Awolnation - Megalithic Symphony
Save for Later
Want to know when you'll get it? Go

What is “Estimated Delivery Date?”

This is an approximate delivery date and is not a guarantee. Delivery estimates are available only for select items to be delivered in the contiguous United States, excluding APO/FPO addresses and PO boxes. Your final shipping cost will be available at checkout. MasterCard®

$20 bonus after first use & 0% Intro APR*
No Payments & No Interest on orders over
$150 if you pay in full within 6 months.
Learn More ›

Awolnation - Megalithic Symphony

Overall Rating Rating 4.7  |  3 reviews  |  Write a review
Today $10.25
Item #: 13414010
    Recording information: Avatar Studios; Awolstudio; Fireside Sound Studio; Gymnasium Hollywood; Main & Market, Venice, CA; Red Bull Studios, Los Angeles, CA. Following his group sojourns with major-label projects Home Town Hero (on Maverick) and Under t......more
Sponsored Links What's This?

Artist: Awolnation
Recording information: Avatar Studios; Awolstudio; Fireside Sound Studio; Gymnasium Hollywood; Main & Market, Venice, CA; Red Bull Studios, Los Angeles, CA. Following his group sojourns with major-label projects Home Town Hero (on Maverick) and Under the Influence of Giants (on Island), Aaron Bruno resurfaces as a one-man band (albeit with a lot of help, including longtime partner Drew Stewart) under the name AWOLNATION on Megalithic Symphony. A megalith is a large stone, so a megalithic symphony would seem to be an ambitious suite of rock music, and the album fits its title if one interprets the ambition as an unfettered eclecticism and sense of whimsy, as tethered to constant dance beats. Bruno seems to have built his tracks up from the percussion patterns, and once he got the beats he liked, he layered poppy melodies supporting lyrics sung in falsetto or a gritty tenor, with plenty of goofy electronic sounds in between. The "anything goes" quality takes in a spoken-word track ("Some Sort of Creature") and songs that recall everything from Prince to Men Without Hats. It all comes together on the 15-minute closer, "Knights of Shame," which begins with Bruno imploring, "Dance, baby, like the world is ending," and continues through various sections including a rap by Cameron Duddy, and ends, after a minute or so of silence, with a hidden track that finds Bruno strumming his acoustic guitar and croaking, "It's been a long time waiting for you." Megalithic Symphony engages the ear from moment to moment and allows Aaron Bruno to try out a variety of ideas, many of them half-baked, but all of them entertaining. [A Deluxe Edition added a second disc of remixed and live tracks.] ~ William Ruhlmann
Track Listing:
Disc 1:
  1. 1 Megalithic Symphony
  2. 2 Some Sort of Creature
  3. 3 Soul Wars
  4. 4 People
  5. 5 Jump on My Shoulders
  6. 6 Burn It Down
  7. 7 Guilty Filthy Soul
  8. 8 Kill Your Heroes
  9. 9 My Nightmare's Dream
  10. 10 Sail
  11. 11 Wake Up
  12. 12 Not Your Fault
  13. 13 All I Need
  14. 14 Knights of Shame
Rock & Pop
Red Bull Records
Number of Discs:
Compact Disc
Studio or Live:
SPARS Coding:
52 : 44
Editorial Reviews:
Q (Magazine) (p.95) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "There are nods to early Beck, with some strains of Prince lurking, too..."
Was this product information helpful?
Yes No
Thank you for your feedback.
Thank you. Your feedback will help us create the best experience for our customers.

Showing 3 most recent reviews on this product.

  • 5 Stars 2
  • 4 Stars 1
  • 3 Stars 0
  • 2 Stars 0
  • 1 Stars 0
  • Awolnation

    Haven't bought a cd in years! Glad I got this one. I love the majority of the songs. A couple tracks are really stupid, but the awesome ones far outweigh the sucky few.

    • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
  • great music

    Love this album, bought it for "Sail" and quickly fell in love with the whole CD, "Wake UP" is a gem, don't know why it wasn't a pop hit. This is great workout music - super high energy!! Everybody I've made listen loves it too, hope they see a sales spike cuz of me!

    • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
  • Love this album!

    This album is amazing! Such a wide variety of style in their music. I had no idea Awolnation was so versatile. I bought it for the song Sail and was pleasantly surprised by every song on the album.

    • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Same
    • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Same
    • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Perfect!
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
View All Most Recent Reviews

Product Q&A

Ask a Question

Be the first to ask a question about this product.

This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

Standard Return Policy:

Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More details

FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

* For your safety, some orders go through our loss prevention department. If we select your order for this process, we will immediately notify you that there may be up to a 3-day delay on your order.

** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.

Buy Now with Bitcoin Learn More