For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 213 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 11 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Unbelievable
 from Pittsburg, KS,  Sep 22, 2009

I am not prone to write product reviews but can't help myself on this one. I have been on something of a personal quest for the perfect pillow for many years. I sleep part on my back and part on my side so it's really hard to find a pillow that works well for either position.Having tried all kinds--shapes, sizes, materials (even two different buckwheat hull pillows), I bought this because I've never seen anything quite like it. I like my other buckwheat hull pillows enough but they are hard (make my ears sore) and they make a lot more noise than you might think, especially for side sleeping.Well, this pillow is amazing. It's quiet and soft, for one thing. But even more important, you can get just the right amount of support exactly where you want it--it's easy to slosh the hulls around the pillow--but once you get it right, they stay in place. It's like the direct down pressure just locks them in place and they don't move much, once you get the elevation and shape just how you want it. So the pillow CONFORMS to ME instead of expecting me to conform to the pillow. I've never been able to do that with a pillow.But the best part--that side panel works double wonders. When I am on my side it fills the whole space in the neck-shoulder-head area--very cozy. But on my back I just shake down the hulls and create a little nest for the very back of my skull--and that side panel forms the most amazing cervical support pillow I've ever used. Wow.I highly recommend this pillow for anybody who has been on the search for best pillow--

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Buckwheat Hull pillows rock!
 from Federal Way,  May 18, 2011

Wow! Now before you walk away thinking this is some kind of gimmicky pillow, please know that I've been fighting with pillows for a very long time. I've got allergies, a bad neck and back. I absolutely love these pillows (purchased 2 from Overstock.com). You don't even have to fill the casing completely with the hulls. I used about 1/2 of the bag. Somehow these things just snuggle around your head and give your neck the support it needs. If you want a soft, non-supportive pillow, keep going. But if you need a firm, supportive pillow--this is your new pillow. As an added bonus for me, I love the rustling sound of the hulls...it's just a pleasant sound. In the last 6 weeks, I've completed revamped my bedding thru this website, and I have nothing but great reviews for everything!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best Buckwheat Ever
 from Huntington Beach, CA,  Oct 27, 2009

I've only had my new, sweet buckwheat pillow for a few days now, but I already know I made a great choice! I LOVE this pillow!!!! I really wasn't sure whether I should replace my old pillow, but the quilted cover and box shape of this one combine to make itso much better than my old buckwheat. It isn't even close. I sleep so great now! Being a side-sleeper, I really appreciated the enormous amount of buckwheat provided - in spite of filling my pillow completely as full as I need, I still have about 1/3 my bag left, so as they settle I will keep it topped off, perfectly full, comfortable and wonderful. I can't believe they haven't thought of this before. This is an AWESOME pillow! If you have ever tried buckwheat in the past, or you sleep on it now, or even if you haven't, you simply owe it to yourself to give this one a try. It is the best pillow I've ever had, and it will be the last pillow I ever buy. Thanks Overstock! You guys rock!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
ZZZZZZ : )
 from Maynardville, TN,  Oct 25, 2009

After 20 years, I threw away my old buckwheat hull pillow and bought this Premium Buckwheat Hull Pillow. What a difference...it's quieter (quilted cover muffles the "crunch") and wa-a-ay more comfortable. It came with explicit instructions on how much of the buckwheat to put into the quilted case, depending on whether you're a back, side, stomach, or a combination sleeper. I used about two-thirds of the hulls and have the rest stored for future use. Great pillow, excellent instructions, and worth the money. And, as always, outstanding service from Overstock.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Small but works
 from Sierra Vista, AZ,  Mar 9, 2011

Okay, this pillow isn't as large as it should be. It's larger than a normal travel pillow, smaller than a regular/standard pillow; but it does keep your head cool and your neck supported. I use it with a regular pillow (one of my favorite, but flat pillows) to help muffle the crunching; but once I'm asleep - it's quiet and good! I find I don't toss and turn as much as with normal pillows.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sterilization Not Necessary
 from Cedar Hills, UT,  Aug 30, 2011

The product information doesn't say anything about how clean the hulls are and includes some information about how to sterilize the hulls. This can be misleading. I asked the manufacturer and received the following: "The hulls are sourced from a specialty processing facility that provides a variety of buckwheat products to the food services industry. As a result, the buckwheat it purchases is subject to stringent requirements and the mill is certified USDA food grade. The hulls are an important byproduct of buckwheat and are carefully processed for the buckwheat pillow markets. I understand that the cleaning process includes screen sifting to remove small particles and electrostatically charging and tumbling the hulls prior to cleaning, followed by a negative air-flow process to remove any residual flour or dust. Having sold thousands of pillows over the years we have yet to hear of a complaint about the hulls. They are the best on the market. The reference to sterilization is a generic comment that relates to any buckwheat hull pillow: It is not intended to suggest that the pillow needs to be sterilized for any reason." -Bret Randall, Manager, Pur-Sleep, Inc The Website **** states: "Our premium buckwheat hulls are sourced from the finest North American suppliers. They are clean, dust free, and hypoallergenic." Great pillow!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Appears to well made and durable.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate but incomplete
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I decided to try this based on other customer's positive reviews. I have suffered with neck problems for years. I got this pillow as an experiment - and am so pleased that I bought another one! I sleep on front, back and both sides, and it works for all. I only used about two thirds of the filling... with all it was too hard. I have not found it to be noisy - and use a regular pillow case with it - although it is smaller than a standard pillow. I would not call it a miracle, but have noticed significant improvement in headaches and shoulder pain. Ii is definitely worth a shot if you have neck problems. I had tried other bean bag and memory foam pillows and like this one the best!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very nice - other reviews were right on!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this pillow!
 from Illinois,  Apr 12, 2011

I have been recommending this pillow to everyone I know. I had been using a contoured pillow for the past 3 years and recently had been getting very poor sleep, waking up and flipping completely over from one side to the other, and sometimes even waking up with my hands completely numb. With this new pillow I am sleeping very deeply, waking rested in the morning, and can now sleep on my back as well as my side. I have a long neck and broad shoulders, so I am very comfortable using all of the buckwheat in the pillow. I find the size of the pillow to be sufficient, even though it is smaller than a typical pillow. I don't have to readjust when I change my position. The sound of the buckwheat is sufficiently muffled by the quilted cover, just a gentle rustling, which I find soothing. My husband has been eyeing my new pillow, so I may be purchasing another soon.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Great Pillow!
 from Chicago area,  Apr 27, 2011

When I used to fly to Japan for work, I was never able to sleep on the hotel buckwheat pillows because they were crunchy feeling, loud and "one size fits all". I definitely prefer this "American" style. It has a nice thick cover which makes it softer and much quieter and, being able to customize the amount of fill to fit your personal sleeping style, really makes all the difference! It took several adjustments before I finally got the right amount of fill, so don't give up...it may take several tries. The cover is well made and the gusseted sides keep it from going flat. The hulls are very clean...absolutely no dust...which is a real bonus for those of us with allergies. I am now sleeping more soundly, no longer waking up with a stiff neck and, I swear, I'm dreaming more! There is definitely an improvement in my quality of sleep and I have also noticed an improvement in my TMJ. If you want a soft fluffy pillow, this is not for you. But if you want a pillow that you can "customize" to properly support your head and neck, then I highly recommend this pillow.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A good solution!
 from Sea Cliff, NY,  Oct 26, 2011

I have a frozen rotator cuff and my physical therapist recommended that I purchase a buckwheat hull pillow. I knew that Overstock.com was the solution to finding exactly what I needed. The Premium Buckwheat Hull pillow that I bought at the site arrived quickly, giving me much relief and allowing me to sleep. Now my shoulder is healed, but I still sleep with this very comfortable pillow.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Outstanding quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Extremely accurate!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best Ever!!!!
 from Alabama,  Nov 30, 2009

By far the best pillow I have ever slept on. The only con for me was that unlike other reviewers this pillow did not come with enough fill so I had to order another 2 lb. bag to fit my need, I may like it harder than the usual person though. Pros are to many to list but I can say that this is the cheapest for what you get, comparable ones in this qaulity range are at least $85 if not more. I have probably bought 12 expensive pillows in the last 3 years (memory foam, center support, water filled etc.) and this supports my neck better and I do not wake up hurting in the morning and I seem to be better rested also.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for my neck !
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Sep 26, 2011

I had a cervical ( neck ) fusion over 15 yrs ago & sleeping has always been a problem; just trying to get comfortable. Had a buckwheat travel pillow a while back. After about 2 nights, I really am thankful I ordered this one. Helpful to be able to add the hulls my self ! A restfull night"s sleep. Thanks.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Right on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wanted to try it
 from SF Bay Area,  Aug 30, 2011

Wanted to try a buckwheat hull pillow as I've heard they are comfortable. But it's not for me. I sent back after trying it out for 3 nights of sleeping. I think using one is a highly personal choice. Everyone is different....it may be just the right item for you. So, give it a try! I appreciated the fact I could send it back if I didn't like it. My money was promptly refunded. Overstock is an excellent place to purchase items. Thank you.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quilted pillow is made of high quality materials
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate Description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Little Stuffit
 from Scottsdale, AZ,  Aug 20, 2010

First of all, this is a very small pillow, its not standard size, its 13" x 18" x 4". I have purses bigger than this thing. Second, it's a do-it-yurself item. The item comes with a sack of hulls and the case and you fill it up. It did not expect that either. You can store the hulls in the freezer!!!! I hope no one cooks them up for dinner. Duh. Not what I expected and expensive for the small size. Maybe it'll be a travel pillow for the car?

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Enjoying my new pillow.
 from Smyrna, TN,  Jul 28, 2011

This pillow is great for anyone with neck issues. I have always used a hard foam orthopaedic pillow with a price tag twice what this one was. I decided to try this one out and glad I did. This is NOT for anyone who likes a soft pillow. While the hulls do shift with the weight of your head, they are still quite firm. I like the way you can contour the hulls to a comfortable position. It is smaller then normal pillows but as I don't move around a lot at night it is a nonissue for me. Having received neck injuries in several auto accidents, this really keeps my neck aligned and keeps the headaches at bay. It is a great product and I would recommend it to anyone who needs the neck support.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? N/A
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The casing is well made and so far does not leak any hulls.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE THIS PILLOW!!!
 from san francisco, ca,  Jul 22, 2014

My boyfriend and I have been in search of the elusive "perfect pillow" for years. We succeeded when we purchased our mattress (elsewhere), but kept finding pillows that felt nice at the store but we'd bring them home and after just a few weeks, we'd be back to stiff necks & pain upon waking. I had seen much smaller buckwheat pillows in Japantown (here in SF), and was intrigued- how could something so "hard" be something one would want to sleep on? I read everything I could about these pillows and they seem perfect for the aches and pains we were feeling from regular pillows. Feeling a little crazy one night, I splurged and bought us both a buckwheat piillow! I am SO HAPPY. This pillow cradles my neck, provides support where I need it, and is so squishable I can pretty much have it either be soft or firm or soft here and firm there. It's a standard size pillow and they send plenty of hulls to fill it with. Ours are both about 2/3 full and we're saving the rest if these flatten out a bit. Another thing I read was that they get quieter as you use them more- the buckwheat gets smoother from impaction? My daughter was having a hard time sleeping in her bed a few nights back, so I asked her if she wanted to sleep with me so I could rub her back. As I was rubbing her back (her head on the new buckwheat pillow) she asked 1. what she was sleeping on and 2. why I hadn't gotten her one!!! So, a 3rd has been ordered and we are counting the days until she gets hers.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very good pillow
 from Hong Kong,  Apr 10, 2014

For the first time in my life, I had to look into getting a better pillow following a stiff back in my neck, which left me sleepless for a few days. I did some research, and buckwheat pillow seemed to be a good solution. I am a side sleeper, and for me this pillow is perfect: once in place, it does not move, and keeps my head and neck supported.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Buckwheat pillow
 from ar,  Feb 13, 2014

Exactly what I needed. Haven't awakened with a headache since I got it! After 30 years of waking up with migraines in full swing most mornings , this is such a relief for me.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I love this pillow!
 from Mapleton, UT,  Feb 7, 2014

In the Box: - Pillow (empty) - Bag of Buckwheat Hulls (for stuffing the pillow) First Impression: My first impression was that the pillow is very well made, quilted, and of good material. The appearance is that it is very high quality. Filling the Pillow: (Be careful! Those hulls can get everywhere.) I used a large (2 cup) measuring cup to fill the pillow. I used approximately 3/4s of the hulls. Obviously you can put in less or more depending on your preference. Once the pillow is full, the zipper closes nice and tight. I have had no leaks. Sleeping: With the hulls in the pillow, it is semi-heavy (definitely not light) which is what I prefer. With a little pressure, you can get the pillow into the position/shape that you like. It tends to keep its position/shape during normal use. Noise: I was originally concerned that the hulls moving would be noisy. This has turned out not to be a problem. It is quiet. Definitely quieter than something like a bean bag. Allergies: I don't have any allergies but my wife does. Neither of us has had any issues with this pillow. Bottom Line: I've been using this pillow for a week or so now. I'd definitely recommend this pillow to anyone who prefers a heavier pillow, does not move the pillow around during sleep, and likes neck and shoulder support from the pillow. I'll be sending more to family members as gifts.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent supportinsg pillow...
 from Virginia,  Dec 12, 2013

I have had a buckwheat hull pillow for over 15 years now and always take it with me when I travel since it helps support my neck. I have minor arthritis in my neck and depend on this type of pillow for better sleep support. However, with this new Premium Buckwheat Hull Pillow, I feel I have died and gone to heaven. The quilted pillow is well made, and the buckwheat hulls provided are just the right amount for my comfort level. I would highly recommend this product to others without reserve.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 213 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 11 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top