Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 744 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 38 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Nice
 from Columbus, Ohio,  Dec 25, 2010

While talking to my Dad one day he was telling me how hard it was to find a 100% cotton blanket. I checked several sites and was impressed with the price of this blanket on Overstock.com. I found several on other sites that were 2-3 times more costly. I ordered one for him for Christmas and at this price I thought I should order one for myself as well. The order was delivered quickly. I opened one and was impressed with the texture and weave. Prior to using it, I washed and dried it. Upon taking it out of the dryer, I was totally impressed with the way the blanked "thickened" up. It was easily 3 times thicker. I put it on the bed and am shocked at the weight of it and how warm it is. I like to sleep in a cold room but this blanket prevents that. I am 100% satisfied with this purchase. If you are looking for a comfortable, high quality cotton blanket, buy this one. You won`t be disappointed. ***WARNING*** Clean your lint trap before drying. You will find a ball of lint about the size of a softball after drying this blanket. Of course I have a king size blanket.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
gaemond
 from Kentucky,  Jul 13, 2011

I just purchased this Grand Hotel blanket. It looked beautiful in the package. I washed it before using it and I have washed it two times and rinsed four times and it is absolutely falleng apart with fuzz and strings. I have never had this happen before. Needless to say, I read the refund policy and the item must be sent back unopened or unused......now I doubt that I can send it back because it has been opened. What a horrible policy! Who knew this would happen from just washing a cotton blanket! Save yourself a lot of work....don't buy it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color was good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. After first wash was shedding and strings were coming out of this blanket
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LINT LINT LINT LINT LINT LINT
 from Santa Barbara,  Jun 4, 2011

DO NOT BUY THIS! I washed this blanket as soon as it arrived as I do all my new bedding and when I took it out I noticed that the washer was full of lint! I put it in the dryer and checked the lint trap literally 3 minutes later and it was FULL! I checked it every 3 minutes and each time it was FULL of heavy lint. When it was finally dry it was covered with pilling and lint. WHAT A MESS!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
SOFT AND SNUGGLY!!!!
 from farm land, Ohio,  Jun 7, 2012

Don't pay attention to those who complain about lint in the dryer, that's what these blankets are SUPPOSED to do. They must be washed and dried for the loft to become LUSH. This is one of the best deals I've found. Alot of blankets are still wimpy after washing ....NOT THIS ONE!! I got the soft blue, the color holds and is very substancial. I plan to buy several more as gifts (if I can bear to give them away!) GO for it, you WON'T be sorry.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good basic blanket
 from St. Lous MO,  Dec 12, 2010

A nice blanket but a bit more loosely woven than I was expecting, so it snags relatively easily. Also the "Ivory" color that I ordered is more of a Camel color than I had in mind.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cotton Blanket
 from Lake View, NY,  Dec 4, 2011

I purchased this blanket with high expectations as I am going more organic with all my home goods especially bed clothes. When I received my blanket I opened it and washed it and was so looking forward to making up my bed. O MY GOODNESS!!!! When I went to the washer to get it out I couldn't believe my eyes! The washer was full of lint! Big chunks of lint!! I had to take the balnket outside to shake the remaining lint off the blanket before I put it into the dryer! This was a nightmare! Then I put it into the dryer and had to remove lint from the filter 5 times!! Do not purchase this blanket! I had no choice but to dry it and I did put it on my bed. It is warm, but I will be afraid to wash it again! I do not reccommend this item. I know I could have returned it but that is a hassle because it was packaged at the manufacturer and we all know how hard ir is to repackage. Buy at your own risk.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
High Quality Thick Warm Blanket
 from Cincinnati,  Nov 29, 2012

Wow I don't know what kind of crappy washers those othe complainers use, but I didn't have any issues washing my camel color blanket at all. This blanket is so much higher quality than other cotton weave blankets I own. I've used it constantly for years and still don't have snags. What exactly do you expect to be in the lint trap when you dry cotton ? I guess you all are used to the cheapo synthetic blankets. Duh

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Grand hotel cotton blanket
 from Chicago,IL,  Feb 3, 2013

I received this blanket as a gift. I washed and dried this king size blanket. When I put it on my bed it had shrunk to the size of a full size bed. I am very upset and disappointed . How do I explained this to my daughters who gave this to us. NO WHERE DOES IT SAY DO NOT WASH OR DRY.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cotton blanket
 from Napa, CA,  Jul 30, 2011

I have a queen size bed - because of the shrinkage of these cotton blankets I bought a king sized one. After washing & drying it fits the queen bed perfectly with plenty to tuck under.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Soft and Warm
 from MI,  Dec 17, 2010

I ordered one for our bed and loved it so much I bought another for the guest room. The blanket is a great weight, warm but not too heavy. It's soft as can be and has held up to washing beautifully. The price makes this a great buy also. One I bought is white, a true white, not dingy. The light blue is just as pictured, a pretty, light, clean blue.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice blanket but shrinks ALOT
 from CT,  Dec 14, 2012

I said "Yes" on recommending, but with a size qualification. I ordered two Twin size, and due to reviews about shrinkage, washed just one first to compare to the other. The blanket shrunk alot, more than I expected from a cotton blanket- 3" on each side and 3" on the length. Out of the package, the blanket is cut to what you would expect from a finished (and dried!) size for the bed- but I would have only expected about 1" in shrinkage everywhere. And yes it made alot of lint the first time in the dryer, but that is the norm for washing cotton blankets the first time. My blanket JUST fits the bed now, the sides are a bit short for normal Twin size, but since only one person will be sleeping under it, I think it will be fine. But I can understand the concerns about bigger sizes- I would order a Queen size for a Full, etc, since there is ALOT of shrinkage. I think ordering a Full for a Twin would likely be too long on the sides, even with the shrinkage. The quality itself is nice and I noticed no snags out of the package, so I do not think these are seconds as someone else mentioned as a worry.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Comfy Blanket
 from Tampa, FL,  Mar 24, 2011

We live in Florida, so I have been wanting a "summer blanket" as our comforter is too heavy for the warmer weather. This blanket has worked out perfectly- it is lightweight yet delivers enough warmth to keep us comfortable. I love that it is machine washable and to give it extra softness, I put it in the dryer on the fluff cycle a few times.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Watch out for Shrinkage!
 from Philadelphia,  Jun 30, 2013

The color was lovely (a soft blue), and the size I needed was a Double Bed. This summer weight blanket seemed perfect, except it was 90x90" (too large for a double bed). When I pre-shrunk the blanket before altering this size, I found it shrank by 17" in one direction, and only 2" in the other. Fortunately, the new size fit my double bed perfectly, but if you're expecting to use it for a queen size bed, beware -- it will be too small once it has shrunk.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Heavy-weight, generously-sized cotton blanket
 from Lincoln, MT,  Nov 28, 2012

I have been searching for a heavy-weight, good quality and attractive extra blanket for our bedrooms and was very pleased with the purchase of this blanket. I ordered both the full/queen and king-size blankets and was impressed with how substantial and high-quality they feel. They are sized very-generously to be able to tuck into the bottom and long-enough on the sides to cover up the mattress. I ordered the ivory and am very pleased with the dark-cream color. Highly recommend this product - especially for the price.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Light blanket, nice value
 from Pennsylvania,  Mar 21, 2014

I actually bought this blanket just about 3 years ago. My husband and I used it daily for all that time on our full-sized bed. I came back because we recently upgraded to a king-sized bed and I wanted to buy this blanket for our new bed. I saw some negative reviews for this, so I thought I'd weigh in. I'm reviewing the full-sized blanket I have used for three years. I admit that when I wash and dry this, I get a lot of lint in the lint trap. But this blanket has stood up through three years of washing and drying. It's a little thinner than when I first got it, but It's still a nice blanket. It hasn't fallen apart or shredded and there are no loose threads or anything like that. It's nice and light in the summer and adds extra warmth under our quilt in the winter. It's a great value.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Smaller than it says
 from Lexington, KY,  Jan 28, 2013

Not at all the quality I imagined, but that's what can happen when you order online. BUT the packaging indicates this product to be 90 inches by 90 inches. I measured it, and it is only 60 inches by 90 inches. Learn to count! I would not recommend this product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Soft as burlap!
 from southern California,  Dec 5, 2012

I read the different reviews about washing it and the lint etc. I purchased a sage green one and put it in the washer before using. One reviewer mentioned the more it is washed, the softer it gets, so I washed it a second time before putting it on my bed. Well, it didn't feel soft at all, really, was as harsh as burlap. I knew this blanket was never going to be soft and comfy. Thankfully overstock customer service helped me with the return.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
average
 from Adel, IA,  Nov 29, 2010

I purchased the cocoa colored king blanket. When it arrived it was beautiful but it sheds unbelievably! There are little brown pills everywhere. I've washed it twice now but the shed is still unacceptable! Each week when I wash the sheets, the lint basket is overflowing with brown lint and the sheet\s are still covered with brown fuzz.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Overall quite pleased!
 from NH,  Jun 25, 2014

I wanted a light cotton blanket to use during the summer months in New England and this is perfect. Its a nice light weight that provides just enough warmth when the room gets chilly in the mornings but it isn't too heavy to use when the temperature is high either. Great for summer; I would say definitely not warm enough for winters though, but that's not why I purchased it. I got the queen size in ivory and am pleased with both the size and color. I did give it 4 stars because, as some other reviewers noted, it is a lint factory when you first wash it and also got little pieces of lint stuck to the sheets. Not a big deal for me, but I can see that this might bother some people. Otherwise it held up great to washing.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great color- not the stated size
 from Miami, FL,  Jun 28, 2013

The light blue blanket I ordered was a lovely color, for sure. However- it was full of lint and had to be laundered before going on the bed. Then I found that it was really a queen size, not the king as stated. Perhaps that is why it was on overstock.com. I have not had this happen before and I have purchased a number of items including furniture.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 744 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 38 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Cotton Fresh Herringbone Blanket
Sale $26.99
Was $29.99
(10)
Nautica Cotton Blanket
Sale $25.19
Was $27.99
Compare $38.70
Save 35%
(68)
Back to top