Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 3770 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 189 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
BUYERS GUIDE/REVIEW
 from Toronto, Ontario,  Nov 12, 2009

IF THIS POST IS TOO LONG, SIMPLY READ THIS FIRST PORTION:IMPORTANT INFORMATION:A mattress of 3? thickness with 3lb density is wonderful for light-average individuals and will provide the comfort/support needed (approx 100-150lbs).A mattress of 3? thickness with 4lb density is ideal for light ? above average individuals, 100-200lbs.A mattress of 4? thickness with 3lb density is ONLY suitable for light individuals, or those who require a very soft mattress. If you are over 150lbs you will begin to lose needed support. If you are over 200lbs this will not provide you with the support you require and may not be appropriate for you.A mattress of 4? thickness with 4lb density is suitable for average ? husky individuals, 150-250 lbs. The extra inch (over 3?) will give you the extra needed cushion so that you don?t sink straight through the mattress and the 4lb density will provide you with the much needed support. </BR> ------------------------------------------------------ I spent a great deal of time doing research on memory foam toppers before deciding to make a purchase. I'm a very meticulous person and I like to evaluate all of my options before selecting an item, specially one over a certain price, and if I would consider it a luxury item.First off, I want to say that I have nothing but praise for this memory foam, and I will attempt to aid any person reading this in deciding whether or not this is the correct item for them.When looking at memory toppers, if you are looking for both comfort AND support, then you should automatically eliminate anything with a depth of 2.5" or lower and 5.5" and higher. (Do not choose 2.5 < or > 5.5).A thin mattress topper of below 2.5" may provide you with a comfortable feeling, but it will not provide you with the actual support you need, if you are only looking for comfort, and not physical benefit/support, then below 2.5" is for you. One caveat to this is if this mattress topper is intended for a child or very light individual, they will depress the visco-elastic material less then a (older) teenager or full grown adult, in that circumstance a mattress topper of 2.5" will be supportive/beneficial.A thick mattress topper at/over 5.5" will be quite deep and you will find that you sink into the mattress (unless you are a child or an extremely light person, below or at 100 pounds, at which point your body will not sink, but you still will not receive the appropriate support for your body). For an average weight adult, you will not find the comfort you want as your movements will be restricted and support will now become uneven as the heavier parts of your body will sink too low and you will be unable to achieve the spinal/body support that is required for a healthy nights rest.------------------------------------------------------The optimal range for thickness of a memory foam mattress is 3? - 4". This range will accommodate the standard adult build (greater then 100lbs and less then 250lbs or approximately 45kg ? 115kg, these figures are products of my own analysis and consumer reports).-If you are a light-average build, 100 ? 200 pounds, you will likely find the comfort/support you require from a 3? thick topper.-If you are average-husky, 150-250 pounds, then you should review a 4? topper to accommodate for ?sinking? into the topper.There is an overlap of 50 pounds in the weight range(s), this is on purpose as you must consider that this topper may not be used by only you, but a significant other as well.*I personally weigh 175lbs, whereas my fiancée rings in between 100-108lbs (please don?t tell her I posted her weight, hahaha). We found that the 3? topper provided excellent support/comfort for our weight ranges and have had nothing but approving responses from friends/families over the comfort of our mattress.---------------------------------------------------------Density is the second factor you must consider.3lb and 4lb is optimal density for the average consumer, someone weighting 100 ? 250 lbs and the density you require will differ based on size, obviously, the more you weigh the greater the density you will need.Avoid exceeding 5lb density as you will begin to sacrifice comfort in the memory foam topper. 5lb density is suitable for husky ? ?large? build individuals 250+ lbs, you would also look at a thicker mattress 4-5? in that weight range.---------------------------------------------------------Brand names: They actually matter for this product! Non-brand name foam mattresses have an indeterminable length of usability for their product. After reviewing an incredible amount of products from different suppliers I have found some of these products are meant to only last 1 ? 2 years, while others can last 5, 10, or 15 years. More often then not, the name brand products last longer. Overstock.com is fortunate that it has a large selection of quality toppers.----------------------------------------------------------Heat Distribution: As this mattress is not a ?vented? mattress it will trap heat a little more then an ordinary mattress topper. I have been using this on warm nights and have not found any discomfort from this small amount of added heat, in fact, as the mattress is able to retain my heat, it softens up a little more the longer I am resting on it, making my rest more on more comfortable as I lay there.----------------------------------------------------------If your partner happens to be a wrestles individual or someone who practically jumps into bed at night, then this mattress topper will help reduce the vibrations you feel and will allow you to sleep better without being disturbed. I speak as a perpetrator of literally ?jumping? into bed every night.-----------------------------------------------------------Washing/Cleaning:Good luck. Don?t get it dirty in the first place! Use a damp rag to wipe off any spills that may get into it. Never lay it directly on your floor (especially carpet), it will grab EVERY piece of dirt/filth there is and you will NEVER get it out.?oops------------------------------------------------------------------Personal Opinion:Overall I couldn?t be happier with my purchase. I haven?t slept this well in years! I have been having a very bad problem with being unable to wake up in the morning for the past few years. I have 3 alarm clocks (yes, 3 individual alarm clocks, 2 of them with 2 separate alarms, so 5 alarms), my cell phone with 3 alarms, and my computer with a morning alarm. In total, 9 alarms go off in the morning, and I have a tendancy of sleeping through ALL of them, even when they are at full blast. I had not been getting a real rest when I slept! To make matters worse, my partner moves around a lot, as such, I haven?t been getting a really good deep sleep in years, with minimal REM cycles?(dreams)?I have been exhausted constantly. All of that changed when I slept on this topper. For the first time in 4 years I am having vivid dreams that I remember when I wake up, this is an indication of a deep sleep, which your body/brain needs to recharge! Additionally, I wake up immediately at the sound of just one alarm at half volume! As I?m no longer thoroughly exhausted I can actually get up in mornings and have been making it on time to all of my appointments, and scheduled events! I can?t believe how much the memory foam changed my life!Do yourself a favor and BUY IT!------------------------------------------------------------------------*1 last note, when the package arrives, OPEN IT IMMEDIATELY and let it decompress/air out. Ours took only 1 hour to fully decompress as it was only in shipping for a few days. The majority of the smell left after a few hours and wasn?t bad to begin with. The odor completely left after 2 days, but was mild enough that we slept on it with no complaint the very first night we received it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This pad has been a lifesaver!!!
 from FLorida,  May 16, 2007

I didn't realize that the mattress on the guest bed really wasn't that comfortable (never was - not that old) until I decided to test it. Priced new mattresses and decided that a topper was the way to go. I already knew that the foam had to be at least 3" think to mean anything and I knew about density. This wasn't a task for store to store shopping; company was on the way the next weekend. Zipped over to the Overstock.com website and did a bit of searching and there it was. The right thickness and good density. The shipping speed was AWESOME! These pads need time to unroll ON THEIR OWN. And a bit of time to air. You have to have a mattress cover which is deep enough to accommodate both the foam topper (this is really a bit more than a topper) and the mattress. (Ordered that from Overstock.com as well) I placed the pad on top of the mattress and let it do its thing. The next day it had completely unrolled and I was able to make the bed. Lay down and was amazed. It wasn't the same mattress. Be advised, without a cover which some do come with for quite a bit more $$$, it isn't a pretty sight. Since you're going to want a cover anyway, it really doesn't matter. This 3" memory foam topper/pad is fantastic. I stopped writing in order to lie down on it just for the sake of this review (Ah, the sacrifices we make) and it felt even better for my spine/neck than I remembered. And yes, my guests did appreciate the new feel - they'd slept on the bed before. I already know that I will have several good years for the guest bed now. An excellent value!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Value!
 from Gypsum, Colorado,  Dec 12, 2006

This Serta topper is a great value. I previously owned a no-name 2" topper with 2.5 pound density. This Serta from Overstock is 3" with 4 pound density, and the difference is wonderful! The 4 pounds offers firmer support, and with 3 inches it offers more of that support. I can tell the difference. I sleep better and wake up with no aches or pains. I have also priced these on the internet, and overstock has the best price on this product by far! Don't pass this up!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My Achy Breaky Body
 from Arkansas,  Aug 13, 2007

I had been wanting to buy one of these mattresses for a long time but would only do so when I found one for approximately $100 and at least 3 inches thick. We got this, it arrived in a timely manner and weighs more than you think (lift with your knees). Once opened, it needed to be aired out as it is rather smelly but just letting it breathe for a few hours did the trick. We noticed that it arrived with a couple of nicks (sp?) in it but they were small, so we didn't bother making a big deal over it as a sheet would be on top of it anyway. Well, we loved it for the first 3 weeks before the foam started softening up where our body naturally lies each night. I love the mattress but my husband doesn't nor does he get a good night sleep like i do. The topper is now waiting to be given away. If either you or your partner like firm mattresses, don't bother wasting your money on this, however, if you are like me, and like softer mattresses, you WILL love this and the quality is pretty good

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Night's Sleep
 from Suburban Illinois,  Feb 22, 2007

Went shopping for mattresses after 15 years and suffered extreme sticker shock. The Serta Perfect Day Exuberance set was almost $3000! So, we took a gamble with the Serta memory foam topper, with the intention of placing a featherbed over it to mimic the feel of the Euro pillowtops featured in the stores. Followed other reviewers advice and let the thing unroll and bloom for 24 hours before use. No offputting smell, no discoloration, no tears or punctures, just spongy soft goodness! Our featherbed hasn't arrived yet, so we've been using this under the existing mattress pad and fittted sheets with fantastic results. Never had a better night's sleep. Great buy, worth it's weight in gold.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!!!
 from San Jose, CA,  Jan 16, 2008

I purchased this topper after having bought a brand new mattress that I hated and couldn't return! The first mattress I bought was too soft and I was allowed one exchange. I *thought* I was choosing carefully, but the mattress ended up being way too hard. I gave it some time so my body would adjust, but nothing. I was not sleeping at all, in pain, frustrated to the point of tears....and left feeling like I had just thrown $1,100 away. I bought this topper and it completely saved me!! I read the great reviews, but did not expect it to make this much of a difference. I took it out of the box and let it unfold on it's own as it says on the instructions. I let it air out like that in a sparebedroom for about 2 days. The smell went away soon enough. It fits perfectly on my queen bed and now.....I actually love my bed!!!! Also, I had mentioned the purchase to a friend of mine and he said he had also bought it sometime ago from Overstock and swears by it! Also, bought one for his parents.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
SO GREAT!!!
 from Andersonville Tn.,  Aug 17, 2006

I have bought many things from Overstock but the Serta memory topper is the BEST produce i have bought yet. I opened and laid it out, there was no smell to it and when i put it on my bed....which by the way i was really going to put on a spare bed....i was so pleased with it that it is staying on my bed!!! Now i am going to order 2 more of them. I also ordered a mattress pad that i was very pleased with also. Thanks so much to Overstock for saving me soooo much money!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sleeping better now
 from Powder Springs, GA,  Jun 24, 2006

My husband and I purchased this 3" topper figuring that it would be cheaper than purchasing the actual memory foam bed. I read many reviews and it seemed the only drawback was warmth (in the summer months) We purchased an oversized topper and plan to use the excess for a couple of projects (ie: make a cushion for my glider, which is impossible to buy) We have been sleeping great on it for the last week and waking up with fewer aches and pains. A regular mattress creates hip pain for me, so the soft support has been a real plus! I think we made a good buy and we are both pleased with the results so far. I did have to buy a cover for it, as the cat found it desirable to tear into little pieces. :)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't buy the Serta version!
 from New York, NY,  Jun 23, 2006

I bought a 3 inch Memory Foam queen sized mattress topper (4 lb density) from Overstock.com last year. It was fabulous. So comfortable. So I bought another one at the end of March of this year for my daughter's bedroom. This one was a Serta brand, but otherwise exactly the same. The new one REEKS of chemical smell. It's been airing out on the porch every single opportunity. But it just STINKS. I've tried squeezing it (to release trapped gas in the foam), waiting, covering it with a very thick deluxe mattress pad. Nothing works. Now it gives me a headache if I even have the slightest contact with it. It's too late for me to return it so I'm just out 130$. But you should know, there IS a difference between the Serta and other mattress toppers. DON'T BUY THE SERTA!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Check it when you get it!
 from Chicago,  Nov 21, 2006

I bought two of these toppers - both King size, about 11 months ago. I have used one of them during that time and have been very pleased with it. I opened the second one a few months later; several areas of the foam never expanded - even after laying flat for days - which meant that the topper was only usable if you didn't mind rolling from low-spot to high-spot during the night. The topper is advertised with a 1-yr manufacturer's warranty, but I found it to be worthless. Serta doesn't make these toppers, they just brand-name them. They refered me to the company that supposedly DID make the toppers; that company told me they no longer made memory foam toppers. These toppers are big/bulky items, and they are compressed tightly in the packing box. Not very easy to just pull the topper out, inspect it, and give it back to the shipper. So if you've got a defective topper, good luck fitting it in the box and returning it to O! And don't wait around like I did to examine the topper for defects...O will only take returns during the first 20 or 30 days after purchase. Understand, if you get a good one, you'll LOVE it. But if you see any areas that don't fully expand, or notice any persistant low spots, better contact O right off the bat.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Where have you been all my life?
 from Southern Illinois,  Jul 8, 2006

I read all the reviews but was still a little skeptical until the first night sleeping on this topper. WOW! It is a MIRACLE TOPPER. I do not know if the 2" or 4" would have been as wonderful but the 3" is "just right"! As far as it taking hours to come back to shape after unpacking, that was not the case. It came back to shape almost immediately. The odor was very mild. It also was not hot. We covered ours with a mattress pad and fitted sheet and it was perfect. I cannot say enough positive about this topper. We have a Select Comfort bed that we purchased years ago that I was never happy with. We also had an expensive pillow top mattress that was never comfortable either. We always woke up with aches and pains. We decided to put this topper on top of the Select Comfort mattress after airing it up firmly to provide a good support for the topper. It worked perfectly. Best nights sleep in years. Another plus is, while sleeping with your spouse, you will not disturb each other. It seemed that we were always rolling towards each other. Now it is like having your own personal sleep space. Your size and weight will not affect each other. I will never purchase another conventional mattress again. I would not recommend the topper if you have a wavy mattress as it will conform to those waves and dips but if you have a firm mattress, this is the answer to receive a great nights sleep. Another helpful hint is to purchase a california king if you have a queen, turn it 90 degrees, and cut one side to fit. We laid ours out on our hard wood floor, used a 1x2 for a straight edge, and cut it with a utility knife. If you purchase the king it won't be long enough as a queen and king bed are the same length. The cal. king worked perfectly. I hope you enjoy your topper as much as we have enjoyed ours.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Memory foam topper
 from El Paso, TX,  Oct 9, 2010

I received the topper in about a week. When I opened the box I noticed that the label said it was polyurethane foam. The description on Overstock claims it's visco-elastic, which is what I wanted and thought I would get. The topper is way too soft and is more like a cheap foam pad I could get anywhere. It does not appear to be memory foam at all. An impression pops right back up immediately. It is supposed to be a 4# density. There is no way it could be. I ordered the king size so it should have weighed more than the 39#s stated on the shipping label. The only upside is that the excess I cut off made four pillows I can use. I would not recommend this product. I believe it's falsely advertised. I did much research before purchasing this topper and am very disappointed. I was looking for a firm memory foam topper. This is not it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Do NOT Buy This One!
 from Marietta, Georgia,  Feb 7, 2008

This particular topper is the biggest waste of your money. I purchased another from Overstock titled, "Memory Foam 3-inch Mattress Topper" Buy THAT one! The foam this one is made of lost it's integrity fast and is completely useless. The other one I mentioned, I purchased in 2005 and it's STILL as brand new as the day I got it. It's still full, soft and firm. This Serta had to be thrown away and had lost height down to 1-1/2 inches! If you get this one you'll be back for the other one in no time. Go get the other one!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
We're sold on this product!
 from San Diego, CA,  Apr 6, 2007

This mattress topper is literally like sleeping on a cloud. My husband and I are so sold on the Serta 3-incher, we going to order another one for the king-size bed in our other home. For years he slept on an air mattress because of severe back problems and was leery of switching, but he wouldn't switch back for all the tea in China. And we're so glad we chose to go with the 3-inch version, rather than settle for the 2-inch model. Both of us swear we've never had such good sleep, even though our other king mattress is top-of-the-line. What a find!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I've rediscovered a good night's sleep!
 from Fayetteville, NC,  Jun 28, 2006

Thank you so much for offering this product!! My husband and I have been complaining about backaches every since we bought our Serta pillowtop mattress over a year ago. We spent so much money on the mattress and just couldn't see ourselves getting rid of it. Finally, after waking up two weeks ago at 4:11 a.m. with horrible back and neck pain, I decided that my mattress had to go. I couldn't take it anymore, my body felt as if it had been beaten with a bat. It hurt to even lie down in my bed. I was so tired of waking up in the morning and having to walk with my body bent over because of the back pain. All I wanted was a good nights sleep. So after reading the reviews about the memory foam mattress topper I decided to give the product a try. The price was good and far less than what we would have to pay to replace our "luxury pillowtop" mattress. It arrived quickly after I placed my order and from the moment I first laid down, it was love. I slept straight through the night and didn't have to wake up 75 times to change my position. I did not have a problem with the material getting too hot; your body just melts right into the material. It is not too soft or too firm. I could literally feel my body relaxing and there was NO PRESSURE on my lower back at all. Marvelous! I wasn't sure if having a pillowtop mattress would interfere with the capabilities of the foam mattress but as far as I can tell, the foam works just fine. A couple of pointers: I let the foam mattress air out for about eight hours and since then I haven't smelled the material or packaging. My regular deep pocket fitted sheet fit over the mattress topper and the pillowtop mattress. Another thing, I like firm pillows but with the foam mattress it's probably better to use a medium or soft pillow because the topper does an excellent job of supporting your spine and so a firm pillow may be overkill on the support. Since your body sinks down into the topper you may not need a thick pillow to support your neck. This is an excellent purchase and a lifesaver for those who currently battle it out with their mattresses every night. You can't go wrong with this!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Night's Rest and HELPFUL HINT
 from Columbia, MD,  Aug 2, 2006

I've been sleeping on my mattess topper for almost a week and I have noticed a difference with my back. I definately have less aches and pains...it gets better with each night. I now look forward to sleeping at night. My topper arrived in a fair amount of time and upon unpacking it, the shape took very quickly. It had a very slight odor. I let it air 2-3 days just in case, but it probably wasn't necessary. Another very HELPFUL HINT that I'd read from other reviews is that you should definately buy the Cal King for a queen bed. Queen beds measure 60x80 and when I compared the various toppers on this site for the size, none measured 60x80 (although some were close). Its best to buy the larger size and cut it to fit perfectly. Who wants toes hanging off the topper? I used a carpet cutter to size the topper, but I'm sure a box cutter would work as well. I don't recommend scissors...not precise enough and takes too long. The excess is enough for small projects. I used a little for putting between my sofa cushions...so you don't sink into the sofa. I plan on using the rest to make a long cushion for a bench. This is a great buy and I highly recommend it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bait and switch?
 from Baltimore, Maryland,  Jul 23, 2006

I ordered the queen size Serta 4 pound density memory foam topper. Delivery was attempted while I was at work. The next delivery came even earlier while I was still at work. I had to leave a signature for them to leave the package outside my apartment door. The foam did not have any packaging as the ones you see at a store. It was a slab of foam rolled up with shrink wrap. It also had cuts in it and bottom of cardboard box shipped in, from damage during delivery. The foam was grey, not the cream or white color shown in the photo. Since there was no packaging, I have no way of knowing if I recieved what I ordered. I ordered the Serta brand because the density was higher, but the measurements of the topper I received are not he measurements listed for the Serta topper. The measurements of the topper fit the measurements of the topper Overstock sells that has a lower density (3pound). Since there was no packaging, wrong color, and wrong size, I don't know if I recieved the topper Ipaid for a lower quality model. I would rate the topper that I recieved as only moderately comfortable. I PURHCASE A LOT OF MERCHANDISE ONLINE, BUT DO NOT THINK I WILL PURCHASE FROM OVERSTOCK.COM AGAIN.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Chatsworth, GA, USA,  Jan 30, 2006

My husband & I purchased this item about 2 months ago & we love it. It is soft comfortable (very) it has helped my back a lot. My Mother has cancer & is in bed most of the time & I am now on this site to purchase her one. Thanks overstock for a superb product at a decent price. Jeana

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Massachusetts,  Jan 30, 2006

I bought the 3" topper as a trial for my husband and I. We had inherited my parents bedroom furniture along with their king mattress, which was worse for the wear, although only about 7 years old. Instead of spending a few thousand dollars on a new mattress, I decided to spend about $120 for this topper. My husband was very skeptical, but since he cannot sleep at night due to chronic joint pain, he agreed to fork over the $$ and give it a try. The topper came, tightly rolled, and we followed the enclosed instructions about peeling it gently apart. Still, it looked pretty smushed. We let it sit on the bed for a day, and the shape slowly expanded to fit our king mattress. There was a strong chemical odor, which after 3 months now, has finally dissipated. I stretched the mattress pad and sheets right over the topper to make the bed. We have been sleeping like royalty ever since. My husband sleeps all night now, and instead of getting up in the morning and limping painfully around from back and knee pain until our bodies warm up, we get up in the morning free from pain. The only problem is that the kids won't stay out of our bed at night, so I just purchased 2" toppers for them. Another nice feature about the topper is that it keeps our body heat regulated, so no more drenching night sweats. I look forward to being cozy in our bed and not freezing cold, come the cold New England winter. A fantastic product that lives up to it's claims, bought from a great O-nline shopping service!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Lenoir/NC/USA,  Jan 30, 2006

I bought this a few weeks ago and have been very pleased-no more morning backaches! Due to a review I read before ordering, I went ahead and got a larger size, and after the pad expanded after a few days, I cut off the excess material, and had a perfectly fitted pad and enough left over to put at the top as a pillow. I would recommend this to anyone, but suggest ordering a size larger than you need.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 3770 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 189 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top