Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
Our Biggest Labor Day Sale Ever
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 108 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Protect-A-Bed Waterproof Mattress Cover
 from Yuma, Arizona,  Jul 9, 2009

We recently bought a latex pillow top mattress and wanted to protect the bamboo quilted pillow top and mattress with a waterproof cover. Since my pillow top is very plush, I did not need a quilted waterproof cover, just a nice cover to protect my mattress. Several waterproof covers on the market are treated with a ProGuard stain protection in the terry cloth material, while the Protect-A-Bed uses a miracle membrane which is slippery on top of my bamboo quilted pillow top mattress. The cotton terry cloth finish is also very slippery and over all this is a very thin mattress cover. Since my mattress is 13 inches thick, the nylon sides of the mattress cover with elastic all around the edges does fit and go under my thick mattress, but I really don't like the nylon on the sides of this cover. I would rather have a cotton finish. I bought this because the reviews were really good and many people said that you would not hear any "crunchy" sound. I washed the cover before using and put it on my mattress and noticed that it slips all around on top of my pillow top mattress. I thought that after I put on my 100% Egyptian Cotton Sateen fitted sheet over the pad that it would not slip, but it does due to the slippery feeling of the cotton terry cloth finish. After sleeping on the bed one night with this mattress cover on, my fitted sheet slips back and forth and we both noticed as we were sleeping in the bed that we could feel the sheet slip and hear a "crunchy" noise. Since I want to protect our new mattress, I am leaving on the Protect-A-Bed cover but I have added another fitted quilted cotton mattress cover on top of the waterproof cover. Now the fitted sheet is not slipping, and we don't hear a "crunchy" sound every time we turn over on our mattress. Since I did not see this item before purchasing, I am stuck with this cover and because it is so thin and slips on my mattress I would not recommend this item. If I had to buy a waterproof cover again, I would prefer a quilted cover made with cotton and a stain protection finish instead of the slippery membrane that is under this terry cotton cover. I would look and feel any mattress cover before buying one again to see how slippery it would be on a quilted mattress.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Does not work!!!
 from Murrieta, CA,  Jun 9, 2014

Please whatever you do do not waste your money on this product. We woke up to a surprise from our 5 year old who climbed in bed with us. I am not sure how long we were sleeping with a wet bed before we woke up to the soaked mattress; however, it was long enough to soak through the protector to the mattress. We had purchased the mattress protector with the new bed. We were assured that if we purchased the protector and it failed the protect a bed company would replace the mattress. My story is identical to others review if the product. They company WILL replace the pad if it fails. They company WILL NOT replace your mattress as stated. I inspected the pad before I mailed it in and there were NO visible tears. I have pictures to prove there is no damage. Also, I did wash my pad with my sheets on the gently cycle in warm water. This is per their recommendation to wash the product with towels or other like cloth. After they complete their so called "product testing" they found "minimal tearing" to the product. I have no idea where they are seeing the tears as I did not see any even after holding it up to the light. Even if there were tears not visible to the naked eye, it was not do to any misuse of the product. They offered a $XXX. cleaning fee but stated that this was above and beyond there warranty and wanted me to sign a agreement that the warranty would be done and satisfied in full. Great that they are offering a cleaning fee; however, this was not what we were promised if the product failed which is clearly did!!! PLEASE do not purchase this product!!! They will not honor their warranty!!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mattress Saver
 from Virginia Beach, VA,  Dec 4, 2009

I bought this for my son's mattress. It has been through 3 washes in the month we've had it and has held up very well in the washer and dryer. My son's mattress stays dry and protected. I gave 4 stars for appearance and comfort only because it looks like a super-flimsy terry cloth top and the underside is a waterproof plastic. If you're looking for a cushy mattress pad, this is not for you; however, if you're looking for something that will protect your mattress very well, don't look any further!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
THREE FAILED ZIPPER SHEETS, RUINED NEW MATTRESS
 Apr 21, 2015

I cannot tell you how disgusted I am with this company. THREE of their zipper sheets failed on our cleaners within weeks of each other. On the first one, the zipper tab snapped right off. On the second one, the zipper literally ripped apart (both had the same MOD manufacturing code, so it was a defective zipper product) and after our cleaners installed the third sheet set, it tore right across the middle. Our son is severely disabled so this $600 of zipper sheets was purchased along with a $1000 king bed mattress set and changed by professionals to keep the warranty in place. Didn't matter, Protectabed started a claim for us but has been non-communicative and argumentative, saying the mattress company clearly weren't paying attention during their training and Protectabed has no intention of cleaning the soiled mattress that their failed product caused (so that voided the brand new mattress warranty when it stained), and have replaced ZERO of the sheets which we bought 6 months ago. Their 10-year warranty is WORTHLESS. We found a competing, softer zipper sheet at Bed Bath and Beyond for a fraction of the cost. I will never support Protectabed ever again. They STINK as bad as the expensive soiled mattress we had to replace. PLEASE read the tons of 1-star terrible reviews this item received on Amazon. The product is flawed, there is zero standing behind their warranty. I wish I had read the horrible 1-star reviews first, stay away from this product and this bogus 10-year warranty, it's an expensive joke on the consumer.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't buy this product!!!
 Apr 5, 2015

Have owned this item for about 5 years. Went to wash it today and when I removed it from the bed I found the material had broken down. It left piles of broken down material item is made of. Thought just a matter of vacuuming it would do that trick. This was not the case. It also damaged the material of the mattress apparently due from the friction of whatever the mattress pad is made of. Am using a cat comb now to try to remove this but isn't working to well. The mattress material has been compromised as well. Lots of complaints on this product. Buyer beware!!!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pointless
 from Lakewood Ranch FL,  Oct 21, 2013

Put this on my daughters brand new mattress before we tried sleeping through the night without diaper. 1st night wet bed. I was so mad when I took off the sheets and this protector to find the mattress soaked as well. I took it into the bathroom to test it by pouring water on it and it just leaks right through after about 20 seconds. Then I looked at the package again to make sure it said waterproof. It sure does and it is anything but that. Don't know why other reviewers seem to have a good experience.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Prptects the mattress as intended
 from NH,  Oct 5, 2012

Because I have a young one on the cusp of not wetting the bed, he still has accidents and this protector has keep the mattress totally dry and has been washed several times. Holding up well!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Does not leak
 from Ohio,  Sep 29, 2012

Fit the memory foam mattress perfect. Had 2 accidents occur, and did not leak even a little. Held up through 2 washing's so far.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
protect a bed waterproof mattress
 from Neenah, WI,  Aug 20, 2012

It leaks, what more can I say? The mattress is now smelly because their product did not do what it claims.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Is not water proot at all
 from Philly, PA,  Oct 8, 2011

My 3 year old just wet the bed and it 100% went through this bed pad! I just wasted $$$.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? poor
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not Waterproof
 from Long Beach, CA,  Feb 27, 2011

I bought this for a brand new twin mattress for my son. He does wear training pants and unfortunately the first night had an accident and the urine went right through to the mattress. I did mean to buy the "Premium" Protect A Bed I had seen in the store, but regardless, this one says "Waterproof" and it is not! So now our brand new twin pillow top mattress has a urine stain. I do not recommend this for children. It may work on night sweats, but does not work on urine!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Until accident happened
 from San Jose, CA,  Nov 27, 2010

We were happy with the protector for the last 4 years while there was no accident. Until recently, my 4 year old son had two huge heavy accidents - one on his Tempurpedic bed which was covered with a year old protector, and one on my Tempurpedic bed which was covered with a 4 year old protector. Both protectors leaked! Both stains from the leaking were bigger than a palm size! It was great that I had a thick mattress pad under the protector. Otherwise, both of Tempurpedic soak with pee. I think the protector can only handle small job and not big one - a glass of wine may be too much already. Before the accidents, I would had rated it for a 5 stars.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
go-to mattress protector
 from Durham, NC,  May 15, 2009

These are great we have them on all our beds. Waterproof but soft and not-plasticy feeling.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Apr 22, 2009

The mattress cover is excellent and provides an extra layer on my 5 year-old's bed. The mattress was expensive, and I don't want it ruined by any spill, etc. I feel secure knowing the cover is there. It is a great price for a great product.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Proven waterproof on my Tempurpedic mattress
 Aug 21, 2016

This is my second purchase of this waterproof mattress protector because I know it works! I had a young pet that was very ill, and was sleeping on my bed with me. He had an accident on the bed (which I didn't mind) because he was terminal and I wanted him to be cuddled and loved for as long as possible. This mattress protector worked and my mattress did not have one bit of moisture or staining. It is also easy to launder and it lasted a long time. The waterproof lining did eventually break down and rip after about 4 years, which isn't surprising since it was used daily, and laundered frequently. Great product!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Terrific!
 Jul 8, 2016

The best of its class. Buying it for al my beds.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product great price
 Jun 24, 2016

I started buying these fifteen years ago when a family member was very ill. I kept buying them when grandchildren came along. I just bought two more just because ive redone two guest rooms. None has worn out ; the sizes have changed. Because they are breathable and no crinkle I use them. No misfortune hurts a mattress. So much cheaper than elsewhere

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not Waterproof
 Jun 8, 2016

Okay for a mattress cover if you do not care if it is not really waterproof.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great item
 May 10, 2016

great item, good fit and good quality

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works well with memory foam mattress
 May 6, 2016

We bought this as a replacement for the mattress protector we bought when we first got our memory foam mattress. This is the same item but this one has a deeper skirt to fit thicker mattresses. So it fits better than the first one I had. This is comfortable to sleep on and doesn't interfere with the comfort of the memory foam mattress. The previous one did a good job of protecting the mattress from stains and spills. However, the waterproof backing began to break down before the 10 years it was under warranty for. I had misplaced the warranty information and didn't try to get it replaced so I don't know how their customer service is on that point. By the time we had it for 10 years the backing was falling off in many areas and finally was too bad to launder again so I had to replace it. We used it for 11 years. This time I will keep the information so that I can get it replaced if it doesn't live up to my expectations. The price at Overstock was the best I could find anywhere.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 108 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought