Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
This one is just right.
 from Fort Worth, TX,  Jul 27, 2013

We've been sleeping on this topper for six months now. We put it on top of our memory foam mattress, and it's the perfect setup. Of course what someone finds comfortable is such a highly individualized thing, but for us, this topper has been about the most perfect thing we've ever slept on. It's perfectly supportive. We tested the topper by itself on the floor for a couple of nights when we first got it, and we were still really comfortable - it's only 2 inches thick and we could not feel the floor underneath us. Really cool. I'm 6'6" and weigh 260 lbs, and this topper distributes my weight nicely. It stays strong and "springy" when I'm on it - it does not 'cave in' as I am accustomed to most mattresses doing under my bulk. Weight is equally distributed and there are no pressure points. I do have back problems that have improved since we got this thing. I no longer wake up stiff and sore. A huge plus. It also sleeps very cool. We're in Texas, so even with air conditioning you're struggling to stay cool some nights (also, memory foam mattresses are notoriously hot). This topper does not allow your body heat to accumulate under you - we've never awakened sweating or suffered any heat discomfort. For the first month or so, there was a very distinct latex smell coming from the topper. The sheets would end up getting permeated with the smell and we'd have to wash them a bit more frequently to keep it from getting too obnoxious. As long as we were diligent with the washing, the smell wasn't so powerful that we couldn't sleep on it and enjoy it. This might be different for other folks. I wanted to point it out, but it wasn't enough of an issue for me to deduct a star from the rating. When I first started comparing latex toppers my eyes popped a bit at the expense of some of these things. Six months into it, I have zero regrets about spending what I did on this one - wouldn't hesitate to get another some day (but I have a feeling this one's going to last us a long time). If you get this and have never slept on a latex topper before, you might find that it feels foreign and weird. It took a week or so for us to get accustomed to this much support. But now, I couldn't live without it. Not too firm, not too soft. Cool, supportive, and just right.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This mattress topper was a better fit for us.
 from Boston, MA,  Jan 1, 2013

This natural latex (Dunlop process) foam mattress topper was a better fit for us than memory foam. We had tried two different memory foam toppers, finding them both too "squishy" and ofter too warm - especially in summer months. We are happy with this purchase so far and recommend it to sleepers who are seeking firm but compliant support with the added benefit of the conformal qualities found in natural foam rubber. Mattress arrived quickly, required no "airing-out" and fit our queen size bed perfectly. Can't wait to compare its hot weather performance to our prior experience with memory foam alternative. Only "negative" is that natural foam rubber is more expensive than other forms of foam mattress toppers, so be prepared for the cost/benefit price difference.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
comfort pad with bad smell
 from Pottstown PA,  Oct 24, 2012

I read where there is a "chemical" smell that eventually goes away. Well, I took the pad outside twice to air out and it still smells after 3 weeks .I don't know what it's like as far as comfort because the smell has prevented me from using it. It feels soft but can't vouch for an overnight sleep. I also thought the cover was removable. It is not, so if it gets soiled there is NO way to get it cleaned.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
False Advertising
 from Champaign, IL,  Oct 13, 2012

When I removed the topper from the packaging, I thought it was smaller than 2" tall. After "allowing 48 hours for this product to return to its original shape", I measured with calipers and found that the topper was 1.6", and that included the polyester cover! So the latex foam is probably only 1.5". The polyester cover is not removable so I can't measure just the latex foam portion. Regardless, the topper is not 2". Additionally, the thing reeks. The tag says "it may carry factory odors for up to 3 weeks", so I guess I'll just have to wait and see. I have a latex foam pillow, which I love. It never smelled as bad as this topper. In the current state, I cannot use the topper because the odor gives me headaches.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Comfortable but does smell
 from Boston, MA,  Aug 17, 2012

I asked if this product had an odor before I ordered it. I was told it does not, so I purchased it. I was specifically looking for one that did not have a smell and that would help with the transfer of motion. So... it does have a strong smell that the packaging acknowledges and says will dissipate. So be warned that you may have to allow it to air out for up to three weeks per packaging info. The smell does not bother my husband but my hair, sheets, pajamas and pillows all smell like latex. I am hoping it goes away quickly as it has been over a week. As far as comfort, it is really nice. Limiting transfer of motion is maybe a 2/3 out of 5.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Product!
 from New York, NY,  May 11, 2012

This topper is amazing! More like a 2" mattress not a topper. The cover is beautiful, very well constructed, soft and has a nice damask design on it. Also has nice wide anchor bands to hold securely to your mattress. The quality, price and name of the maker makes it even better. I highly recommend this product. Thank you Overstock for a great affordable price and product!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointed
 from Southwest,  May 2, 2013

I carefully shopped for this topper after my memory foam topper started giving me painful morning backaches. I was really impressed when I saw the 4.8 lb density as I felt I had been hitting rock bottom with my memory foam. After my first night on this latex topper I awoke with the worse backache yet and my backaches have continued almost a month later. This latex has a very soft feel. When I press on it with my hand with little pressure, I feel like It sinks to the bottom and I hit my hard mattress. I don't feel like it's relieving the pressure on my joints. I do like the cover on it and the fact that it doesn't shift around on the bed, but I paid too much for such bad night's sleep. I'd return this in a heartbeat if I could get it back in a box.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
What a difference!!
 from Pelham Al,  Dec 21, 2012

After buying a new mattress for our RV we were a bit disappointed. We've used the memory foam before and do not like it as it is too hot. I did a bit of research and decided on the Dunlop Latex mattress topper. The Dunlop latex is firmer than the Talalay latex. What a difference! We will getting another for the mattress in our guest bedroom. Love it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Fair Value : Fair Comfort : Average Comfort
Wish it was better
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Aug 29, 2013

I read the reviews and had high hopes for this latex topper; The good: this Latex is a 100% natural product, with no synthetic additives--the brief smell is from the rubber tree plant, not toxic off-gassing. Also, it is not vacuum-packed where the air is sucked out of the bag, but compressed & roll packed and there's no waiting around for it to take shape like memory foam products. Now, I read up on the attributes of latex, the definition of Dunlop vs Talalay process; the same latex is processed differently, so Talalay is softer because it contains more air bubbles, Dunlop is denser. I decided to order the Dunlop because it offers more support and this ILD (4.8 lb per cubic ft=16 to 18) is med soft/firm and feels okay. The Bad: Well, first of all, this topper did not live up to my expectations because of its poorly constructed cover; nice stretchy fabric but it cannot be removed and the sewn on piping renders it to roll onto itself on the sides and the corners.The cover should ideally have boxed/gusseted edge with a zipper! Furthermore, and this isn't Os fault, but the thickness is NOT 2"! It fluctuates from 1.75" in the middle to 1.5" on the edges. Okay...O's excellent customer service offered to replace but I wasn't willing to get another with same problems. They offered me return label, but being a weakling :o) I could not maneuver...so II'm resigned to keep it & replace with a boxed edge zippered cover. Use your own judgement

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Quality, Fast Ship, Comfortable
 from Carmel, IN,  Sep 26, 2012

We purchased this topper for therapeutic purposes (lumbar disc problems), as the topper of this brand that we purchased for our RV made all the difference when used over the cheap mattress that comes standard in RVs. Had very restful sleep in the RV, and woke up in the morning with no stiffness, at all! So, we purchased this for our king-size bed in the home, hoping for the same results. Short answer- it's better, but not as impactful as it was in the RV. I have less stiffness in the morning, so it's an improvement. Guess the next step is a new mattress, and we'll likely get something firm and retain the topper as the 'pillow' top.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better Than Anticipated
 from Carmel, IN,  Aug 29, 2012

We bought this as a solution for our RV bed. Most RV beds are a mattress only, not mattress/box spring combos, and the mattresses are pretty cheap. I'm 6'3, 250#, and have a herniated disc in my lower back, so sleeping on the RV mattress wasn't enough support. We looked at regular mattresses as a replacement, but the height of them is an issue in our camper, and we have learned that the memory foam mattresses sleep 'hot', so we bought this as a trial to see if it would make enough difference for me. To my surprise, this little 2" topper makes a tremendous difference. In our first weekend of camping with the new topper I slept extremely well, with very little stiffness in the morning. Actually, I was less stiff than I am when I get out of bed in the morning at home, after sleeping on our $2000 king-size bed. I'm considering getting the king-size version of this topper to see if I get the same result. Some other reviews have talked about the smell of these items, but we can't comment; we unrolled it on the RV bed and left it there for three days prior to our camping trip, so by the time we got in the camper there was no smell at all. Overall, I'm quite pleased with this little topper, although $200+ seems crazy for a piece of latex rubber with a mattress cover over it. That's the reason for the good, instead of excellent, review. If this thing was $99 I'd give it excellent...

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great topper
 from SC,  Aug 12, 2012

This is the third mattress topper we have tried. Love it. Doesn't get hot like memory foam and provides softness and support. I like firm support and my husband likes soft support, and we both are sleeping great with this topper.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Comfort, cool
 from Austin, TX,  Jun 19, 2012

My Mom could not sleep, then this topper and the wool mattress pad, used together helped her stay comfortable all night.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent Comfort : Somewhat Firm
Wonderful mattress topper!!!
 from Ventura, Ca,  Mar 28, 2014

We bought a sleep number bed and after 6 months of stiffness and backaches decided to get a 100% latex mattress topper and LOVE this one!! Bought two latex pillows too and have slept all night without tossing and turning trying to get comfortable. I am tempted to buy another 2 inch 100% latex topper and remove the cheap foam that is inside of the mattress. The top of the mattress unzips for replacement of the foam that come with the bed, however I did not think I'd have to replace it after only 6 months! If you buy this topper you will LOVE it, we do. Thank-You Overstock!!!!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Latex mattress topper
 from Florence, OR,  Jul 23, 2013

We bought this latex mattress topper for our queen mattress in our RV. It adds a wonderful layer of additional comfort to the bed. It took a few days for the smell to dissipate, but airing it out is all it needed. I would buy another one as I thought the price was fair for the quality. There is nothing like a luxurious bed when you're out camping in your RV!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very comfy
 from michigan,  Jun 28, 2013

We ordered this mattress pad to improve our sleep. Our current mattress was just a little too hard. This pad makes all the difference! Now I sleep well thru the night and don't have any sore spots when I wake up. We did our research and found out that pure latex was the best for comfort and keeping an even body temp. I must say it was all true and we are very happy with our purchase!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful!
 from Montana,  Jul 8, 2012

Our motorhome came standard with Sleep Number Bed. To make that mattress tolerable a 3 inch Tempurpedic Mattress topper was purchased...still very uncomfortable and caused my shoulders to "go to sleep", but not me. I took out the expensive Tempurpedic and replaced it with this fantastic latex foam topper. We have been on the road for two weeks and it is the first time, I have finally been comfortable. Truly, latex foam is the best... Memory foam got all the marketing, but I think people are beginning to realize, it isn't the best. Case in point, memory foam becomes VERY firm under you and soon your circulation is compromised. Latex responds to your every move. The cover is very nice and any latex smell has completely disapated. I am seriously considering getting a topper for our Beautyrest that has a layer of memory foam. Don't buy memory foam...latex all the way.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top