Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
A Child Called "IT"
 from Boca Raton, FL,  Nov 4, 2008

This is a captivating read. One that should be required reading for every student of high school age, for every pregnant woman and the father of the pregnant woman. I've seen abusive situations on TV. DAVE PELZER, God bless him, went beyond abusiveness, he went through h*** and back way too many times.I will wait unti I read Dave's next two books of this trilogy, The Lost Boy and a Man Named Dave, to decide what should happen to the woman who gave life to Dave. She is the real "IT". Only real mother's deserve to be called mother for which she is most definitely no candidate.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gripping Story
 from Atlanta,  Aug 8, 2011

The author and subject matter of the book has become a part of popular culture. Nothing compares to reading the story from the actual survivor. This is a must read for any mandated reporter or adult that comes into contact with children. Knowing the signs of abuse could save the life of a child.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Scary
 from Salt Lake City, UT,  Apr 27, 2010

I don't know if I should say that I "enjoyed" the book, given the terrible abuses it relates, but it certainly was very interesting and I went on to read the other two books in the series. It made me want to be a better parent myself.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A wake up call
 from Missoula, MT,  Dec 21, 2009

This book was so powerful, Made me realize that some children out there go though abusive situation everyday, and it's sad what people would do. This is a great book. I would recommend it to anyone. Everyone should read it at least once.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hard to Take
 from Denver,  Nov 18, 2007

Very difficult subject matter. Necessary to get out there, but don't get it if you want to relax and read. A little less than I expected too. A lot of repetitive stuff. You feel for the guy, but he's not a very good author...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Heartwrenching
 from New Jersey,  Jul 21, 2007

It's difficult to believe that a mother could hate her own child. What's even more difficult to believe is that she got away with the obvious for so long. What an amazing story of triumph and the will to survive under the most haneous of situations. He deserves a medal for his bravery and courage. I will purchase his other 2 books just to see the outcome. P.S. The wrong book is displayed on this site.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Child Called IT
 from Ashville, Pa,  Sep 25, 2006

This book was "shocking" just when i thought that this women couldn't do anything more horrible i would turn the page and she would prove me wrong. I just don't know or understand how this child lived through all of this abuse for as long as he did. I had this book read in just a few hours, it was that good. i mean every child thinks that their life at home is horrible and that their parents are evil, but after reading this book i don't think that there are too many others out there that could compare to the catastrophic extremes of abuse that this child went through. i could feel David's pain as he spoke in great detail of what was happening to him and what he thought about at those moments in his life and all i wanted to do was to be there and pick him up and hold him and tell him that everything would be better now and to get him out of that situation. noone should ever have to live or go through what he did, or feel that they deserved that they did. David is a very strong willed person and i think that he is doing a great thing by going out and sharing his story and teaching from his experience. i really cried during alot of the parts of this book, and i felt that the teachers that helped him were very brave people for what they did also.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Florida,  Jan 30, 2006

This is the most touching book I have read since Angela's Ashes. You won't believe what he had to go through as a child.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from NEW YORK, NEW YORK,  Jan 30, 2006

I PICKED UP THIS BOOK WITH APREHENSION, AND DID NOT PUT IT DOWN UNTIL I READ THE LAST SENTENCE WANTING MORE. THIS WAS A HORRIFIC STORY OF SURVIVAL OF A YOUNG MIND.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Folsom, PA, USA,  Jan 30, 2006

The book was fabulous, yet so sad and depressing. I really can't get it out of my mind. I am now reading book 2 - it is a trilogy. I can't wait for book 3.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from jacksonville, nc,  Jan 30, 2006

very pleased with the order...the book is touching.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought