Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 32 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 

I first saw Anne of Green Gables and its Sequel on PBS. After seeing the movies, I was enamored with the stories. I researched it some more and found that Kevin Sullivan had made a third movie, The Continuing Story, which I caught glimpses of on Youtube. That cemented my decision to buy the DVD set. Whenever I want to relax or smile, I play the DVDs. The bonus features are all worth it too. One note I would like to make: while the Continuing Story differs from the Anne of Green Gables timeline, Kevin Sullivan did an incredible job of giving me a sense of World War 1 -- better than anything I ever learned about the Great War in school. Also, the actors are well-cast! Megan Follows, Jonathan Crombie!!, Colleen Dewhurst, Richard Farmsworth, Patricia Hamilton, and Schuyler Grant are excellent actors! I wish Kevin Sullivan would create another movie with these same actors, except Anne and Gilbert would be parents of a lot of kids. It would be interesting to see how they deal with family life and the stresses of the world. I also bought the movie soundtrack by Hagood Hardy. The music is beautiful! Overall, I highly recommend this DVD set. It's far better to replay these movies than to watch the violence and silly reality shows on TV. I know Kevin Sullivan created some other shows (Road to Avonlea and others), and I hope they show on PBS for me and others to enjoy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Anne of Green Gables- classic
 from SD,  Jun 23, 2013

Perhaps it is because so many other reviews gave such a negative opinion of the quality and my expectations were low, but I was very pleased with the quality of the picture on these DVD's. It was a treat to watch the movies again with my daughters. I am grateful for Sullivan and Overstock.com for continuing to make these excellent movies available at such an affordable price.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfectly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful movie
 from Modesto, Ca.,  Jun 5, 2013

Anne of Green Gables is a heartwarming story for every gender and age.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very precise
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love Love Love!!!
 from Omaha, NE,  Apr 16, 2013

This is a great series! My step mom final had got my sister and I to watch these with her when were younger. (which of course I ended up loving!) Even as a grown up, we would still pick a night and watch them together, and also when my sister would come into town we would watch again. I lost my step mom almost a year ago, my sister and I will continue to watch these when she comes to town! (I am currently 43 yrs old) You could start a wonderful bound with your daughter, grand-daughter, niece, etc......

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very happy
 from Indiana,  Jan 25, 2013

I love this movie! It is exactly what I ordered and thought it would be. Shipping was moderately fast. My only complaint is the DVDs did not stay in place through the mail, so they were a little scratched up when I got them... however, that is not Overstocks fault at all.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very good family movie
 from Houston, TX,  Aug 16, 2012

Very good family movie. I think all ages will enjoy this movie!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Just as described
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Just as described
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful story for everyone!
 from Columbia, SC,  May 2, 2009

I had never seen the third chapter of the series so it was wonderful to finally see it! Great story for anyone in the family and I decided to order the book series as well. This is a collection that you can watch over and over again!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Anne of Green Gables Trilogy
 from Santa Barbara, CA,  Apr 30, 2014

This is a lovely trilogy. The first two movies stick pretty close to the books; the 3rd movie isn't my 'fav' and is not from the books atal but still okay to watch. Just delighted to have this in my collection.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Anne of Green Gables20th Anniversary is a keeper
 from Ville Platte, LA,  Dec 31, 2013

My wife an daughters have enjoyed this series since it was on VHS. The dvd version shown on a modern big screen really brings the film to life almost like theater. Received by my wife as a Christmas gift within days they had gone through the entire volume. It is intelligently package in a nice folding case with a storage box. Good product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect condition
 from South Hadley, MA,  Mar 21, 2012

Overstock did a very good job of getting the product I was looking for, in the condition and the price I was looking for.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? site was good representation of videos
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The videos came new and in perfect condition.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good movie
 from Washington, DC,  Mar 14, 2012

The movie arrived in the condition I expected, new, and met all my expectations.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. New
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Movie
 from Gig Harbor, WA,  Feb 22, 2012

I love this story and wanted it for my grand daughters to enjoy. Wonderful story of the life of a young girl.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Right on
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Great
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome
 from Franklin, Pa,  Jan 18, 2012

The movies are a perfect addition to the book. Makes you fall in love with Anne all over agin.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. best quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good, Wholesome Entertainment
 from Arizona,  Nov 11, 2011

I love this series. It is good, clean, wholesome entertainment for the whole family, which is hard to come by nowadays. Loved it!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this DVD set
 from Salt Lake City, UT,  Nov 5, 2011

I ahve always been a big fan of this movie and was happy to see it in the box set on DVD. The package arrived in good condition with no problems with shipping although it did take longer than expected and the date on line was incorrect by almost 6 days. But when it arrived, I spent the next two days watching all five discs! The great thing about this movie is you can escape to another time and place and not worry about the cares of today. I love shopping on O.com. They make everyting I buy so easy.

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? exactly as pictured
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I was a little disappointed only because I thought that when they put on DVD the quality was better. Maybe I'm spoiled with HD now but it looked like I was watching video quality.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Heart warming, family entertainment
 from Ramsey, IL,  Oct 18, 2011

My entire family, including my husband, have enjoyed watching this particular production of Anne of Green Gables. I was thrilled to see it in a package that included every episode from Anne's arrival at Green Gables through WWI. So glad to have it all together. My daughters and I are going to have a Green Gables marathon as soon as we can all get together!!!

  • How did the image on site compare with the actual product? Very well
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love the series
 from Indiana,  Oct 14, 2011

We bought this as a Christmas gift for our granddaughter so we have not watched it yet for the image quality. It was a great price!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful Movie!
 from Caldwell, Idaho,  Jun 10, 2011

The first time I saw this was a few years ago with my mom on some local PBS channel. I loved it! I was only the first part (on a telethon) but ever since then I have wanted to own this. Even my husband loves this series! Great on a stay inside type of day with some tea!

  • Did the image onsite match the product? Absolutely
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Great!
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Anne of Green Gables dvd collection
 from Silverdale,  May 21, 2011

Bought this for my mom for Mother's Day..one of her favorites. She was still watching the vhs format so I thought it was time to upgrade her collection to dvd. The dvd has a-lot of extra footage and an additional episode and other interesting features. Good purchase!!

  • Did the image onsite match the product? Yes
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Series
 from Taylorsville, Utah,  May 13, 2011

Great family series from many years ago. A real keeper!

  • Did the image onsite match the product? yes
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 32 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought