Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 23 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Best.Book.Ever
 from Idaho,  Apr 18, 2010

You will never want to buy bread again after making the recipes in this book. From loaves, sticky rolls, pizza, buns, boules for Clam Chowder, the possibilities are endless. And unlike what a previous reviewer said, you DO NOT need a mixer with a dough hook. You just mix up the ingredients in a large container with lid and you are on your way. No kneeding required. A pizza stone does give you the best results, but you can get by without one. Get yourself this book, some flour, some yeast (buy in bulk at *****) and some Kosher salt. Throw in some lukewarm water and you are set!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
AWESOME BOOK!
 Mar 2, 2010

I can't say enough good things about this book! There are a wide array of recipes and some non-bread recipes that go well with certain breads. I have managed to do without some of the supplies they recommend. The only things I use are: measuring spoons and cups, the large container and lid, rolling pin, bread pan, cookie sheet (with tin foil and either flour or cornmeal), and small baking sheet for water. It's very easy to do and the whole family now gets to enjoy fresh, homemade bread :) I HIGHLY recommend this book.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bread at its best!
 from NJ,  Oct 6, 2009

This book is amazingly informative and almost life-changing for those who like to bake but have always been a bit intimidated at the idea of baking bread (such as myself). It has become ridiculously easy to bake fresh bread almost daily. I end up usually bringing in a loaf or two a week to work and my co-workers have taken to calling me "the bread girl". So far the semolina bread seems to be everyone's favorite, but I think the brioche is pretty awesome too! I have many more recipes to try; really the best money I've ever spent on a cookbook! I would give it 10 stars if I could!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great book/great breads
 from Oldsmar FL,  Jul 19, 2009

This book breaks down bread baking to a couple of simple steps. Easy to read and follow directions will have you baking home made breads in no time. Recipes included for artisan, peasant, flat, enriched and sweet breads. Enjoy!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Outstanding!
 from Federal Way, WA,  Jul 28, 2009

Who does not love the smell and taste of homemade bread? This book is fantastic! The recipes in this book are easy and the taste and texture are terrific. I cannot recomment it highly enough; the best of the best!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I adore this book!
 from quincy, ma,  Apr 19, 2008

This is the best bread book I own (and I own quite a few). The recipes are so easy my 8 year old can easily make them, but so good that I can no longer buy this style of bread in bakeries or markets because mine is better. It truly revolutionizes home baking. If you like to bake bread you should get this book, if you don't like to bake but like to eat you should get this book, because it truly, actually takes five minutes and zero skill. The master recipe makes brilliant white, French bread. The brioche makes divine sticky buns, and the semolina bread is fabulous. Actually I've tried many of the recipes and they have all been winners.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
book
 from Chiefland, Florida,  Sep 13, 2012

Love this book! Never liked kneading bread! This makes bread making SOOOOOO EASY! Many different recipes that make it easy for inexperienced breadmakers!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? very accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A must for any baker.
 from San Diego, CA,  Jul 15, 2012

This cookbook is a must addition to the library of any collector of cookbooks and to anyone serious about breadbaking who is pressed for time. The genesis of the book is an ingenious shortcut that allows anyone to enjoy freshly-baked bread when they want. The secret is maintaining a refrigerated starter always ready to go when you want to start a loaf. The book thoroughly explains not only how to create and maintain this starter, but everything else you need to know. Even a novice can use this book to bake bread from scratch with ease and success,

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Outstanding
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great book
 from Rochester, NY,  Jan 12, 2012

I was looking for this book and found it on overstock for much less. It is a great book and lots of fun to use. My family loves the bread!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Although I have yet to make any of the recipes, I have read the tips & techniques which were illuminating for me even though I have been baking bread for years(as an amateur). Overstock's price was the best available and shipping was lightning fast! I might have like more photos as I always find photos enticing and motivating.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. first rate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I'm thrilled!
 Jan 5, 2011

I love to bake my own bread, partially because it tastes great, but primarily because I know what's in my bread.... but, until now, it's been very time consuming. This book has taught me how to have home baked bread without devoting hours to it's preparation. I love it! If you love home baked bread, get this book!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Yummy!
 from Farmington, MN,  Jun 26, 2010

All of the recipes in this book have made bread baking less scary for me. This book has even gotten my baking challenged fiancee interested and baking bread on his own.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great book
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Mar 25, 2010

I gave this book as a gift and the recipient was inspired and started baking fabulous bread right away. The only caveat is that the recipes require some specific kitchen tools a mixer with dough hooks and a pizza stone. A pizza peel was also purchased but I don't think it was necessary. If I knew that when giving this gift I would have included those items as they can get expensive.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Favorite bread book!
 from Hartford, Wisconsin,  Jan 29, 2010

Can't say enough good things about this book. Being new to bread baking this book came highly recommended by a friend and I have to say it's the best book investment I've made in my life. Silly as it sounds it's true. As a close to retirement couple with no children left at home I found myself throwing out half loafs of wonderful bread purchased at the bakery for $5 or more (one can only use so many bread crumbs...). After living in Europe for several years and getting used to really great bread I will spend the big bucks on bakery bread but dislike it after frozen so would just waste it and feel horrible doing it. This book lets me mix the dough and make whatever size loaf I may need. I can make it every day or every other day so as it goes I bake a small loaf every 2-3 days and have fresh bread at hand with very little time invested. Once you get down your routine and are organized I can't imagine anything more simple. And fun too. A great sense of accomplishment for me to be baking bread, something I never dreamed of doing, really. Get the book, get your routine set, practice and have fun!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day
 from Dublin NH,  Jan 5, 2010

This is one of the best bread books I have own. When you can come home from work and have fresh bread on your table for dinner how much better can it get. I have giving this book as a gift and nothing but raves.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bread book
 from Palestine, TX,  Dec 11, 2009

This book was shipped quickly, and was in good condition. I have been holding it for Christmas for my mom, but last weekend I noticed her reading a copy..... But she really liked it, so I am sure it will go over well for my mother-in-law, who enjoys cooking and baking as well.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Avoid 1st Printing
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  Nov 9, 2009

Avoid buying 1st printing of this book, which I bought from Overstock in 10/09. This may be the worst written/edited cookbook in history. The website for book lists "some errors" that is says were corrected in subsequent printings. How many is "some errors"? How about 2 errors that occur "throughout book" and 20 page specific errors! This book should have be recalled.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cant wait to try
 from ny,  Oct 18, 2009

Great book but would love to see more color pictures!!!! Anxious to try recipies!!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing Bread
 from Missouri,  Aug 30, 2009

This is a great book! Even if you are a seasoned baker, and love the process of making bread as much as the end product, you will find a place for these recipes. Great time savers, and I was pleased with the end result!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
dlmatthias
 from Windsor, CA,  Aug 26, 2009

My friend has the book and I have been treated to some wonderful bread that he has made...I was so impressed that I wanted to make bread also. Bought the book...LOVE IT!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 23 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top