Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-40 of 5423 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Buy this if you want a great sleep
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Oct 22, 2006

I read the reviews for this product, which made me a little nervous about buying it. I want to assure you that if you buy this product you will not be disappointed. However, there are some things you might want to know, in referrence to negative reviews: Yes, it has a chemical smell. However, it was not overpowering and went away in a few hours. Yes, the box that it was delivered in was destroyed. However, the topper was in perfect condition. The first night I slept on this I did feel that it was too soft and held too much heat. I thought that I had made a very big mistake in purchasing it. I only had one sheet between me and the topper. On placing a second sheet over the topper, the topper was fantasic! The next day, I received the down-alternative cover that I had ordered. That took away a little bit of the softness, and once a night I wake up a little too hot. (My husband is a furnace, and this does not happen if he is not in bed with me) For some reason, if I switch my position the heat goes away and it is back to a fabulous sleep for me! I no longer have limbs that fall asleep, which was a real problem for me. Sleeping on this topper feels like sleeping in a big, strong, loving hug. I never want to get out of the bed in the morning, but when I do manage to get out my back and my limbs are much, much, much less achy then they were before. I have fibromyalgia and have had a car accident, and this has taken a great deal of the pain I had from sleeping away. Whereas before I woke up every half hour to change sleeping positions, I now wake up after 3 hours. My quality of sleep has dramatically increased! I am a side sleeper, and used to have pain in my hips and shoulder from sleeping. That pain is entirely gone. I don't think that I will ever be without this topper on my bed again. One thing that I did notice is that I sometimes I sleep on my stomach. I think that the 4 inch is just too "gushy" to do that comfortably. I would suggest the one or two inch for that. This is one case where less might actually be more. But, if you sleep on your back or your side, the 4 inch is fantastic. I was really worried that my husband would not like the topper, but he LOVES it. We both look forward to climbing into the big hug our bed now gives us. It really does feel like you sleep like a baby. If you are at all hesitating on buying this product, don't. You may need to make some adjustments to get it right. Try an extra sheet, or a protector. It is worth trying to get it just right, as once you do you will be thanking yourself for the gift of good, comfortable sleep. Oh, and I bought the queen size for my queen sized bed. It fit perfectly. It was white, just like in the picture, and arrived without stains, tears, or any other defects. Happy sleeping!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best sleep in years!
 from Birmingham, AL,  Oct 20, 2006

I don't want to sound like a commercial, but this memory foam is beyond any expectations I had for comfort! I truly had no idea how bad I was sleeping until my first nights sleep with the memory foam.....I did not move! I woke up and for the first time my back/hips/arms/neck did not pop! I bought my parents and sister one I loved it so much.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Horrible product packaging
 from ATLANTA,  Jul 27, 2006

Overstock must either pull out this product from sale or arrange for better packaging. They must also show the exact matching description and pictures of the material being shipped including the ?bread loaf? packaging of mattress. The product weighs more than 50 lbs and the mattress pad (rubber lump) is squeezed and rolled into a loaf and some how stuffed into most fragile box for this kind of weight. I was very much excited when the package arrived but looking at the box itself totally disappointed me. The horror started when I opened the box and tried to peel off the layers of 4 inch thick dense foam rolled into a squeezed loaf. The torn and broken pieces of the mattress started puffing off all over my bed room, a total mess. Beware, it may be sold as Serta mattress but other than tiny Serta label on the package, nothing says mattress pad is from Serta. Another warning for people like me who have never seen a RAW Mattress pad, its totally RAW product with Horrible GREYISH color which in no way matches the beautiful pictures shown for the product. The actual shipper or distributor seems to be parts and raw material manufacturer/supplier that has no perception and concern for marketable packaging or covering for the end user. Selling cheaper should not be taken as selling junk. I wish I could post the picture of the mess I had in my bed room.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

Do not buy this topper if your weight is over 200 lbs because you will sink, and hard to turn around. Otherwise, it is a pretty good product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sleeping on a cloud
 from San Francisco, CA,  Apr 27, 2006

That's exactly how it felt when I laid down on it last night. It was very heavy putting it on the mattress and taking it out of the wrapping. As soon I got it out of the packaging, I let it sit for awhile and then put a mattress cover over it and the sheets over that. When I finally went to bed, to my surprise it felt like I was floating in a cloud. I did not feel the bed underneath me which was a strange feeling but the sharp backpains were not noticable. I even tried laying on my back where I feel the pain even more intense and I felt nothing!!! FANTASTIC!!! I have been telling everyone about this mattress... I've yet to see how long it will last. Feels too good to be true...hee hee hee.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Surprisingly helpful,  Jan 30, 2006

I have severe back pain from several very different problems. I tried the foam topper with latex, not of much help for my pain. I got this ULTIMATE model finally, it was either this, or find a new bed (but would that solve my problem? Likely not.). It is very helpful in reducing my back pain. However, the negative side to it is that you get overheated on it and wake up sweating sometimes. One thing for sure is this, you won't be needing your electric blanket any longer and you will be saving electricity. :) Still the same, this is worth it. Anything is worth having less pain to me and this ULTIMATE 4" foam topper with the highest density I could find does help and I am surprised!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
BUYER BEWARE
 from Florida,  Aug 9, 2006

I purchased this product back in May but I am writing the review now (August) as I thought my experience with this product back then was just a fluke and I was considering reordering it. After reading the other recent reviews I am definitely NOT re-ordering another one. I purchased the 4" memory foam topper, Cal King. It was poorly boxed and arrived in a very bad condition. When I opened the box I was astonished to see the POOR quality of the product. The mattress was rolled in a thin plastic like saran wrap. The topper was basically white with ugly discolored yellow edges. Through the wrap I could see the product was dirty with the foam split/torn in several places and even had chunks of foam missing. I didn't bother to unwrap it as I new from what I could see that it was a mess and I wouldn't be able to rewrap it to send back as it was so heavy. I called customer service and they sent me a return label and I sent it back. I can't believe that Overstock would even send out a product in such poor shape. It looks like different customers are receiving different and/or incorrect products from different colors white/yellow/grey etc. and sizes that don't match the dimesions ordered. Thank goodness for customer reviews because I don't want the hassle of reordering and having to go through what I did to return it again.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
There seem to be two versions of this product
 from East Tennessee,  Aug 3, 2006

I just received mine and can see rips in the memory foam without even taking it out of the package. Mine came rolled up and wrapped in what looks like kitchen plastic wrap, and they did a bad job at that. The center of the roll is bulging out and is exposed and dirty. It has a little sticker on it that says Serta. It does not look professional at all. I can see jagged rips in the memory foam through the plastic, so I didn't even unwrap it. It was shipped this way! I then came here and read the reviews and see that a lot of other customers have received the same type of damaged pad. Some customers receive good quality pads that are professionally packaged in tubes. The rest of us received what may be returned or second hand damaged products. It sounds like Overstock may be shipping the damaged pads back out. I was very upset and contacted customer and they agreed to send a prepaid label so I can return it. I'm very disappointed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Topper!
 from Tulsa,OK,  Nov 26, 2010

Real Memory Foam topper. Did a lot of research as to what is recommended for large size body's. Up to 200 lb people a 3" -4", 3 lb topper is recommended. For body's from 250-300 lbs a 4" - 4 to 5 lb topper is recommended. I looked at several manufacturers and sites. Overstock offers the best prices on all toppers. I have used this since June this year. I Love it. I was worried it would be hard to turn over on, its not. We keep our bedroom temp at 69 degrees. You do have to adjust to it being a little warmer at first. Now that it is winter and outside temps dip down to 26, our mattress is very firm. It warms to your body temp letting you slowly sink in. It helps me rest and I no longer wake up with low back pain. We only waited 8 hours and then made the bed. It does give off odor. It lasted mildly for 3 weeks. I noticed it laying on my side.We did not have any reaction to the smell. This is a purchase I will enjoy for several years. It fully fits our king size bed perfectly. Get this one!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awful odor
 from Arkansas,  Apr 11, 2010

Even after days of airing out the mattress still stunk. I have asthma and allergies and the smell kept me from resting due to asthma flairs from the smell of the mattress. I would never recommend this mattress to anyone. Esp. if you have a breathing problem.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
serta topper falling apart!
 from CA,  Dec 26, 2007

Yes, the density of the topper at first appears great. It feels great to sleep on, but you will notice right away that the foam is a bit on the "dry" or "stiff" side. Having bought this as a replacement (bought here too, but the quality was excellent. it had become soft so out it went), this topper is horrid. Cracks and splits started to form in the foam within the first month! Before you knew it there are gouges and holes straight through the topper. the topper is just barely bearable! it has to be replaced as soon as possible, and I would have never expected this "brand name" topper to fall apart before our eyes. The previous topper, had none of the defects noted with this one. unbelievable! save your money and look for another brand, please.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't believe the hype
 from Hopatcong, NJ,  Aug 15, 2007

If you are someone who lives in a very warm climate, year round or seasonal, skip over this product. The memory foam topper is great in the winter time, it stays firm yet soft and gives great comfort. In the summertime though it's like sleeping in a swamp. It gives absolutely zero support in the warm weather and you will usually end up waking in a sweat or dehydrated from how hot the foam topper gets. I owned one for a year and just went out and bought a new mattress instead. I also found that the sizes are not exact either. I ordered a queen and it was about 3 inches too short both length and width-wise. Save up for a new mattress instead.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beware Memory Foam Seperates
 from Jacksonville, FL,  Feb 7, 2007

Purchased this product 4 months ago. Foam has developed splits and the appearance of shredding in the area where your shoulders would be in a sleeping position. We have not mistreated this mattress and although we do sleep better with it, I would think that it should have lasted longer! Buyer Beware!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fell apart after a month
 from NY, NY,  Nov 1, 2006

Mattress split clean through into to three pieces. Only used it for about a month and it fell apart. Unfortunately it was past the 30 day return period and I was unable to return it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not for everyone
 from Virginia Beach, VA,  Sep 26, 2006

Bought this to cushion our exhisting hard mattress. After one week we threw it away. The heaviest part of your body sinks down lower than the rest causing severe curvature of the spine and backache occurrs. The pain was so bad we had to take it off the bed.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't Buy This...it's NOT made by Serta!
 from South Louisiana,  Jan 22, 2013

This is an inferior product that is NOT made by Serta. Call Serta and ask them. Some brand-X company pays Serta to use their name. Overstock.com misrepresents this product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
seems a little less dence
 from kentucky,  Jun 6, 2012

I have ordered 4 memory foam mattress toppers of the past years 2 of them being the Serta ultimate 4 in memory foam mattress topper the first Serta a few years ago which i gave gave to my sister when i bought the others seemed denser more supportive and of a better quaility than this last Serta topper I bought .I ordered larger than i needed itis easily cut down to a smaller size with an electric knife alot of others reviewers always mentioned that if you order true to size it always seem shorter than you wanted and since the price is the same for any size it a good way to make sure you get even matters coverage. Like I said this new topper does not seem as dense and supportive as the past one it's 4lb pound density seem more like a 3 or 2 lb one with that said it still is much better than the other brands I have ordered on Overstocked and immediately gave away to friends since they were not supportive and much to hard to return one thing about it one still cant beat memory foam as a sleep surface I think i will eventualy have to quit playing with toppers and buy a whole memory foam seep system the topper comes with the usual customer complaints chemical odor, heat build up while sleeping but the odor usually goes away and the heat come with the territory when dealing with memory foam I have had pillow top, latex , feather, and inter spring sleep systems over the last 4 years due to a auto accident, back& neck surgery and chronic pain issues memory foam is still the best for comfort, and pressure relief dealing with the heat issues is only a matter of room temperature room air flow and amount of covers you use i may also guest temperature regulating sheets their out there you just have to look for them. I only hope Serta is not letting quality and density go in order to make more of a profit as i said this topper seems less supportive people do not order products like these on a whim there is usually a much needed reason for such a large purchase restful sleep is a human need for mind and body and a very elusive function for some people to achieve bedding companies should always deliver what they promise with so many of them out there they need to realize customer loyalty is a slice of the pie that they might be missing by not over deliverymen on product that abuyer will purchase again from them when the time comes . to sum up the topper is good better than most but slipping in its density and comfort points...hope this helps you who need it find peace, rest and sweet dreams

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awful Smell
 from San Francisco, CA,  May 14, 2011

This smell is nauseating after the 1st night. Woke up with a headache. We've had the windows in the bedroom open and have been running a fan all day. Our clothes stink and so do our sheets. Do not buy this.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? No. It is yellow/cream.
  • How is the quality of the product? Ok
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cate
 from Columbus, OH,  Jan 4, 2008

This mattress-enhancement adds the cushioning needed for deep muscle pain from arthritis and fibro myalgia. Better quality sleep in ALL sleeping positions.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
What a terrible surprise
 from Marco Island, FL,  Jul 19, 2007

The quality of this mattress topper does not match the price. When I unrolled it I discovered that it was torn, it had a big stain from water damage, and it was full of little raised bits of foam that left little holes all over the surface when I brushed them away with my hand. I had decided to overlook the fact that the outside of it was dirty with yard debris - as if it had been rolled up outside. And it was seriously discolored along one edge. When I called Overstock to explain and ask for a refund they told me I'd have to return it! If you've ever had one of these you know how big and heavy they are -- there is no way to return it. So they say that DHL will come to inspect it and then they will give me a refund. This is definately not worth the trouble - for me or for Overstock. Hopefully they will look into this supplier. Other things I've ordered from Overstock have been fine.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-40 of 5423 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top