, M.C.A. In an era when laptop mash-up artists like Girl Talk are praised for the artistry of name-that-tune karaoke DJing, it's even more timely to reissue PAUL'S BOUTIQUE as a 20th Anniversary edition. Admittedly, the repackaging itself is less than revelatory, with final track "B-Boy Bouillabaisse" split up from its original medley (although "A Year And A Day" and "Dropping Names" finally receive their due as breakout singles) (A digi-download card with audio commentary is also included.) But for a generation of younger hip-hop fans casually accustomed to kneejerk sampling and familiar with the Beasties only from "Fight For Your Right" and freeing Tibet, PAUL's giddy psychedelic crate-digging (along with production team the Dust Brothers) will properly blow their minds. Personnel: E.Z. Mike (turntables). Audio Mixer: Mario Caldato, Jr. Audio Remasterer: Chris Athens. Recording information: Mario G's; The Opium Den. When The Beastie Boys hit platinum with their debut album, they were instantly labeled the Elvises of rap, accused of being just another bunch of white musicians stealing from black music. But what was overlooked was that the Beasties actually had some interesting ideas to take hip hop to new levels. While in the years to come other white rappers like Vanilla Ice and Jesse Jaymes would prove they were the true cultural thieves, the Beasties defended themselves by recording a seminal rap album, PAUL'S BOUTIQUE. The record was, in fact, so legit that it eroded their commercial appeal in middle America. PAUL'S BOUTIQUE is a sample-fest--a post-modern epic of cut and splice studio wizardry. Taking snippets of music from sources as disparate as Curtis Mayfield, The Beatles, B.D.P., The Ramones and The Jaws soundtrack (as well as countless others), they built songs out of the debris of modern culture. Over these mind-blowing tracks, they weaved tall tales, self-promotional proclamations and sheer non-sense into a singular vision of inspired lunacy. Besides Public Enemy, no one else was producing albums as complex as this. PAUL'S BOUTIQUE sounds two or three years ahead of its time, perhaps this is why the album was considered such a failure upon its release. Whatever the case, there really is no album that sounds quite like this one does; the Beasties returned to the top of the charts a few years later with CHECK YOUR HEAD, but they may never be able to top the originality and depth of their stunning sophomore effort.


    UPC 5099969330025
    Type Performer
    Genre Rock & Pop
    Sub Genre Alternative
    Rating Parental Advisory
    Label Capitol Records
    Producer John King; Matt Dike; Mike Simpson; The Dust Brothers; John King; Mario Caldato, Jr.; Matt Dike; Mike Simpson; The Dust Brothers
    Number of Discs 1
    Track Listing Disc 1
    • 1. To All the Girls
    • 2. Shake Your Rump
    • 3. Johnny Ryall
    • 4. Egg Man
    • 5. High Plains Drifter
    • 6. Sounds of Science, The
    • 7. 3-Minute Rule
    • 8. Hey Ladies
    • 9. 5-Piece Chicken Dinner
    • 10. Looking Down the Barrel of a Gun
    • 11. Car Thief
    • 12. What Comes Around
    • 13. Shadrach
    • 14. Ask for Janice B-Boy Boullabaisse
    • 15. 59 Chrystie Street
    • 16. Get on the Mic
    • 17. Stop That Train
    • 18. Year and a Day, A
    • 19. Hello Brooklyn
    • 20. Dropping Names
    • 21. Lay It on Me
    • 22. Mike on the Mic
    • 23. A.W.O.L.
    Format Compact Disc
    Spars Coding n/a
    Artists Beastie Boys

    Product Reviews

    5 Stars
    4 Stars
    3 Stars
    2 Stars
    1 Stars
    • Paul's Boutique

      Awesome deal....awesome cd!! Arrived in reasonable time frame. Good quality.

      Read More

    Questions & Answers

    Get your product questions answered right here.
    • Why did you choose this product?

      • father's day gift

    Shopping Tips & Inspiration

    Shipping & Returns


    This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

    Standard Return Policy:

    Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

    FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

    * For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

    ** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.