Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 58 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Exactly What I wanted
 from Baltimore, MD,  May 2, 2013

There are enough positive reviews here that I might not have written this review but I felt I needed to counter a couple of negative reviews I read. When I fist got the pillow unboxed I placed it in my dryer for about 15 minutes on air dry just to tumble it. You should do this on a regular basis with any down/feather pillow,it completely re-fluffs it. This restored the pillow from its squished state due to shipping. It also got rid of any smell that might have existed. I actually didn't smell anything from the beginning. Also someone mentioned the "minimum 75%" down label on the pillow. I've had more expensive all down pillows from different manufacturers and this is what they all have on their labels. I believe that's a legal requirement, I don't think they can use 100% even though that's what they are. The pillows that are some combo of down and feathers must state that on the label, and in my experience they all do. As far as I can tell this pillow is 100% down. I use down pillows exclusively because I have several bad cervical disks in my neck and can wind up with severe pain and headaches if I sleep incorrectly. I am most comfortable with firm down pillows that don't allow my head to completely sink through the pillow. After much trial and error I've found that "firm" can be defined quite differently by various manufacturers. High quality down pillows use 600 and up premium down loft. You will see less expensive down items using 500 or even 550. However down loft - 600,700,800 etc., does not determine firmness. The number refers to the size of the down clusters that the pillow uses. An 800 pillow has larger clusters than a 600. Theoretically this means that an 800 pillow would rebound more quickly to its previous shape when a load ( your head ) is removed than a 600 pillow would. Also, theoretically, the down clusters would last longer giving the pillow a longer life. I've not tested that but feel that this pillow should have a long life and many people have used lesser pillows for many years. Plus if you re-fluff it in the dryer as I do you will be amazed at how this restores it. The firmness of the pillow is determined by the fill weight. The jumbo pillow I got has a fill weight of 28 ounces, many down pillows, even those called firm, will only have a fill weight if 18-21 ounces. Many manufacturers don't even disclose this number they just use the terms soft, firm, and extra firm. This makes it impossible to compare different pillows or even to have a good idea what you're getting leading to tedious product returns which is a problem with pillows. This pillow is an extra firm as I wanted. Comparable pillows from quality makers such as the Company Store, Down and Feather Company and others run about $200 for this level of down and fill weight. Of course some will be using a high quality and expensive thread count for the cover. That's very nice but I'm planning to sleep on mine not just look at its cover. I have pillow cases for that.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Goose Down Pillow
 from Illinois,  Oct 21, 2011

I am VERY particular about pillows. I have bought and returned several pillows over the past few years looking for the perfect firmness since I am both a side and back sleeper. I ordered two of these in the queen size and they are as near to perfect in firmness and loft that I believe I will ever get. They fluff extremely well with minimal shaking and are the firmest goose down pillows I've ever felt. They are still very soft and easy to melt into. Great buy for the price considering the amount of down in each pillow. Department stores usually charge 2 or 3 times as much for duck down pillows. In writing this, I'm actually thinking I should purchase a couple more to put away for later use.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good but not the best
 from Colorado,  Feb 1, 2013

I bought three well reviewed firm down pillows from the site with the idea that I would buy more of whichever one was our favorite, the rest will go on the guest bed. This one took second place. The quality is very good and the pillow is medium firm, not extra firm. The best and firmest of the bunch was the Tommy Bahama 600 fill French down. This is a good pillow if you don't truly need extra firm.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality Pillow
 from Wisconsin,  Apr 8, 2012

Pillow choice is very personal decision, and because I had not found anything at a local retailer that satisfied me, I starting shopping online. I was very hesitant at first, because I felt I needed to touch a pillow before buying it. In fact, my very first test is to hold a pillow in the center with both hands. If I can squeeze the down and feel my palms touch, I know it isn't the right pillow. For this pillow, I was apprehensive because 600 fill power is the minimal fill power I would consider (previously I sought out 800 and 900 fill power), and the description does not indicate how many ounces of down are actually sewn into the pillow. Obviously, the higher the ounces, the firmer the pillow. When I received the pillow, the box revealed that it was a brand name, from a premium manufacturer of down products in the U.S. I did my palm test, and I was pleased with the firmness of the pillow - calling it 'Extra Firm' is accurate. The only thing that worried me, was the smell. Other specialty pillows that I've purchased online were not made until after they were ordered, so the amount of time that they spend in plastic is minimal. I am speculating that these pillows are made in advance, then stocked/stored until sold. The result is a faint plastic/confined odor. The packing list will advise you of this and suggest you let it air out a few days before use. It took four or five days for the odor to dissipate, but all is good now. Just don't expect to receive the product and use it the same night. I have already ordered and received another one, and the quality is consistent. I won't hesitate to get more.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Look no further
 from Texas,  Dec 31, 2011

I have purchased several down pillows from o.co this year and haven't been totally pleased with any of them until now. If you're looking for a firm goose down pillow, this is the one. Excellent quality.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hand down the best down pillow!
 from Kansas City, MO,  Dec 21, 2011

I bought one, and was very skeptical because I have purchased more expensive down pillows and was unsatisfied. This pillow blew me away with how firm it was for being down. In fact, the maker of this pillow is the same as one I ordered from a very exclusive site that sells only high-quality items. I had ordered both around the same time, and promptly returned the non-Overstock item and then ordered three more! Love these pillows!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not as described
 from Arkansas,  Apr 3, 2012

These were described as perfect for a person who sleeps on their side. They gave me a neck pain because they are too high and hard. Noy the down pillow I have from other vendors.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Hard as a rock. No sensation of sinking down into a lovely goose down pillow. Husband liked they are as hard as a rock. Pillows also had a mild odor, and not a good one. Hubby and guests can use them.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mislabeled - these are NOT 100% down
 from Virginia,  Jan 10, 2013

Online description was 100% down, even the Q&A customer service stated 100% down. Unfortunately they are NOT 100% down, but 75% down and 25% feathers. Returned immediately, no problem whatsoever, Overstock customer service was great!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not So Good
 from St Cloud MN,  May 13, 2012

These pillows were not what I expected. Felt more like a rock rather than a down pillow. Sent it back.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Extra-firm Cambric 600 Fill Goose/Down Pillow
 from DENVER, CO,  Oct 10, 2014

So plush and comfortable, with the firmness I wanted. I will buy again from Overstock. Thank you for a quality product.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Nice
 from West Viegibia,  Feb 7, 2014

Very Firm, all-down Pillows are hard to find, and when you do find one, the prices are very high. This was reasonable, exactly what I expected. Thanks

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great pillow
 from Texas,  Dec 23, 2013

This pillow is a great! I was surprised that it was so light but that has not been an issue. It's firm but not stiff. I put it in the dryer on the wrinkle release cycle before using just to fluff it up. Some reviews stated a slight odor however I didn't have that experience. I will buy more when I need them.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Support was not great
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Oct 19, 2013

I ordered this pillow as well one that was about a third of the price for comparison. The less expensive down pillow was actually much better and I ended up returning the Extra-firm Cambric Cotton Pillow. It was not "Extra-firm" as described. I was actually quite disappointed at how it flattened out and didn't offer much support.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Superior Quality
 from Colorado Springs, CO,  Oct 6, 2013

This pillow has amazing support and high quality. I ended up buying several more and in other densities so I could have the best of all worlds in pillows. Great brand - thank you Overstock.com!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A very comfortable down filled pillow
 from Baltimore, MD,  Sep 27, 2013

I bought a down-filled pillow that was too soft and this one was soft but also had some firmness.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
No more sore neck
 from Minnesota,  Jul 31, 2013

Pillow is a little thicker than I expected, but it will probably compress a little, over time. I do not have a sore neck when I wake up, and that was my goal. I tried an expensive memory foam pillow that made my neck worse, so I'm very pleased that I got my money's worth this time. FYI - I am a side and back sleeper.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it!
 from Indiana,  May 15, 2013

this pillow is soft, firm and holds it shape. nothing is leaking out and I have had it over a month. I would definately buy more.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
awesome
 from GA,  Mar 30, 2013

Best night's rest I've had in a long time. Soft but firm, filled with REAL down. Makes it hard to get out of bed!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
extra firm 600 fill power white goose down pillow
 from duxbury, ma.,  Jan 31, 2013

Recently purchased down pillow and am very happy with my purchase, very comfortable and not too soft

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 58 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top